We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Bash”
Review of Cafe Merlot

Cafe Merlot
Ranked #3 of 85 Restaurants in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Birthday Bash”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

What a superb restaurant. Johnny and his team are up there with the best.
Check out Johnny's 'unofficial' wine list
The quality of the food prepared by Chef Gerry is superb and full of flavour
Great night. Will be back

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BallyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    125
    45
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I am on vacation. Found this by accident. Best combination food and wine in Ireland. Maybe, best take on surf and turf I have ever had. Normally, my trips are to Belfast. Now I will come here at least once every trip. Kudos to John and Gerry. What a team. Only regret is that I can't be here tomorrow night for the short rib.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TommieGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best restaurant we've visited in Enniskillen”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stumbled upon this wonderful restaurant in Enniskillen, and I'm glad we did! The food was fantastic, only equaled by the wonderful staff. We're on vacation in Ireland, and we wanted to bring dinner to our son, who stayed at the hotel for the evening. When we asked for a "to go" meal, our waiter at first said they couldn't help us because the restaurant didn't have any disposable containers. (Actually, first he said we could take the plates and return them!) Next thing we knew, he had gone across the street to get disposable containers so we could take a meal with us.

We had the garlic toasts with dips, roasted hake, and chicken dishes, and they were all amazing. For dessert we shared a chocolate hazelnut torte, not something I'd usually like, but it was perfect. If you're ever in Enniskillen, be sure to eat at Café Merlot!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lilybramble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enniskillen's Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

What a fabulous meal. Food was perfect, lovely fresh lemon sole and a truly flavoursome steak. Johnny, the owner, was so attentive and wowed with his extensive knowledge of fine wines. We sampled two very pleasing drinks with our cheese board, one a delicious port, compliments of the owner. I can't remember when I enjoyed a meal as much. This little restaurant is hidden beneath 'Blake's of the Hollow' on the Main Street in Enniskillen. The ambience is buzzing and yet amazingly relaxing.... Give it a go, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenReviewsNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“FABULOUS”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Found this place through a friend going for a pint. It is fantastic. I had Hake with Beef Bourgogne it was delicious. The place is very clean and well laid out. The staff are fantastic. thank you John for your individual attention. Good selection of food and they have an early bird menu up to 7

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Merlot also viewed

Enniskillen, County Fermanagh
Enniskillen, County Fermanagh
 
Enniskillen, County Fermanagh
Enniskillen, County Fermanagh
 
Florencecourt, Enniskillen
Enniskillen, County Fermanagh
 

Been to Cafe Merlot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing