We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knockninny Country House & Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Knockninny Country House & Marina
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a lovely hotel with friendly staff, lovely food and fabulous accommodation. The views over the loch are stunning. The evening menu had a good variety of dishes and was very tasty and well presented, it is not cheap but is well worth the money.

They also do half day boat hire for £50.00 so we took out a small boat for a leisurely drive around the loch. This was a great experience and we enjoyed it so much that we have already booked a return visit.

Room Tip: Choose a loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lhughes21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAIL C, Manager at Knockninny Country House & Marina, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your very complimentary positive review.
A further thank you for booking your return stay with us this Summer.

Even though we are located on the shores of Lough Erne it is very nice for our guests to experience the lake and it's islands by Dayboat which we offer on site (weather dependent). The Dayboats allow guests to view the lakelands from a different angle and take in the beautiful sites on offer by lake. I should say however that the £50 hire fee you quoted is incorrect, our Dayboats are on offer throughout 2014 at the discounted rate of £55 for 4 hours in celebration of our 5th Birthday.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Knockninny this Summer and thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    18
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
18
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Hard to find but well worth the effort for really good food , well signposted off main road along some narrow lanes to a small marina area offering great views across the loch . The hotel is set on the banks of the loch offering a good choice of food in a friendly atmosphere .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAIL C, Manager at Knockninny Country House & Marina, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your review on our restaurant.

We are so glad you enjoyed your meal with us and the atmosphere. Indeed we are set 21/2 miles off the main A509 Enniskillen to Derrylin road in the countryside but we hope that our views and close proximity to Upper Lough Erne do not disappoint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

While on a cruising holiday in the Upper Lough Erne during early June my wife and I paid several visits to Knockninny Marina and ate in the hotel on two occasions. Friends of ours also stayed in their Boathouse for a weekend and were delighted with its facilities. They would have preferred to stay in the hotel, but the Hotel is closed from Sunday at 9pm until Tuesday morning! This it was explained was for family reasons - young children- which we understood and accepted. It would not suit everyone, however.
The setting here is stunning and the view out over the marinas is beautiful. We found the attention and friendliness of Gail and Elisha to be exceptional. The meals we had very of a very high standard and enjoyed by us all. We will certainly try to get back by land and stay in the hotel the next time.

Room Tip: Room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geraldandmargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAIL C, Manager at Knockninny Country House & Marina, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking time out to write your review. It is of course always a pleasure to receive a positive review and ratings and so we thank you for this.
We Would also like to thank you for visiting our premises on several occasions throughout your stay on Lough Erne and indeed recommending our guesthouse and self catering to your friends.
It is of course a compliment to be reviewed and seen under the status of "hotel" but in fact this is not the case. We are in fact classed as a Guesthouse by the Northern Ireland Tourist Board and our business operation and opening times coincide with this classification.
Once again we thank you for your custom over this Summer and very much look forward to welcoming you and your friends on your return to Lough Erne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just some words to describe our stay at Knockninny. A hidden gem i would most whole heartedly agree with. Tucked away in a quiet, fairly remote, beautifully location on the edge of the lake its a pleasant surprise when you walk into the reception/bar /restaurant area. We were not prepared for how quaint and cosy the hotel was. Service is first class throughout the property and everything works so well together. Our room was very romantic with views over the lake to die for. Breakfast was very good and the evening dinner menu was as good as some popular Belfast and Dublin restaurants.

Being Lakeside it was popular with locals and the boating set and the craic was great at the bar. Lots to see and do in the locale and this would be our getaway hotel of choice for a weekend out of the smoke and city life hustle and bustle. We have stayed in quite a few of the more well know, busier Fermanagh hotels but Knockninny would be the one we would return to without a doubt.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside view - well worth the extra few pounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2016-Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAIL C, Manager at Knockninny Country House & Marina, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience with us.
We must say we were overwhelmed and very proud to receive your comments,

You were very obviously impressed with our Guesthouse and if I could just say seemed to "get" immediately the ambience and experience we endeavour to create.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Was staying locally, so seem like a good place to have dinner one night.
On arrival we were met but owner who welcome us in, we had some drinks then dinner.
Which was very nice, waitress was very pleasant and attentive.
The view was amazing across the water. Would come back again soon.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAIL C, Manager at Knockninny Country House & Marina, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review and for your ratings. We are happy you enjoyed your evening with us and look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Another great stay in Knockninny, this time self catering in their Boat House. Massive credit to Gail, Marshall & Elisha in particular for their wonderful hospitality & for going that extra mile (or 3 or 4 into Derrylin :-))
A truly STUNNING setting, especially when arriving by boat!
Would recommend to anyone, in my opinion it's appeal is very broad across all types of visitors.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAIL C, Manager at Knockninny Country House & Marina, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Having stayed with us before in one of our family rooms and now in The Old Boathouse self-catering house we are delighted you have enjoyed both experiences. As you say our premises do offer a stunning location within close proximity to Lough Erne along with great views and is a great location for boating. For the non boat owner we also provide Day Boats and Kayaks for hire on site. We are so pleased you rated us highly on all aspects of our product and service and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had an overnight stay at this hotel last weekend, Gail and her staff were very welcoming and friendly. The boutique style room was excellent, Our room had a fabulous view of the lake. We also had lovely fluffy robes and slippers and the bed was very comfortable,
We enjoyed both lunch and dinner in the bar and restaurant and the food was excellent. The breakfast was also very tasty with the edition of gluten free toast for myself which was very much appreciated,
We had booked a boat trip but the weather was a bit overcast so we decided not to go out on lake on this occasion but thats a good excuse to go back again.
Overall we had a great stay and will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAIL C, Manager at Knockninny Country House & Marina, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We were very pleased to see your ratings on both our product and service.
Indeed our Lakeview Executive rooms provide magnificent views over Lough Erne as does our restaurant, patio and bar area. Fluffy robes and slippers are an integral part of our overnight guest experience so we are delighted your enjoyed these. We offer lunch and dinner at Knockninny house and are pleased you enjoyed these. Indeed the weather was somewhat inappropriate for a Day Boat trip, but as you say, hopefully we can welcome you back very soon so that you can take in this experience. We look forward to seeing you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
12.8 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
7.3 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
8.3 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#2 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
9.0 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
17.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockninny Country House & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockninny Country House & Marina

Property: Knockninny Country House & Marina
Address: Knockninny Quay | Derrylin, Enniskillen BT92 9JU, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockninny Country House & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Knockninny Country House & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockninny Marina Enniskillen
Knockninny Country House & Marina Enniskillen, County Fermanagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing