We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular view, excellent suite, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2009

I recently spent a night in the Beckett Suite with my wife. We have stayed in top hotels all over the world and the Beckett Suite compares very well. The room is fitted out to an excellent standard and makes full use of the spectacular view down the lake.

The lounge area also makes full use of the view and was the perfect spot for a relaxing and enjoyable lunch.

We were very impressed with the staff as they couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Our stay was brief so we didn't make use of the leisure facilities, but they appeared to be extensive.

The location and views in general really set the hotel apart. Fermanagh is a beautiful and relatively unknown part of Ireland. It is definitely worth a visit and the Killyhevlin is the perfect base.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sevenoaks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager180, HR Manager at Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2009

Dear sevenoaks123
Thank you for a short but very comprehensive review of your stay at our hotel.
The hotel has very much evolved around providing the guest with the best of views. First timers are usually quite amazed on entering the hotel by the view hidden from the roadside entrance. All public lounge, bar and dining areas offer the ultimate in lake views and many of our 70 bedrooms are angled to provide the guest with scenes of the lake, mountains, lawns and trees. The chalets give the best of the views as they sit right on the riverbank.
Our friendly staff are definately our other great asset as collectively they will do what they can to make a guest's stay as pleasant and memorable as possible. I'll pass on your comments.
Sorry, you missed out on the health club - maybe next time?
Many rgards, Leigh Watson, HR Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,650 - 1,656 of 1,793 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2009

A group of us stayed here for 2 nights-and I won't be back. The first room we were given smelled strongly of smoke so we requested a move. The second one was only marginally better but we decided not to make a fuss. We later discovered that the duvet stank of smoke. The room was dark, with cheap and dated furniture and wonky fittings. The bathroom was also dated, and not very clean...mildew around the shower. Showering was unpleasant as there was a shower curtain as opposed to a door-this had a tendency to stick to you, and caused quite a flood. The iron didn't work. The hairdryer cut out after about 2 mins and had to be left for 5 mins to reset.

At our group dinner, we struggled to get a drink. We ended up going to the bar the first time, and on subsequent occasions were forced to wait at least 10 mins for the drinks waitress to come. A side dish I'd ordered went to the other end of the table and I had to order another one as the group hadn't realised it wasn't communal. I had to go and find knives for those of us who'd ordered a cheese board as we weren't given them. The food was good, but combined with the terrible service, it was overall a poor experience.

The things I did like were the friendly (if sometimes inept) staff, the lovely setting, and the excellent spa. But these definitely aren't enough to make me want to come back.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leeser066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager180, HR Manager at Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2009

Dear Lesser066
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at this hotel. I have passed your comments onto to the relevant Heads of Department who have undertaken to investigate and address the maintenance and service issues you list.
All of our bedrooms are non-smoking but we do sometimes suffer at the hands of some smokers who opt not to respect this policy.
I was happy to read that you did find our staff friendly and enjoyed the setting and excellent spa facilities.
However, my General Manager is quite surprised none of these matters were brought to his attention during the course of your 2 night stay and would very much appreciate if you would contact him directly to give him the opportunity to respond.
Regards, Leigh Watson, HR Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

We were at the Killy last month for a mini weekend along with friends. The staff on arrival made you feel very welcome and on the whole all staff were very friendly and helpful. The food on both evenings was excellent and the choice for breakfast each morning was great - very fattening but very tasty!! The grounds around the hotel are well worth a walk. The scenery is fantastic. The hotel facilities are great although if you are a smoker the facilities were a let down as there were no covered spots when it rained but I've been told they are looking into this. The chalets are good craic too if you're with friends as we stayed in them a few years ago. The Killyhelvin is definitely worth a visit. Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bowana29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager180, HR Manager at Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2009

Dear Bowana29

Thank you so much for your very favourable review. We are very fortunate to have such unique scenery and surroundings: its very relaxing to sit back and watch the water go by.
The staff here are a very friendly bunch who aim to make your stay as enjoyable and memorable as possible.
We do actually have two covered smoking areas both loughside providing smokers with an excellent opportunity to view the lough and the wonderful winter sunsets.
Hope you get the chance to return in the New Year
Regards
Leigh Watson, HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

As the organiser of a group mini break to Westport I arranged to stop at the Killyhevlin for afternoon tea. From the sign at the car park welcoming our bus party until we left it was excellent. There was 25 in our party and we were given the best tables in the restaurant overlooking the lough. As this was Sunday lunch time I was very impressed. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff members. We will definitely stop at the Killyhevlin only we might stay this time! All our group loved it!
Thanks

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager180, HR Manager at Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2009

Dear SButler
So glad you enjoyed your stop with us en-route to Westport, where I hope you had an equally enjoyable time - maybe you'll just stay with us the next time!! We'd love to have you.
The Killy is very popular with tour groups as both a stayover destination and as a refreshment break; we are so accessible to all. Coach drivers can drop you right at the door.
If you're limited to time phone in your group's meal order in advance and we'll have it ready on your arrival.
We do our best to accommodate our diners with a lough view so it is nice to know it is appreciated. I'll make sure your comments are passed on.
Hopefully we'll see you all again soon when you're back on the road.
Regards, Leigh Watson, HR Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

from the time we checked into the Killyhevlin hotel until we left, my wife and i never experienced a more relaxed and enjoyable weekend away from home. The staff from the moment we arrived were both friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Beckett Suite which had a beautiful scenic view overlooking Lough Erne.

In the evening we dined in silks resturant which offered a wide choice of menu
The lamb which i had and the sirlon steak my wife had, were both mouth-watering and cooked to perfection after our meal we relaxed in the lounge area of the hotel whiched was both spacious and comfortable later that evening a girl sang vourious songs to suit all ages, with a pint in my hand the crack was mighty

unfortunately with us only staying the one night we hadn't time to try out the hotel health club complete with pool gym and spa ( the next day the wife had to get to the shops with Erne side shopping and the many shops in enniskillen she was spoiled for choice )

with so much to do and scenic sites in the local area next time we will stay longer

Thanks killyhevlin for the wonderful stay. 10 out of 10
from Martin and Sheelagh

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irelanddominic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager180, HR Manager at Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2009

Dear Irelanddominic

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel so kindly.
Our kitchen team strives to provide a good selection of quality produce on the menus and often include a couple of "specials of the evening". We have just recently reviewed our wine list and introduced some new cocktails for a little variation. I was recently told we have the best pint in town - I read that you tried one! Our resident pianist plays the baby grand piano most evenings and is frequently followed by a guest singer/musican at the weekends. Some impromptu dancing and a sing-a-long can make a good night's craic alright.
I must admit I'm more likely to visit the restaurant and bar than the health club and spa when I'm away too - but it's nice to know the healthy option facilities are here too.
We have some great shopping in Enniskillen and many our guests have made reference to how much early Christmas shopping they have been able to do while in the area.
I hope you get the chance to stay a while longer the next time.
Regards to you both, Leigh Watson, HR Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2009

Stayed with a group on Sunday 15th. Everythign was fantastic, the service, check-in, room, and dinner in silks was fantastic, pleanty of choice and big portions!!

Very comfy relaxed homely atmosphear and stunning spa and gym!!

Will love to get back for a weekend break with my partner

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mics-2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager180, HR Manager at Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2009

Dear mics-2009

Thank you for your review - short and sweet but straight to the point.
The big portions can be counter-acted in the Health Club.
Glad you enjoyed your break.
Regards, Leigh Watson, HR Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Booked the killyhevlin because it claimed to be a four star hotel. What a let down. The Killyhevlin is tatty, outdated hotel. The foyer was a warning , adorned as it was with fruit machines! The carpet in the wing in which our room was situated was stained and dirty. The room was poorly furnished with scratched and damaged cheap furniture that would have looked cheap even when it was new, which I'm guessing was in the 80's. The T.V. (Flat screen) had 8 terrestrial stations but the reception was so poor only 3 were watchable. The bathroom hadn't been properly cleaned in ages, with gaps in grout of the shower tiles discoloured by dirt or mildew. The bathroom door was ill fitting to the degree it didnt open properly.
This "4Star" hotel was generally grubby, brass handles and push pates on doors that appeared not have been cleaned in years, carpet that is threadbare in places,scratched and damaged furniture.
The food is mediocrity itself, service though friendlyish is amatuer andslapdash. This "4Star" hotel , for instance couldn't provide a pepper mill in it's restaurant!
Breakfast on both mornings was close to inedible , and as for the coffee- pure slosh! I actually had to leave the hotel to get a decent drinable cup of coffee.
Web access? dont ask, this "4 star hotel" havn't heard of wifi, no surprise there.
All in all the Killyhevlin is a downbeat 2 star roadhouse/motel badly in need of modernization and a damm good cleaning and certainly desperatley in need of some trained professional waiting staff. If you want to pay £70 per person per night sharing for mediocrity and a "couldn't give a care" attitude, then this is the place for you.
The hotel has been given 4 stars by the Northern Ireland Tourist Board, either their inspector is related to the owners or was drunk when he/she inspected it!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ianandlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager180, HR Manager at Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2009

Dear ianandlinda
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at the Killyhevlin Hotel, we value subjective feedback from all of our guests. One of our managers has tried to contact you but we understand you were, and remain, too busy to speak with him.
The Killy is well sign posted and offset from the main road with a secure resident’s car-park to the front and plenty of free car-parking to either side. The impressive white two storey building is annually painted and with its huge oak framed glass front doors the entrance is very inviting; you can see straight through the sheltered foyer to the reception desk. The view on entering the reception is truly amazing: no-one ever tires of it. There are no fruit machines in the foyer – there isn’t any room; we do have a Surf Box facility for the use of patrons.
The bedroom you stayed in was built in 2004 and the furniture designed by a Northern Ireland company under the guidance of our interior design team. These are very popular rooms and in constant demand. These rooms were repainted for Easter and we’ve just completed a refit of 20 other rooms.
We are gradually fitting flat screen TVs into all rooms and offer 8 terrestrial stations, plus 4 satellite and 4 radio. These are programmed to prevent guests having to tune them in themselves – surprising how people feel it’s necessary to do this and, believe it or not, they take the batteries from the remote control too!
It’s a quiet place that’s perfect and we are constantly addressing the war against the wear and tear that occurs in a extra busy four star hotel with high levels of occupancy all year round. Incidentally, the brass isn’t grubby – the dressing has worn off through heavy use and replacements are on order.
Our professional chefs use locally sourced quality produce and are backed up by excellent service staff. We advise guests to book their table when they check in as the restaurant is very popular with locals as well as residents.
We offer a first-rate breakfast with plenty of choice of juices, fruit, breads, pastries and dairy as well as the traditional full breakfast: alternatives such as kippers are also available. No reasonable request is refused. Our coffee is supplied by a local well known company and is a popular brand. The food & beverage service staff are fully trained in the preparation of a range of coffees by the supply company: we also have a range of teas.
All bedrooms have web access and the lounge areas have BT Open Zone as well as the Surf Box in reception. We find many guests have laptops which are not compatible with our system nor set up to work outside their home or workplace and this can cause them problems. We have given guests access to our own computers in cases were they could not access the web with their own equipment. No proble.
We take customer care very seriously here.
Collectively we take offence at your comments regarding our star rating which was fairly earned and is very justified. We are annually assessed by professionals from the awarding bodies who are neither related to us nor registered drunks – as far as we are aware!
The General Manager is more than willing to discuss your review as we do take all comments on board and we are constantly striving to maintain and improve our service. We do however feel it is a little unjust to go to print with your thoughts before we were aware of you having a problem.
Thank you, Leigh Watson, HR.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
5.6 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,552 reviews
0.9 mi away
Belmore Court Motel
Belmore Court Motel
#1 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,906 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#2 of 7 in Enniskillen
810 reviews
16.3 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
9.8 mi away
Mahon's Hotel
Mahon's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Irvinestown
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges

Address: 209 Dublin Road | Killyhevlin, Enniskillen BT74 6RW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
#4 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range: £109 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique views and a contemporary modern style greet you at the award winning 4* Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel and Lodges. Enjoy breath-taking views over scenic Lough Erne to Cuilcagh Mountain or avail of our newly equipped "Health Klub". Get pampered at our "Kalm Spa": specialists in Elemis luxurious Rituals and products then rest in our quiet relaxation suite sipping herbal teas and nibbling on fresh fruit. Wine and dine a la carte style in "Kove", afternoon tea in "Konservatory" or enjoy a choice from our Lakeside grill menu and sip this month's recommended "Kocktail" in Killyhevlin's Lakeside Lounge and bar. Surrounded by private grounds and landscaped gardens, the hotel is located only 1km from the historic town of Enniskillen in Co. Fermanagh, renown for its National Trust great houses and a 600 year old castle, now housing two museums. We are looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killyhevlin Hotel Enniskillen
Hotel Killyhevlin
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges Enniskillen, County Fermanagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing