We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little piece of heaven”
Review of Finn Lough

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Enniskillen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Finn Lough
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Spent an idyllic weekend here relaxing and enjoying the wonderful views of Lough Erin. Superb accommodation and first class hospitality from our guide Michael. Well worth a visit. Will definitely return soon.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RoisinMcGarrigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mibeare, Owner at Finn Lough, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi Roisin,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed a relaxing break with us, it is certainly easy to unwind while taking in the views of the lough! I am pleased my hospitality added something to the enjoyment of your stay, it was great meeting you both.

I hope we will welcome you back in the not too distant future .

Warm regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    16
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
65
122
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Great time here! Been once before with some friends when the weather was warmer and we managed to get out on the lake which was great fun. This time we stayed on land which is equally fun. This time it was friend and couple trip We stayed for 3 nights and could have stayed longer, did not want to come home!
The cottage was warm on our arrival and we had a great welcome from the hosts. Once we settled in we lit a log fire to make it even more cozy. There was so much to do while we were there and after persuading the other half to get up from a lie in we played tennis, went for walks - used the games room when the weather wasnt as friendly and got given great tips of places to eat in the area.
Some friends joined us and we had a great time playing board games and cooking together. The cottages are really spacious but remain cozy and very well kept. Had an easy drive from the airport with a hire car which i would recommend to make the most of the place but they have enough on site that you dont really need to leave if you dont want to. The cottages are well spaced out so you do not feel you are with any one else. The view over the lake is an amazing wake up each day. Great contrast to city life.
Really do cater for people who want to relax as well as those who are more active .
Will be going back as so much more to do! Thanks all!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDUK222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mibeare, Owner at Finn Lough, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hi JDUK222,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your break with us. The log fire certainly adds to the cosiness of the lodge and is perfect to curl up in front of for a movie or evening of board games. I am glad you had the opportunity to play tennis and hope you other half enjoyed it also. The forest and lakeside trails offer the opportunity to enjoy a relaxing walk whilst taking in the beautiful views.

Thank you again for your review and I hope we will see you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Michael Beare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We spent a weekend here with the family looking for some quality time and We were delighted with the place. It has a great location, very clean and cozy. The views are very good and the moment we most enjoyed was trying to light the fire. It took us 3hours but was fun :) ...we are simply not gifted for that. The premises are really nice, tidy and charming plus Michael and Gillian were really great hosts giving all sort of advice and facilities about which places to go and visit when exploring the area. Thank you again guys and keep up the good work. Overall a LOVELY and GREAT weekend. We will definitely come back and recommend to our friends!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MexicanManu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Been meaning to add this to this site for ages but I believe you won't find better accommodation in this market. It is a bit on the high side for cost but then again, you get what you pay for, it would have perhaps secured a more loyal base if things were 'all inclusive' such as bike hire, or 'ball hire' but that's a commercial decision for the owners. However, they would have our repeat business on a yearly basis if some of these things were included.

The accommodation itself is outstanding, split level with the kitchen having a dining area attached and very spacious, added to this is the small balcony which allows views over Loch Erne, however if they wish the view to continue, it may be necessary to lop some trees as when they are in full bloom, they obscure the views. However, consider the context of the setting it is woodland....

The luxury feel of this accommodation was superb, the beds the most comfortable, the bathrooms two of them very spacious one with shower, the other with bath and shower. Unusually there were cleaning materials which you could use to clean up after any mishaps, especially with children around.

The lodges were well fitted out with microwave, dishwasher, washing machine and airer along with ironing board and iron. There is also an open fireplace and central heating, along with controls for hot water. Each lodge is independent and each lodge is self contained although you do have neighbours but there was no issue for us, indeed it was like living in a village.

The owners were extremely helpful, the playroom facilities are good but perhaps room for improvement over the course of time. The playground was in a central location and the place is not too commercially run, there was no 'trying to sell this, or that, or anything else.'

It was a haven for us in comparison to some places we've stayed in the Republic and the UK, which is one of the reasons we went there as you come out the drive, turn right and you're in the Republic, turn left you're in the UK.

Overall, this place is more than excellent, but my caution is to the owners, watch your pricing otherwise you will deny many people an experience of this haven.

Room Tip: Just enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vpds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Over 30 of us gathered at the lodges for 50th birthday party. Lodges all located beside each other with excellent facilities containing everything you could possibly need for your stay. The weather was great which meant that we could go for a picnic by boat, bikes etc and play soft ball in the woods. This was all organised by the owners who could not have been more helpful. This is magical place and I would recommend that you should go.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cala d'Or, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Superb facilities; fantastic accommodation; breath-taking views; friendly owners! Many National Trust attractions nearby including areas of outstanding beauty and interest. Set in such an idyllic and tranquil setting and so close to the quaint Donegal town. A place to revisit again and again.

Room Tip: The fitness centre comprises of natural walks in a gorgeous woodland, tennis courts, water sports, c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle580287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This was our third trip to Fermanagh Lakeland Lodges (previous 2011 and 2009) for myself, my partner and my three children aged 13, 11 and 9 at the time we went. We stayed this year at the end of July and had a fantastic 7 night stay. We got the overnight ferry between Liverpool and Belfast which added to the fun and broke up our journey. The accommodation is brilliant, we love the split level lodges and the space where we can lose the children. We loved the open fire and wonderful views from the lodge and the balcony. One big improvement this year - if that was possible, was the introduction of bike hire at a very reasonable cost. We also made good use again hiring out the kayaks and paddling on Loch Erne. We did get caught in heavy rain when cycling, but that is the fun of Ireland. We were very near some wonderful cycle routes which are off main roads and safe for children and visually impaired people such as me. The estate is quiet and peaceful with lots of open space and hills. We arranged a shopping delivery from Asda to our lodge which maximized our time to relax. In our lodge we had everything we needed including bed linen, towels, washing machine, dishwasher, iron and ironing board, all kitchen utensils, kettle, toaster, oven, microwave, TV, DVD player etc. The family who run the Lodges, as always, were very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much bother for them.

The Lodges are set in a great location to visit the west coast of Ireland or head North East to visit the stunning Giants Causeway. There is so much to do and see, but this is the ideal holiday location and we will be back again - and probably again and again. Traveling from England or Scotland is easy and there are a variety of ferry choices if you want to take a car or use the Rail/Sail option, and want to avoid the usual airport and cattle conditions of going by air. So would we recommend Lakeland Lodges, YES ABSOLUTELY.

Room Tip: All the Lodges are in good locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllanAndJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
11.3 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,431 reviews
16.8 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
16.0 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#3 of 7 in Enniskillen
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
547 reviews
25.7 mi away
Knockninny Country House & Marina
13.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finn Lough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finn Lough

Property: Finn Lough
Address: 41 Letter Road, Enniskillen BT93 2BB, Northern Ireland (Formerly Fermanagh Lakeland Lodges)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Enniskillen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Finn Lough 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in beautiful Muckross Wood, on the shores of Lower Lough Erne, Finn Lough offers the perfect holiday setting for families, country lovers and serious, and not so serious, fishermen alike. The marina, tennis court, children's playground, nature trails, mountain bikes tracks, spa, restautant and indoor games centre on site, offer a wide range of activities for all ages on your doorstep. Or, you can venture further out and take advantage of Co Donegal, with its golden beaches, spectacular coastline and all North and West Ireland's world famous attractions such as the Giant's Causeway, Bushmills distillery, Slieve League sea cliffs and Glen Veigh national park. So, whether you are seeking a relaxing countryside getaway, an action packed weekend, or angling for a sole fishing trip, we have the perfect package for you. Come and take a look! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finn Lough Enniskillen, County Fermanagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing