We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Foye Old Exchange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foye Old Exchange
Ranked #2 of 27 Fowey B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Kind, helpful, enthusiastic and informative hosts. The breakfast is fried 'English' and was generous, calorific and rather oily - too much for us; the alternatives are a bit limited.
Very homely in style & decor and packed with memorabilia. The four-poster room is distinctly nicer than the other two bedrooms - well worth the extra.
We slept well (in the 'green' room) but light sleepers might need to be aware of church bells through the night at 15-minute intervals; seagull noise was a bit of an issue for our companions in the four poster room (who slept with the window open) - but then this is fishing town!.
Although a few minutes' walk from the free car park, the Exchange is right in the centre of Fowey amid shops, restaurants and close to the water.

Room Tip: Go for the four-poster room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    14
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
79
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I was very much looking forward to staying in this well reviewed B&B while staying with family in Cornwall. Due to a change in arrangements we had to take our one year old son with us. Having stayed in many hotels/B&B's since he was born, and having our own travel cot, we assumed it would be fine for him to stay with us in our room. I was shocked to find that this is not the case.
We lost our deposit and had to fine somewhere else to stay. I obviously will not be returning.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Miriam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetis Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

An intriguing building with lots of historical memorabilia related to its previous incarnation as the telephone exchange. Michael and Celia were very friendly and helpful hosts - Michael is certainly the one to go to for information, local lore and fascinating tidbits about the area. The breakfasts are huge but delicious, and you can always ask for less... if you find you want to. We enjoyed our stay very much indeed and would happily come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaShelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I'd thoroughly recommend this place for location (in the heart of town) and the lovely friendly hosts. Huge hearty breakfast was most welcome and set us up for the rest of the day. Only 3 rooms but didn't feel claustrophobic, just homely. Thank you, we'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I have just returned from a long weekend at the Old Exchange and wanted to say a big thank you to Michael and Celia, your B&B is a delight!

I went with friends who occupied the remaining two rooms and we all came away saying that this would be our first choice for our next visit to Fowey.

It is very clean, centrally located and well appointed. I had the best of the three rooms; the four poster, which was worth the additional cost.

The breakfast was possibly a little too generous - but I ate most of it!

Best regards, Mark & Jacky

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

A one off experience not be missed!

Very very friendly hosts - Both Michael and Celia were most welcoming - Michael is a one man Town-tour guide, and will furnish you with huge anounts of information about Fowey and its history - all very fascinating..... If you want to know anything about Fowey or the area, then just ask...!

We stayed in the Green room, which was more than adequate and had everything that we needed!

...and then there was breakfast....its a big breakfast.....if you are a light eater, then be prepared...and if you are a vegetarian, make sure you let Michael know beforehand

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBTJOHNNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We have just returned from a lovely trip to Fowey and stayed at the Old Exchange with Michael and Celia. Their hospitality was fabulous and Michael cooks an amazing Cornish breakfast. It is described as large and he isn't kidding...it kept us going all day. He is an amazing character with plenty of local information and stories to tell... as he is the Fowey town crier.
We stayed in the Blue room which is a lovely room and which has everything you need for a comfortable stay. It is however very close to the church and the bells do ring every 15 minutes day and night, so this room is not for light sleepers.... However if you can sleep through the church bells you would be hard pressed to find nicer people, nicer accommodation and a bigger welcome... or breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fowey hotels
0.2 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,289 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Old Ferry Inn
The Old Ferry Inn
#3 of 27 in Fowey
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Well House
The Well House
#1 of 27 in Fowey
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
The King of Prussia
The King of Prussia
#4 of 27 in Fowey
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foye Old Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foye Old Exchange

Property: Foye Old Exchange
Address: 12 Lostwithiel Street, Fowey PL23 1BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional B&B in the centre of picturesque Fowey. Our house is over 400 years old and was the telephone exchange for 40 years.Hence the numerous telephone memorabilia.All rooms en-suite; largest has four-poster bed. Famous for our breakfast, minutes from harbour river trips, beaches, castle. Nearby Eden Project, Lost Gardens Heligan, Charlestown, Lanhydrock only twenty minutes away, delightful walks or we are also on the Saints Way & South West Coast path. A warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Foye Old Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foye Old Exchange Fowey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing