We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Finn Lough
Nearby Hotels
Lough Erne Resort(Enniskillen)
US$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arch House(Enniskillen)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Willowbank House(Enniskillen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmore Court Motel(Enniskillen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westville Hotel(Enniskillen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tirconaill Lodge(Enniskillen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
268
23
12
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
23
12
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf buggyfire pitsnug barclear nighttennis courtspedal kayaksspa trailrecord playerpolaroid cameraon site restaurantfour poster bedgames roomfreshly baked cookiesplay parkspa experienceunderfloor heatingnespresso machine
Filter
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2016

I stayed in a bubble dome for one night and was so impressed by the experience.

The domes, hidden in the woods on the grounds of the Finn Lough resort, are as cosy as a hotel room with all the amenities and creature comforts you'd need for a relaxed break away from city life.

But it's a totally immersive stay in nature as well - with the ingenious skin of the bubbles making you feel a part of your surroundings in a way I'd never experienced before.

What makes this all the better for me is the warmth, charm and sincerity of the team. They're a young and enthusiastic group who know how to welcome you and give the right amount of attention and privacy to enable an amazing stay.

The restaurant, which is reasonably new, is also run by a couple of talented chefs and I'd highly recommend taking dinner and breakfast as part of the package. I had brown trout, caught in the Lough only a matter of yards away, and eggs benedict the next day, and both were really top-drawer - especially the trout. They've also got some local craft beer by the bottle, and a good array of Irish whiskeys, and tons of gins!

Fundamental to my enjoyment was the range of activities around the Finn Lough site. Walk in the woods, take a pedal-boat on the Lough, or take a mountain bike. There's so much to do and at the end of it all when you're tired out, you return to a really satisfying night's sleep under the stars.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2016

Myself and my partner recently returned for a night at the Finn Lough resort. We booked it as a special treat away for us. As we usually take city breaks this was something a bit different for us. We’d been to Fermanagh last year and a night in the bubble dome seemed like a good excuse to return.

We arrived quite early and had lunch in the resort restaurant before the room was ready for check in. The food was really good and the service very warm and friendly, with the guy serving us offering advice on the local area.

Gillian met us after lunch in the little golf cart. We'd both done research on the Dome before we booked, but didn't really expect them to be quite so far into the forest. The journey to them is maybe 1/2km along a winding path. Our Dome had a private entrance gate with an old fashioned lock and key, which contrasted completely with the space age look of the dome.

The first time you go inside is pretty surreal, it is literally a bubble. After Gillian left us we spend ages just looking around, the experience of just sitting in the big chairs is very relaxing and if it wasn't for the kayak trip we had booked we probably would have sat there all day.

The kayaking was great fun, at least until the sky opened on our way back to the dock. I'd recommend checking the forecast before booking a trip out.

We had booked dinner in the Lough Erne resort, which was good, but if we were to do it again we'd probably eat in the resort restaurant and avoid the travelling.

We’d been hoping to see stars during our stay, but unfortunately the weather didn’t want to play ball and decided to give us a massive storm instead, which was actually really cool. Once we convinced ourselves the bubble wasn’t going to blow away we lay awake listening to the rain on the bubble and watching the trees moving in the wind.

As others have said the bubble isn’t perhaps the best option if you want a great night sleep. The bed is really comfortable, but you do get woken up early with the noise of the birds and the sun coming in at 7am. I mentioned to Gillian on check out about the option of curtains on the bed and it sounds like they’re planning some adaptions.

Overall we had a great time. It’s completely different to a normal hotel break and certainly worth a trip.

Stayed: May 2016
1  Thank Randi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

We were greeted by two lovely ladies at reception who took our details.
We went straight out to Tullana on the green at lisnarick and had a beautiful dinner. I strongly recommend the rump steak.
We arrived back and went a stunning walk through the forest. We then settled into the dome for the night.
As you walk up to your dome site you come to a gate which you have a key to lock and unlock. (Makes you feel safe)... But as we walked through we were shocked to see another dome right beside ours. The domes are very thin that you can hear people in the next dome (a stone throw away). So you may want to watch what you say as the people in the next dome will most definitely hear. The domes themselves do not have locks which was a worry for us. They just have zip up doors (like a tent obviously) but for the price we expected there to be locks on the domes. God knows who is in the dome next to you and they could come in at any time.
Now onto better stuff...the dome itself was excellent with plenty of space, 2 chairs, coffee machine, radio and a cool little ensuite. It was especially amazing at night as we seen a few stars, not many but still amazing to lay back and watch.
We would encourage people to bring snacks and drinks with them for the night.


Unfortunately i had an awful nights sleep with the noise of the rain and wind beating of the dome - it was incredibly loud. Im usually a great sleeper. By the time i did get to sleep I'd say it was around 5am and it wasn't long until i was awakened by the blazing sun coming in at the early stages of 8am. As we were getting ready to leave the dome at around 10am the heat from the sun was absolutely unbearable. I had to step outside on two occasions to cool down.
The breakfast was an average size but tasted delicious. I had a fry up. Good produce was used. A bit more of it though would have been great.

Positives-
Friendly and helpful staff.
Great sized large dome.
Food tasted amazing.
Lovely walks and beautiful scenery.
Super cool experience.

Negatives-
No locks on the domes.
Domes right next to eachother.
Could hear almost everything from the other dome.
The brightness and heat from the sun in the morning was unbearable.
Breakfast could have been bigger.
Mirror very tiny in bathroom.


I had a decent stay at Finn lough but considering the price i payed of £230 for 1 night a lot of things could be tweaked and added to make it worth that huge price tag.

£230 for the large dome experience.. I'm not convinced

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Eoghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mibeare, Owner at Finn Lough, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2016

Hi Eoghan,

Thanks for your kind words on the domes we just wanted to respond and address a few of the issues that you’ve raised to give others a clear picture of the set up.

In terms of the temperature control in the domes we have underfloor heating and air conditioning units build into the bed. Guests can use the digital thermostat to control the temperature of their bubble, setting it to their desired level. I have spoken to the staff to make sure the use of this equipment is clearly explained on check in and we have put together a little guest manual.

The uniqueness of the bubbles requires unique (and costly) climate control solutions which we have spent a long time perfecting so that the conditions are kept as comfortable as possible despite the external conditions.

Waking up with the sunrise and hearing the wind and rain are as much a part of the bubble dome experience as seeing a sky full of stars or hearing the birds in the trees. Sleeping in nature in such a unique way means embracing those elements in order to get the most from the experience. In saying that we have begun providing earplugs and eye masks to guests so going forward you can choose to tune in and out nature’s movie as you please.

As you rightly say the domes are located through a gated entry with each dome having a private pathway. Your Dome was recently installed and was this week landscaped to increase the separation from the other Domes, with its own lockable gate and hedge surrounding the rear. We have reintroduced the native trees and these create a cacoon effect around the Dome.

For health and safety reasons we do not put locks on the dome doors. This is something we find most people are comfortable with, safe in the knowledge that someone staying in another bubble will want his privacy respected as much as you, therefore they are unlikely to climb over your fence and enter through the two zip doors separating you from the outside world. The whole dome area is walled off from non dome guests.

I’m glad you enjoyed breakfast and sorry to hear you didn’t get the opportunity to try the evening menu, a lot of the ingredients are sourced from the forest and the resort polytunnel and the chefs have created some excellent dishes based on local traditional recipes.

We have invested, and will continue to invest a significant amount of time and money in researching, designing, building and improving the domes. We are constantly tweaking them in order to maximise the enjoyment of guests. The cost of the experience reflects the fact that they are much more expensive to operate and maintain compared to a standard hotel room.

The domes are a very delicate system and so we ask guests to abide by the operating guidelines so that their condition is maintained for future stargazers. These include not smoking or eating in the bubbles so whilst people are welcome to bring snacks etc we just ask that meals/picnics etc are enjoyed outside of the domes in the village area of the resort.

As a family business we welcome any feedback that allows us to tweak and improve the product and thank you for giving us yours so we can make changes for the benefits of future guests. We hope you’ll come back and visit us again to see the improvements you’ve helped create.

Warm regards,

Michael, Gillian and the Finn Lough Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

Just back from an overnight stay in the Finn Lough Bubble Domes. We had a really great experience from the moment we arrived.

We were greeted by a friendly staff member and taken on a golf buggy through the forest to our dome - a great way to arrive! The dome itself was much more secluded than I had expected, down an offset path and with a lockable gate entrance making it feel very secure.

Inside, was a beautifully designed room with a really comfy bed and an amazing ensuite. There's a handy espresso machine, drawers for storage and even a stand to hang up coats! They really have been designed to perfection, with sockets and an adjustable thermostat to control the temperature.

Our view looked into the forest, and it was amazing lying down to sleep looking up at the sky. Unfortunately we had a terrible rainstorm overnight so we didn't see the stars but it was lovely and cosy. Waking up to the birds singing and the sun streaming through made up for the bad weather during the night.

We took advantage of the on-site restaurant twice - for dinner and inclusive breakfast the next morning. The food there is amazing and the staff are particularly friendly.

The woodland walks around the domes are beautifully set beside the lough and there are plenty of activities to do too.

Overall, we had a brilliant stay - an experience we would recommend to everyone. The only suggestion I would make to the staff would be covers for the blue LED lights on the switches as they are very bright at night (we used the spare pillows to cover them).

A couple of tips for staying would be to bring earplugs (in case you're unlucky enough to have a crazy loud rainstorm during the night!) and an eyemask if you waken easily as it gets very bright early in the morning.

Other than those small points, it really is a brilliant experience and thoroughly recommended!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Tanya2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Finn Lough for one night in one the suites. We arrived early with the intention of checking in and heading out as we knew the room wouldn't be ready until later that afternoon. Alison who met us at reception was so helpful and accommodating. The room was even ready early!
What a beautiful suite to spend a night in! Very tastefully decorated with wonderful little personal touches and best of all a giant bath!
We ate both dinner and breakfast in the a la carte restaurant and the food is of an excellent standard. The waiting staff friendly and helpful.
The only tiny area that could be improved was the heat! Both our room and the restaurant were very very hot. But if that's all there is to say that's pretty good going!
The location is so peaceful, a lovely little get away to rest, relax and recharge!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lorsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews