We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great suprise”
Review of Enniskillen Castle

Enniskillen Castle
Ranked #2 of 36 things to do in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Fermanagh County Museum at Enniskillen Castle has reopened after undergoing a £3.5 million redevelopment. Enniskillen Castle, situated beside the River Erne in County Fermanagh, was built almost 600 years ago by Gaelic Maguires. Guarding one of the few passes into Ulster, it was strategically important throughout its history. In the 17th century it became an English garrison fort and later served as part of a military barracks. This historic site houses two museums, Fermanagh County Museum and The Inniskillings Museum and Fermanagh Visitor Information Centre. Opening Hours Monday to Friday (all year round): 9.30am* - 5.00pm Saturdays (all year round): 11.00am - 5.00pm Sundays (Jun to Sept): 11.00am - 5.00pm Bank Holidays - 9:30am* - 5:00pm Closure period - Enniskillen Castle will be closed over the Christmas & New Year holiday period. *9.30am opening for new visitor centre and 10:00am for other buildings Admission
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great suprise”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I have been visiting the Enniskillen area regularly for almost 30 years and have driven by this place so many times without visiting. On my last visit I said that I would not pass it again without going in. I had my military mad 17 year old son with me and he was delighted with it. I had no idea there was so much to see in this museum! It was well worth the wait.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    81
    33
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well Presented Military Museum”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Enniskillen Castle is a great combination of an 'old castle' within which you have a modern military museum. Some excellent artifacts (right up to present day) all of which you can get round in an hour or so. It does major on the local regiments but even so this is appropriate and doesn't detract from the overall appeal to anyone with an interest in history or the military. Family tickat at£11 is good value.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DMBINBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great time to see enniskillen history”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Really cool time to spend an hour. It seems a great place for the kids. Awesome antiques, weapons and millitary vehicles :D

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great if you are interested in Military history”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Heavy on the local military history. This is good for the locals but a bit boring for the tourists. The grounds and surrounding area is beautiful, right on Lough Erne,

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shirley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Dover, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Love Museums and old weapons . the displays were excellent. Talk to a couple of the staff that were very interesting and told me all kinds of things just an all round great visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Enniskillen Castle also viewed

Enniskillen, County Fermanagh
Enniskillen, County Fermanagh
 

Been to Enniskillen Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing