We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ferrymans cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ferrymans Cottage

Ferrymans,tranquil morning
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ferrymans,tranquil morning
Old slipway, crabbing and fishing activities Trawler beneath Ferrymans Decks unloading
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Ferrymans,tranquil morning
Old slipway, crabbing and fishing activities
Trawler beneath Ferrymans Decks unloading
Upper deck, view upriver towards Golant
Unwelcome visitor for Sherry
Lower deck, looking across river towards Boddinick and Du Maurier's Ferryside
Lounge, leading onto upper deck
Top bedroom, view over river
Lobster boat beneath decks
Kitchen viewed from dining room
Dining room panorama
Cornish charm in the dining room,  'querky'!
Ferrymans, waterside complex
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Fowey, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mike0802
1 review
“Ferrymans cottage”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We arrived to warm clean house superbly equipped and stocked with all you need. The children ran upstairs in and out of bedrooms and squealed with delight once they saw all the outside decking areas. The views left us speechless. We took a walk in to town with a age range of 7 to 90 years old. It was a 10 minute walk to the shops but so much to see on the way. Plenty of restaurants bakery's shops and more! We explored the area but really you can spend the whole time in Fowey. Thanks for the home we will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel S
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely New Year break”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Ferrymans Cottage is lovely, charming, quirky, cosy and very well equipped. We wanted a peaceful retreat that was within walking distance to local amenities in Fowey and it did not disappoint. We stayed just after Christmas until the New Year. The views from balconies and main bedroom are superb. We stayed in and cooked meals on several nights having purchased produce locally. Only criticism is that some of the furniture is very worn and dated, decor could do with a freshen up to brighten the place up a bit. Overall, a great place to stay, the owners were great, communications brilliant whilst booking, provided answers to questions and very helpful information within the cottage too. We would recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig W
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family accommodation, fantastic location”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Having holidayed at Ferrymans every year since 2003 we have never been disappointed. The accommodation is comfortable, homely, clean and spacious. The kitchen on the lower level is great for entertaining and being the being basis of the original pub, you can sense the history.
The deck onto the estuary has given many hours of pleasure both to my children (crabbing) and my father in law (fishing). The latter not always successfully !
The views over the estuary are stunning, the early morning sun shining on the deck being a particular favourite.
The centre of Fowey is a short walk, with it's many restaurants and good selection of pubs.
The housekeeper Victoria, when called on has been excellent (even posting my sons' mobile which he left, so promptly it almost got home before we did)
Overall a great place to stay and we hope to return for many years to come

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dairymilk...
Chipping Norton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great seaside family house”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Ferrymans is a great house to stay in.
We go every year with family, husband two sons aged 3 and 6 and my parents in laws, who have been going to Fowey for years, and have friends who live there.
This is now the only place we and them stay
Is position is excellent, right on the estuary so you can watch everything coming and going from the balcony, or in our case spend time crabbing, while daddy a grumpy fish from the jetty alongside!
House is over 4 floors so you need to be fairly fit and agile as the kitchen is right down at the bottom and the sitting room on ground level.
Tony is great and allows us to bring our well trained Irish terrier, which is a huge plus point as so often seaside houses and dogs are a no go!
Ferrymans decor and design isn't flash or overly flash, which we like you can truly relax without worrying about silly cream sofas!!
My only criticism is that I find the beds very hot to sleep in which I'm guessing is the memory foam mattresses???
But that doesn't put us off returning each year.... Far from it!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Situation
Liked least: Beds and mattresses
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane D
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage with amazing river views”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is a little (or not so little) gem in Fowey, situated by the river. Has all the amenities that you would expect for a very comfortable stay. The main bedroom, lounge and dining room are a delight with stunning views overlooking the river. Full of character and a short walk from great restaurants, shops and pubs. We will be back time and time again....

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing