We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couldn't had wished for more...”
other travellers have booked this property
Sumptuous goose down duvets and pure linen, antiques mixed with contemporary luxury.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sumptuous goose down duvets and pure linen, antiques mixed with contemporary luxury.
Gorgeous window seat to while away the afternoon or count the stars at night.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Sumptuous goose down duvets and pure linen, antiques mixed with contemporary luxury.
Gorgeous window seat to while away the afternoon or count the stars at night.
Antiques and beautiful furnishings in the second bedroom.
Extra deep tub to soak away your cares by candlelight.
Luxurious bathroom with high quality fittings, wetroom rainshower, marble tiled floor.
Pretty, small courtyard garden with seating and tables to enjoy a long, slow breakfast.
Whitehouse Beach, 200m away.
Beautiful and sheltered, Readymoney Cove is a short stroll away.
Nearby Polkerris beach. Café, pub, rockpools, messing about on the water...
Yum, Quay Bakery, a great place for croissants too!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fowey, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brightonb...
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Couldn't had wished for more...”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

As the name says, the Sea Swallow really is a beautiful cottage by the sea.
The cottage is beautifully decorated, stylish and very relaxing. It is very well equipped and I couldn't think of anything else I could need.
It is very central and within easy reach of Fowey's many Restaurants, Cafes, Pubs..etc All the essential shops are just a few yards away. After saying that it is very quiet, tucked away behind the church. Fowey is a beautiful village and is on a beautiful bit of the Cornish coast. There are plenty of easy(ish) walks around and of course the South West Coast Path for anyone who wants to venture further away. I would recommend Hall Walk, it gives you great views of the river. You can hire a boat or Kayak and take boat trips form the Harbour to other costal villages. Inland you aren't far from the Eden Project, The Lost Gardens of Heligan and Landhyrock.
All in all a really lovely cottage, great location and lots to do for all ages.
We travelled with our son and his girlfriend, (both in their mid twenties) and they loved it as much as we did.
Recommend wholeheartedly.
Be aware that car parking is very restricted in the village. This didn't cause us a problem , but the walk to the car park is steep and my be hard for someone with mobility problems.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A great place to chill and unwind
Liked least: Everything was great
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we're delighted to know you enjoyed your stay in The Sea Swallow.

There are indeed very few properties with allocated parking in the centre of ancient Fowey, however there is space by the front door where you can park to unload and wait for a short while.

I always send a map to guests showing handy free parking in nearby streets. The nearest paid-for car park is by the quay, less than a minute's walk away and although on a hill this is only a gentle slope.

Fowey's main car park is, as you say, a short walk up a steeper hill though it's rarely necessary to use this as there are almost always closer options.

Thank you very much again for choosing The Sea Swallow!

With warm regards,

Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful short break at a gorgeous property in a great location.”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful three day break with our daughters aged 18 and 23. The cottage was nestled in the heart of Fowey with a pub selling gorgeous cornish cider at both the top and bottom of the hill, a wonderful cafe,deli and cashpoint very close by. Plenty of places to visit nearby and dog beaches to discover. All the shops and pubs seemed to welcome dogs and we joined in the local quiz on the Tuesday night. Very friendly local people. Lovely interesting shops to wander around on the first day before check in,and the internet TV meant that we could find things to watch at the end of a busy day. Everything you would need for eating in too. The beds were particularly comfortable and one of my daughters relished the reading window seat with its romantic drape!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stylish interior and comfort
Liked least: no complaints
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantasic weekend away!”
Reviewed 15 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
4
people found this review helpful

My wife and I plus our son and our golden retriever stayed at the Sea Swallow for a long weekend. The house was so beautiful, and made us feel very warm and cosy. The property is finished to a very high standard, and it is clear there has been a significant investment by the owner to make this property stand out with touches such as a roll top bath and posh coffee machine. Fowey itself is a lovely little coastal town. The Fowey Christmas market was on over the weekend we stayed. The town was very festive and the lights were fantastic, it is definitely a time of year I would suggest staying. This was our second trip to Fowey, and we will be back again in the future no doubt!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a long weekend at this wonderful cottage and it more than lived up to all of our expectations, perfect for a relaxing getaway.

We found the cottage to be beautifully presented. The decor and attention to detail was exceptional.

The location of the cottage was also ideal. Whilst tucked away on a peaceful side street, it was little more than a minute's walk to Fowey's shops, restaurants and seafront.

We are certainly intending to visit again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benYorksh...
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in Fowey”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a lovely weeks stay at the 'Sea Swallow'.
The cottage is beautiful and very cosy, equipped with everything you can think of and all of a very high quality. Loved the master bedroom with the window seat and the luxurious bedding. Tracey was really helpful and gave us lots of information about Fowey and the surrounding area. The location if perfect just a short stroll down to the harbour and shops. We had a lovely week and the weather was kind to us. Lots of good restaurants and pubs. Luckily it was warm enought to sit outside as some of the restaurants do not allow dogs inside. The cottage is very cosy with a beautifully equipped kitchen if you want to eat in. We spent quite a lot of time with our dog on Par sands beach which is wonderful for dogs. We hope to visit Fowey again and will certainly stay at 'Sea Swallow' and would definately recommend it to others

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and its location
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing