We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and unique”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fowey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hidden Valley Gardens
Ranked #15 of 25 Fowey B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful and unique”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed in the studio flat at the end of May and were enchanted by the peace and quiet and privacy, even though the gardens are open to the public. We liked strolling around the garden after being out all day and it was lovely to hear (and see, fleetingly) owls. It is an impressive project and the result of much hard work. We enjoyed choosing plants from the nursery, all competitively priced, for our own urban plot. The studio is undoubtedly compact but has everything needed for a relaxing stay, the bed being particularly roomy and comfortable. It was good to have a spacious bathroom too and the kitchen, although a narrow galley style, was manageable. There is a table and chairs outside on the decking and several seats around the garden. Peter and Tricia are friendly and helpful hosts.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sueworkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 1 week. The cottage (west wing) is lovely, very well equipped with quality items, comfortable bed, lots of hot water and no problems with the wi fi signal at all. We thought the bird feeder just outside our cottage was amazing. We saw a variety of birds feeding but the Jays and Woodpeckers were a delight to see.
The gardens are truly fantastic, lovely to walk around and an amazing variety of plants to wonder at.
Being able to pick some produce is a generous idea, for us this was rhubarb, blackcurrants, broad beans and gooseberries.They tasted wonderful.
We have stayed in many self catering cottages over the years but this will certainly take some beating. It was a long trip down ( we live in South Yorkshire) but we will be recommending this peaceful place to our friends and relatives.

many thanks to Peter and Tricia

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bscruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I must start by saying I haven't - as yet - stayed in the accommodation so my review is based purely on a visit to the gardens. I am a regular visitor to Cornwall, and always stay around Fowey/Lostwithiel but had never visited the gardens before - I didn't even know they were there!

I am so glad I discovered this perfect hidden gem on my latest visit! What a glorious, peaceful place. Yes, the lanes are a little narrow but nothing a careful driver can't easily navigate and the gardens are so well worth making the effort for. I had a very warm welcome on arrival and a wonderful couple of hours just strolling around the gardens - they really are a must. I loved there were benches dotted about in just the right spots to enjoy the beautiful views, so well thought out.

I'd be more than happy to stay in the accommodation on location alone - and I no doubt will do, at some point.

Please go - I simply cannot recommend it highly enough. And I think it's impossible to come away without having bought at least one plant (very reasonably priced too)!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiddenvalleygardens, Owner at Hidden Valley Gardens, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you Julie for your wonderful words about the Garden. Yes, come a stay in the garden soon. The latest news is we have been shortlisted (one of only four gardens) for 2014 "Best Garden" in Cornwall Award by 'Cornwall Today'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I spent a very enjoyable 2 weeks here - moving out of the studio for a few nights to the suite in the house (no cooking facilities) because the studio had been previously booked for a few days Peter and Trishia, with help from Caroline, do an amazing job with their 3 1/2 acre garden - it is beautiful. There are so many plants and wild birds - it's lovely to lie in bed and hear the owls hooting. The bed in the studio is so comfortable. There is a sofa and sitting area and a state of the ark (!) TV. Please upgrade it to a wide screen T V Peter - they are only £150 for a 32 inch in Tesco! Peter and Trishia are very helpful so if you want anything (like shampoo) just ask. There are good clothes washing facilities too. The wi fi signal is intermittent and a wi fi enhancer plug would I'm sure solve the problem - so poor wi fi signal and antiquated TV only gets a very good from me instead of excellent. The railway main line runs at the back of the garden but there is only a 20 second whoosh every now and again - no trains through the night.

Room Tip: Sit on the bed at the nearest corner to the house to get a wi fi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our week in Cornwall convinced me that any driver of the byways would give his eye teeth for a tank! No more backing up or qualms about rounding a bend. Our trip to Hidden Valley Gardens was on such byways. Down and down we went and then turning in at the entrance was like getting through the mountains to the hidden paradise of Shangri La. We were met by Tricia who welcomed us warmly and showed us round the West Wing accommodation which was ideal for our 7 day stay. Comfortable and well equipped in every way and as for the garden......
This is fabulous and worth well worth even a day visit as there is so much to see for anyone with any interest in gardens whatsoever. It is divided into many different areas eg hot border, Japanese area, early spring primrose garden, iris garden, to name but a few. I walked round it (or parts of it) several times and always found something new to see. There is also a very enticing sales area so that you can bring home some of the plants which have inspired you in the garden. The garden itself is full of birds, bees and butterflies. I would describe it as mainly "cottage garden" style with plants at various stages of their life cycle so not so manicured as to be intimidating and therefore inspiring for those of us less expert gardeners to emulate at home.
Tricia and her husband Peter created this wonderful garden from a wilderness over the last twenty years and I must applaud all their hard work and vision. They deserve a medal!
I think you could say we loved it and were only joking about needing a tank!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Small, well-tended gardens surround the apartment here. They look and smell wonderful; you go to sleep at night looking out across the flowers. In the moonlight, there's magic in the air.

Train tracks just behind the apartment are no problem. You hardly hear them and, in the immortal words of Guy Clark, they don't make no smoke.

Kitchen is a little small and rundown-looking, especially the floor covering. But it's serviceable, as are the bath and sleeping area. The whole arrangement is quite roomy, and Peter and Trisha let you use the washer and dryer downstairs, which is convenient for a stay of a week.

Location is excellent for both coasts and the interior of Cornwall. You're no more than a couple of hours from anything.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shetlandskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiddenvalleygardens, Owner at Hidden Valley Gardens, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
It was good to receive a message from our American guests that they "were very pleased with your accommodation" adding that "they have stayed many places in the UK over the last 15 years, and Hidden Valley Gardens is one of our good memories." Their review mentions the marks on the kitchen carpet which was caused by a cooking accident by a previous guest. The marks were mostly removed but this carpet is being replaced by quarry tiles to avoid any re-occurrence of this potential issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed at the Hidden Valley Gardens after staying in the middle of the liveliness of Rye for a week. What a contrast! Although we enjoyed the stay in town it was extremely soothening to stay in these peaceful gardens for another week. Location is great as, with almost all of Cornwall within an hour or less driving. We had some beautiful walks in Fowey and Polperro.
If you like to stay in spatious apartment the Garden Studio might be a bit small but to my opinion it was pleasantly cosy. Peter and Patricia made us feel very welcome and were eager to share travel trips without being pushy in any way. We had a great stay, might do it again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tamarah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fowey hotels
3.8 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,363 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Well House
The Well House
#1 of 25 in Fowey
173 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Safe Harbour Hotel
Safe Harbour Hotel
#8 of 25 in Fowey
107 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Old Ferry Inn
The Old Ferry Inn
#4 of 25 in Fowey
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Gardens

Property: Hidden Valley Gardens
Address: Hidden Valley Gardens Treesmill, Fowey PL24 2TU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have two separate "4 Star" rated self-catering accommodation are available within the 4 acre garden known as "Hidden Valley Gardens." Both are ideal for a couple, particularly garden lovers, seeking a cosy/romantic getaway holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Gardens Fowey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing