We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab-U-lous hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fab-U-lous hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

Just back from 2 nights special deal at Killyhevlin and wanted to say what a beautiful hotel it is. This was a special treat for us and I admit that having read some of the reviews here I was a bit unsure about what to expect. But having been, we are determined to and are looking forward to when we can return! Our room was lovely, great views of the water and it was extremely comfortable. The thermostat on the radiator meant we could control the temperature to suit ourselves. All facilities were excellent as was the food. Generally the staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly in the restaurants and health club, anything we needed, they willingly and easily sorted it out with a smile! For example, I am a vegetarian, the veggie option had goats cheese in which I don't like but was given other lovely choices from other menus with no problem or extra cost. My advice would be that if, for whatever reason, something isn't as you would like, then talk to the staff, as our experience was that they were all extremely helpful. One minor critisim would be that reception staff who we met when checking in and out, were professional but aloof rather than friendly and welcoming, but all other staff were lovely. Have already been recommending it to friends and family as we have had such a relaxing break and the setting is stunning. Oh yes - in response to other complaints we had a full size ironing board and iron and extra pillows in the wardrobe. There was also a wedding reception the Saturday we arrived but we didn't hear a thing!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mistydawn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager180, Manager at Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges, responded to this review, 30 December 2010
Dear "mistydawn23"
Thank you for your review of your first stay with us at the Killy. So good to read that everything was to your liking and that you found our staff to be both approachable and helpful. We do our best to meet special dietary requirements - just give us a little notice and the Chefs will rise to the challenge. Yes, you're right; we can supply full size ironing boards and as many pillows as you can use - just let us know you want them! We receive very few complaints about noise from wedding receptions and do our best to accommodate non-wedding guests away from the "noise" depending on the room type requested. We look forward to you becoming one of our regular visitors.
Regards
Leigh Watson. HR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,016
    321
    133
    66
    44
See reviews for
376
768
23
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

Booked for 1 night with husband and parents, from the minute we arrived everything was perfect. Check in was quick and staff so friendly and helpful. Rooms were spacious and spotless. We had dinner that night and i have to compliment chef and staff, Meal was superb. Staff in resturaunt were in a league of their own, so friendly and welcoming.
Next day we had a lovely breakfast, anything you wanted. We then went to the spa to pamper ourselves and once again the staff were superb.
I could not fault this hotel in any way, well worth a visit.
I would like to thank the management and staff for a lovely experience and i will be back for a longer stay very soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shazyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager180, Manager at Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges, responded to this review, 30 December 2010
Dear "shazyIreland"
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a kind review on behalf of your family group. It will be a pleasure to welcome you all again.
Regards
Leigh Watson. HR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

We have just returned from the Killyhevlin today (stayed 25th October - 27th of October)after being there for two nights for our 7th wedding anniversary with our two daughters who are both under 3 years of age.

We arrived to find the check-in area had changed. It felt a bit strange to come back to this slight difference (this was our fourth time here) but the check-in staff were wonderful as always.

We went to our room as we had requested a ground floor room as we had a pram and a ground floor room would provide us ease of access. Upon arriving to our room we discovered that we were overlooking a concrete roof and directly opposite doors leading to the spa area. Not the ideal place to be for your wedding anniversary or with two wee ones who need as little distraction as possible from outside noises to sleep. We knew we weren't happy with this so we decided we would like to upgrade to a room with a view over-looking Lough Erne and pay the extra for this. We were very happy to find not only did they have a room available but they would not charge us the extra for this room. Thanks, Killyhevlin! The only deal was the room was up a floor. We decided that we would rather have the nicer room and work the lift daily. The staff at check-in were very courteous when dealing with this request and it certainly put us in a good frame of mind for our two days there.

We went to the pool area and were pleased to be able to use the family room to get changed. The pools seemed a lot cooler than what we remembered but a great time to spend as a family.

That night we had dinner in the bar but were a bit disappointed with some of the staff who appeared to be new and inexperienced. We went straight to the paying area and asked for menus for my wife and I and a child menu for our older daughter. A child menu couldn't be found so we were told that one would be found asap and it would be brought to us. We waited and waited...With time being of essence with two wee ones, my wife then went back to the paying area and asked a different member of staff for a child menu. One was found immediately and given to us. About 3 minutes later the first girl came with a child menu in hand. 'Oh, you already one' was her comment. That same girl came back and took our food and drinks order.

The food came in a very prompt manner. When it arrived we realised part of my daughter's food order wasn't on the plate and our drinks had not materialised either. We alerted staff to this and they got onto the job of sorting things out. The drinks came half-way through our meal and my daughter's side order only came right at the end when everything was finished. When going to charge the food to our room we told the staff that we were not happy with our meal and how it was managed. They very pleasantly said that our daughter's meal would be free and not charged to us.

We had a great night's sleep, wonderful to have free internet in the room and I must say there was no noise or distraction from outside our room.

The next day we had breakfast and it was great with full cold and hot breakfast options available. We had a wonderful table in full view of the lough and the staff were very attentive in service.

We went out for the morning into Enniskillen and returned to give our daughters an afternoon nap. The curtains in the room are great for maintaining a dark room to get children to sleep (our two girls are 2 months and 2 and a half years old)! We awoke to head down to the pool again and had another wonderful time together as a family.

That night we had dinner in the bar again but this time sat in the restaurant part of the area with a view overlooking the lough. The same girl who had served us the previous night seated us and gave us menus again tonight. Unfortunately we (along with another table who were seated just after us) had to go searching for someone to go and take our orders as we waited quite a considerable length of time. We went back to the paying area and again were told to take our seats as our orders would be taken there. My wife disagreed and wanted the order to be taken immediately as she was also on the way to take our daughter to the bathroom. The young girl obliged and our food and drink order was taken. Again, our food came in a timely manner. The young man who served the food politely asked if anything else was missing. We said that our drinks had not arrived. He sorted it out for us but I believe the young girl who served us again failed in her job to manage her role adequately. We used the dinner voucher as part of our 2-night deal to contribute towards our meal and were happy to have the balance transferred to our room tab. It was a pleasant meal with my steak cooked as ordered and my wife's salmon was beautifully prepared.

We had another great night's sleep and yet another very nice breakfast on our final morning. As we were preparing to leave we saw that the lifts were out of order and had to lift our pram and luggage down one flight of stairs. Nothing too troublesome, just a few extra trips needed to get everything back in our car. We were given a bottle of wine and box of chocolates as we checked-out as part of our 2-night deal which was another pleasant touch to our stay.

Another great trip for us to Killyhevlin and if half-stars could be awarded I would have given 4 and a half out of 5. The only let down we felt on this visit was the inattentiveness and perhaps inexperience of some of the staff in the bar during our evening meals but other than that we will definitely be returning and hope to do so at Christmas in just two months time.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishMaori77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager180, Manager at Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges, responded to this review, 30 December 2010
Dear "IrishMaori77"
Thank you for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review of your fourth visit and that you wish to award us with a further half star - fantastic! We have taken on board your constructive criticism and will ensure the service issues mentioned improve. Management in the area concerned has been instructed to deliver the correct service and standards training to all new staff and review practices on a daily basis. Our General Manager will be monitoring the area himself to ensure our standards are met consistently. Please accept our apologies and we look forward to your fifth visit.
Regards
Leigh Watson, HR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donaghadee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

My Wife and myself stayed recently in The Killyhevlin Hotel for a two night midweek break to include B&B and one evening meal. We had stayed some years back and were keen to stay again as we love Enniskillen town and the friendly people. What a delight to park in a designated area front of house behind barrier operated from reception. A very friendly welcome from the staff when booking in and everything we needed to know about the hotel and leisure facilites was explained in a few sentences. The hotel reception area has undergone a facelift recently and was stunning and a very relaxing area. Our room was large with a double and a single bed and just about everthing you left behind at home was in our room.It was the first time we have had a full size ironing board and iron, (not that we used it!) trouser press,flat screen t.v. wall mounted the usual tea/coffee making facilites. The reason i mention all of this is the fact that we were on a discounted break and were totally bowled over by the quality of our room. The included four couse meal we decieded to take up our first night and what a meal.I had a large sirlion (no surcharge) and my wife had jerk chicken again this and the other courses were superb and the speed of service was brillant. The two breakfasts were again first class and even on the second night we eat in house in the grill bar which had a few specials we took advantage off. The leisure facilites were also first class and open 7am - 10pm and we had full use of all within our deal. The relazing atmosphere and friendly staff backed up by first class food and spotless room,lift and corridoors all added to our short break which we both really enjoyed. We were on the frontage of the hotel and if i had to be very picky as this is a review to help others to make up their minds road noise would be the only thing and as we knew that before booking it would not put us off booking again. Very pleased and for such a busy hotel we think all in all it was a five star break in a four star hotel . Well done Killyhevlin and staff we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager180, Manager at Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
Dear lucky133
Thank so much for taking the time to write such an excellent review. We aim to meet the expectations of our guests and it is extremely pleasing to read that on this occasion we exceeded them. The reception area has indeed been given a facelift and this has proved popular with our guests. Our residents car park is right outside the front door but has limited parking and operates on a first come system. Your comments are very much appreciated and will be passed on: our team puts a lot of effort into meeting the requirements of our guests and its good to know we're getting it right. Many thanks, kind regards, Leigh Watson, HR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

This review is mainly connected to the Sunday Buffet Lunch service. If they are in any way busy you will not only join a long and slow queue to pay before you go in to the restaurant and then join another one to wait to be seated.
On a positive note the food and service once you are in is very good but the whole experience is let down by the initial frustrating reception. We go here on a fairly regular basis and from talking to other customers in the shuffling queue this is a regular problem.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pt25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager180, Manager at Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
Dear Pt25
Glad to read you enjoy the very good food and service and our extremely popular Sunday Carvery Lunch. We have al arge number of regulars who come every Sunday with very few complaints thankfully. We do try to operate the system such that only the person paying the account queues at the till while the others go on on and get seated. It just doesn't work with some folk - the whole party has to queue to pay, then they all regroup at the door (maybe waiting until someone goes to & returns from the bathroom): this slows the whole procedure up. Our Sunday team are very professional and when let, have the control of the queue off to an art. Some Sundays can be busier than others and not every group (table) makes a booking. Sunday lunch is open from12.30 to 3.00 with peak arrivals just after 1.00pm. Thanks for your feedbak which will be brought to the attention of the duty manager, regards, Leigh Watson, HR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

I stayed here for one night in July and was pleasantly surprised at the level of service and cleanliness after the bad reviews on here.

Staff and Receptionist were very helpful and polite checking me in..had a great nights sleep and enjoyed the views.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arcticnead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager180, Manager at Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
Dear articnead
Thank goodness for you. Such a report and good support is fantastic to receive: its boosts the morale. Our team here does strive to help and to offer excellence at all times and we do want all of our guests to have a fabulous time: its hard work sometimes but rewarding when someone says thanks. Many regards, Leigh Watson, HR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

Thankfully i only had to endure one night at the Killyhevlin!!

The hotel did not have toilet facilities at the bar so had decided to use the facilities in two bedrooms. These two rooms were next door to mine on the main corridor of bedrooms opposite the reception. The noise started at 2am when guests were using these bedroom bathrooms from the residents bar, by 3AM quite a few men and women had started a party in these rooms, shouting, jumping on beds ect
Reception was called and they were moved but the noise continued well after 4am with laughter and shouting from drunk guests just using the bathrooms. After speaking with colleagues the next morning children had been running through the whole hotel banging doors well after 3am.

Reception staff didnt seem surprised when informed at check out and just said the toilet facilities shouldnt have been on the same corridor as bedrooms!!! Exactly!!!

Breakfast staff had to be asked to provide tea and toast even though there was several staff just hanging about and very few guests.

My bedroom welcomed me with a stench of smoke, even though it was a no smoking room..

The up side was that work was paying for the room, as i certainly wouldnt have!! A full day conference on barely any sleep was not pleasant!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller6646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager180, Manager at Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
Dear traveller6646
Thank your feedback. If you wish to discuss your comments further, our General Manager can be contacted at your convenience. He is very aware of this situation. We recently carried out a refurbishment of our public toilets and for the short period of time this operation was taking place, several bedrooms on the ground floor were made available to guest unable to use the stairs to the nearest set of toilets. Unfortunately a number of guests opted to abuse this situation and were responsible for the disruption you reported. We operate an non-smoking policy in all our bedroms, something which a small number of smoking guests chose to ignore. Housekeeping have been made aware of this complaint. I can only offer my apologies and ensure our management team will work together to address the issues you have raised. Thank you once again for your time, Leigh Watson, HR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
5.6 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
1.0 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#2 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
24.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
16.3 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges

Property: Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
Address: 209 Dublin Road | Killyhevlin, Enniskillen BT74 6RW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
#4 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique views and a contemporary modern style greet you at the award winning 4* Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel and Lodges. Enjoy breath-taking views over scenic Lough Erne to Cuilcagh Mountain or avail of our newly equipped "Health Klub". Get pampered at our "Kalm Spa": specialists in Elemis luxurious Rituals and products then rest in our quiet relaxation suite sipping herbal teas and nibbling on fresh fruit. Wine and dine a la carte style in "Kove", afternoon tea in "Konservatory" or enjoy a choice from our Lakeside grill menu and sip this month's recommended "Kocktail" in Killyhevlin's Lakeside Lounge and bar. Surrounded by private grounds and landscaped gardens, the hotel is located only 1km from the historic town of Enniskillen in Co. Fermanagh, renown for its National Trust great houses and a 600 year old castle, now housing two museums. We are looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killyhevlin Hotel Enniskillen
Hotel Killyhevlin
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges Enniskillen, County Fermanagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing