We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“locked out also !”
Review of Westville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westville Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
derry Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“locked out also !”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

we stayed over night ,attending a wedding in nearby hotel.As most of the reviews already state This is an excellent hotel ,but we also encountered the same problem as DOnlucifer when we returned to the hotel around 4 o clock we could not get in to the hotel and after 15 minutes i found an emergency door open around the back of the hotel which took me up a flight of stairs to the 2 floor i then made my way down to reception and let my wife in the front door which opened with the door sensor .We then made our way to our room(still no sign of night porter) and had a good laugh at in all of years of travelling this was the first time we had to as a figure of speech break in to the hotel. I also had a joke about it with the waitress and receptionist the following morning.As i have already stated at the start of this review this still an excellant hotel and i have no hessitation going back again.(stayed june 2013)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark2001derryIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise D, Manager at Westville Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write your review and for rating us as an excellent hotel.
We have put measures in place to ensure your review title does not happen again. Im glad you and your wife made light of the situation and were able to have a laugh about it. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    168
    38
    18
    11
See reviews for
126
408
25
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed overnight for a wedding in nearby Liniskea. The rooms were lovely and spacious. The staff in the WV Bar were excellent and fetched us restaurant menus for choice of whether to eat there or in the bar. We went to the restaurant and the food was delicious and our waitress really welcoming. Breakfast was good too. Reception were most helpful when it came to a last minute dash on Saturday morning to find candlesticks in the shopping centre!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Manager at Westville Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel, food and service. We were only too glad to assist you with your last minute shopping and hope you had a very enjoyable time at the Wedding. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My partner booked a last minute break for us and again chose the Westville hotel. We have stayed here a few times now and I can't think of anywhere else we'd rather stay. Last time we stayed it was packed with a wedding party there - this time there was no wedding but there was still a great buzz about the bar with all tables full. We had to wait for a table but didn't mind as we hadn't booked (obviously a lot of people enjoy the food here). When we got a table the food was excellent and the service was even better. We can't remember the managers name (sorry) but she ensured we were well looked after. See you again soon Westville we'll definitely be back before xmas.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Manager at Westville Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and your loyalty in choosing to stay with us again. We are delighted that once again you had an enjoyable stay with us. We will pass on your complements to Denise the Duty Manager for looking after you well and the rest of the staff who ensure that our guests receive excellent customer service and care. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, N.Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Although the hotel is quite nice, there are serious staffing issues here. On return to the hotel after an evening out around 1/1.30am we arrived back to the hotel to find the doors locked and reception abandoned. After ringing the door bell for around 10 minutes and nobody answering we started phoning the hotel but again with no answer. We started to walk around the hotel to see if there was another entrance which there was not. We waited for another 10 minutes or so to see if anyone would appear but they didn't. After a 30 minute wait in the cold, dark and rain we spotted a window open. This was our only way to get in so we had to climb through it and them open the door to let the others in. Once into the hotel, we checked around the hotel ground floor to see if anyone was around but there was nobody. We were absolutely disgusted and outraged by this. Even from a security point of view, anyone could get in through the window and do anything they wanted in the hotel and hence putting the safety of the other guests at risk. We waited for another 10 minutes or so and eventually a porter appeared from the top floor with his ear phones in and a Hoover in hand. Is it any wonder that he didn't hear us. How is he going to respond to any emergency, guest phone call etc with ear phones in and away from the reception desk for at least 45 minutes to an hour. This is an absolute joke.
Again although the food was quite nice, in our deal with the hotel we had a 3 course meal. We had this on the Monday night and and the started and main arrived fine. You could then see the slowdown in service. We waited for around 30 minutes for someone to clear our main dishes away and then had to wait for the dessert menu. The only staff member that seemed to be working then disappeared and after waiting another 15 minutes nobody came to take our order. We then had to leave as we had to be somewhere so missed out on our dessert. When I went to pay the bill it seems that this waiter had been gone for some time. Another guest had been waiting at the bar for ages and even commented that he wouldn't need to be thirsty! It took so long for someone to come back to the bar that we were going to leave a note as we had to be somewhere.
When we left the hotel and went out, we were actually so concerned about being locked out again that we came back early around 12.15am. The doors were open this time but the reception area was abandoned. We wanted to get a wake up call so waited for around 10 minutes and again nobody appeared.
We all spent around £600 on hotel, food and drink during the 2 night stay but I will never be back again. I travel extensively on business and stay in hotels around 12 nights per month all around the world and I have never experienced anything as bad as this. There are serious service and staffing issues In this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
12 Thank D0nLucifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Westville Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear D0n Lucifer,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Trip Advisor.
I’m very sorry that your experience at the Westville Hotel wasn’t up to our usual high standards & we take on board the comments you have made.
In regards to being ‘locked out’, obviously our night porter on duty was at fault here & he has been disciplined for his actions. We have a wireless flashing doorbell that is supposed to be carried on their person at all times. On this occasion the porter cleaned the bar area & opened the windows to let in some fresh air & dry the floors etc. May I point out that these have high openings & are always closed again after cleaning.
He then moved into the restaurant to clean it, with doorbell in hand. After that he moved upstairs to the function room for cleaning but left the doorbell in restaurant. It was at this very moment that you & your party arrived back at the hotel, as we could see from our cctv footage. Obviously he did not hear the doorbell or calls, but should have made random checks to see if anyone was around. He did although assure me that it wasn’t as much as 45mins-1hour & we verified this by checking the cctv footage, but of course it was still too long whilst waiting outside the hotel.
The porter also pointed out that after a very strong worded telling off he apologised unreservedly & was extremely sorry for the error, he also took the liberty of giving you & your party a complimentary drink from the bar.
The next morning the manager on duty rang your rooms to offer a late complimentary room service breakfast to which one accepted but the other was abruptly refused & the telephone slammed down.
Your meal experience on the Monday evening was also not to your satisfaction. We had a large party of Belgian guests who checked in on Monday evening whose dinner plans changed last minute & they decided to eat in house. At this point it was too short notice to get extra staff members in to work & with it already being very busy, it left us stretched in both kitchen & on the floor. This all consequently slowed down the service & I would like to apologise for this.
Had you aired your grievances on the morning of check out I’m sure we could have resolved some of the issues and or compensated you appropriately, I myself have since tried calling you on several occasions & left messages but obviously you do not want to hear from us.
Again I’m very that you & your friends did not enjoy your experience at the Westville & we would have had liked the opportunity to bring you back to the hotel again so you could judge us on that experience.
All the very best
Regards
Ryan Maguire (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had an overnight stay at the Westville for a family wedding party. The reception staff were professional, friendly and very welcoming. Our room was very spacious, clean and tastefully decorated, with an extremely comfortable bed. Everyone attending the party had been allocated rooms near to the function room, so the other guests would be less likely to be disturbed by noise from the party. We had a wonderful and very memorable evening and a good night's sleep, followed by a good breakfast. The staff were very attentive and everyone had a great time. Very impressed! Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view. Rooms at the front and on higher floors are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Manager at Westville Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review of our hotel. We are delighted that you had a wonderful and very memorable evening at the Wedding Party, topped off with a good night's sleep. We hope you choose to visit Fermanagh soon and look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed for just one night for a wee break and I couldn't have picked a better place..beautiful hotel throughout, very clean and decent size cups in bedroom for coffee which was great..the staff so friendly, receptionist Zoe was very helpful,bar staff excellent and could craic from them..I have stayed all over Fermanagh and this is certainly the best by far...Will be def returning very soon..Thank u all for making my stay so pleasant ..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Manager at Westville Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent short break with us. It uplifting to see your glowing review of our staff, service and facilities. We are very glad to have contributed to you having a lovely short break in Fermanagh and are delighted to see that you are planning to come back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

First time to eat in restaurant, usually eat in the bar. Food was always great. Our grandsons christening dinner was held there. I had Chicken Cesar salad starter and ham and turkey dinner , it was perfect. They reserved our tables. And the staff were very helpful and friendly. Fabulous day.

Room Tip: I didn't stay at the hotel, but friends and family did. They were all very happy with the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piper77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Manager at Westville Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your great review of your first experience in dining in the Terrace Restaurant. We are delighted that you have lovely meal and enjoyed the day at your grandsons christening and look forward to seeing you in the Terrace Restaurant soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
4.7 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,475 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
560 reviews
0.9 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Mahon's Hotel
Mahon's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Irvinestown
320 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Valley Hotel
The Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fivemiletown
476 reviews
17.2 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westville Hotel

Property: Westville Hotel
Address: 14-20 Tempo Road, Enniskillen BT74 6HR, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
#2 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
#4 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern, contemporary, boutique style hotel is ideally situated in the centre of Enniskillen in County Fermanagh. With 28 beautifully designed bedrooms, including 4 Executive Rooms and 2 Luxury Suites, all with en-suite facilities, providing a touch of extravagance for each guest. The Terrace Restaurant offers the best of modern, contemporary cuisine in chic surroundings and features an open plan kitchen, which complements the stylish ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Westville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westville Hotel Enniskillen, County Fermanagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing