We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food Great Location”
Review of Lough Erne Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lough Erne Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Location”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We ate in the bar 2 weeks ago and weren't disappointed the standard of service and food was exceptional right through from our starters to our coffee. Even though the food was expensive it was worth it and we will definitely be back but maybe only on special occasions. Would highly recommend and the views are amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4deirdre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear 4Deirdre 1,
Many thanks for your kind remarks regarding our Blaney Bar menu and mentioning our lovely views !!!
kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    264
    133
    82
    29
See reviews for
297
677
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
210 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Set right on the lake-edge, this place is in a stunning location, only four miles from Enniskillen. Friendly, very professional staff just couldn't do enough for you. A golfer's paradise with two courses right on the doorstep, it is also a great spot for walkers or as a base for sightseeing as far afield as Donegal and all the usual Fermanagh sights. Well recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinJi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Martin ji
Delighted your had a good time during your stay at Lough Erne Resort and you had a chance to enjoy the lovely walks throughout the property.
As you say Fermanagh has also a lot to offer for those who wish to tour around and its all on our doorstop from Marble Arch Caves, Castlecoole, Belleek Pottery , the Lakes, great shopping and lively bars and restaurants.
Glad you enjoyed it.
regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co.Meath
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Was so looking forward to my stay here. But sadly the hotel did not live up to my expectations. Whilst I understand they were getting ready to host the G8 summit I had hoped this would not impact on our stay. The window in our room would not close properly and you had to stand on a chair to manipulate it. The radiator didn't work properly we were told to turn the gauge to a certain point only otherwise it would keep making the knocking sound it made. On receipt of our bill at check out we discovered that we had been charged for beverages we never ordered the matter was rectified but after some time. The spa and pool were closed due to work being carried out something we weren't informed at time of booking. The staff are very friendly and the grounds are beautiful. It was such a pity :-(

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slane62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear slane 62,
I was disappointed to read your review and the issues concerning your window and radiator and have investigated the matter with our maintenance crew.
Unfortunately we had a fire in our Thai Spa that necessitated ongoing remedial work which was completed for the Easter Holiday period.
I hope you will visit the resort again and please let me know so we can enhance your stay in some way.
Thank you for your comments
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Recently had VIP guests over for a conference for 20 of us ..there was choice of conference rooms and what we got was ideal size with all the equipment included ...also eye to detail in room fantastic;water, oatfield sweets (hadn't tasted them in along while ) and our English and Japanese guests loved them also plenty of tea, coffee , water and proper stationary .. I have hosted conferences in a lot of the major Hotels in NI and I know this is one of the best. We had lunch in the grill bar great choice of Menu (try the beef rib ..chef's special ) and very tasty ..then Golf on the Fab Lough Erne Course . Considering our recent weather this course is in fabulous condition..
Our evening finished in the Catilina Restaurant with the food and wine selection excellent ..
Very Busy for a Wednesday night ,we then had a night cap in the bar and the guests that stayed were very impressed with their rooms and breakfast . The different members of staff we met throughout the day were very professional,helpful and friendly . Definitely reccommend

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mccaffrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Mccaffrp
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your company's recent conference and
delighted you enjoyed all Lough Erne Resort has to offer.
The short rib of beef is fast becoming one of our most popular dishes and is available in the Loughside Bar & Grill and also as part of a set menu for group bookings.
Thanks again for taking time to post your comments.
kind regards
john
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Down
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed here as guests at a wedding. We were allocated a room overlooking the 'courtyard' i.e hotel service area. I have stayed in hotels in New York which were quieter. We were awoken just after dawn by people chatting in the service area, workmen carrying out work either beside or close to our room. We were kept awake by glass being thrown into the bins at the back. Thank goodness we were only staying one night as this would have been the most expensive insomniac experience I would have had anywhere in the world!
I have to say I was incredibly disappointed as I am from this country and this hotel has such a good reputation; one were are quite proud of. I do think this was a lesser used room as it seemed slightly annexed.
My other friends had a much more pleasant experience and had in fact been upgraded to a lough view room. Such a pity as our room choice truly marred the experience for us.
Would love to stay again to see if we were just unlucky on the day but not sure if we would risk it due to the cost.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irishnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear irishnomad,

It was as you say an "unfortunate room allocation" of one of only four rooms adjacent to the Hotel service area where outside contractors were working.Courtyard Rooms generally overlook the Hotel entrance area.
I apologise your sleep was interrupted and hope it will not deter you from returning to stay.Please contact me if you choose to visit us again.

kind regards

JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor Co Down
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I'm just back from a two day, one night stay at the Lough Erne Resort for a Golf Retreat. This was a package deal so I cannot comment on normal prices and I didn't use the spa, but if you want a grey place to stay with golf right on the doorstep then this is for you. The courses are set in the Fermanagh Lakeland and the layout is tremendous, the views across the lakes are stunning and the wildlife was at its busiest. The resort boasts two courses, a full practice area with video and shot analysis available and excellent tuition from Head Professional Lynn McCool. We stayed in one of the lodges which was very comfortable with all the facilities you would expect from a luxury resort. The food was good. The only downer was that the service at breakfast was a bit flakey. There was a full range of breakfast available but special orders were a bit long arriving at the able. All in all a great place for a break, the surrounding countryside is tremendous with great itinaries for day driving trips. It will be busy next month as the G8 Summit is going there but once it is over give it a try.

Room Tip: All the lodges have views over the lakes but make sure and ask for a room with a view of staying in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heresay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Heresay,

Ladies Golf Retreats are a very popular group package offered to incoming lady captains and I am delighted that you really enjoyed your stay at Lough Erne Resort.The Golf Academy offers great practice facilities and Lynn is an excellent coach.
The Loughside Lodges are ideal for large groups and its a pity you didn't get a chance to visit out Thai Spa for some relaxation after your Golf.

Thanks for your comments

regards

JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

My wife and I (both senior citizens) visit this hotel fairly regularly mostly for lunch in bar area when visiting Enniskillen. On Wednesday 8th May, 2013 we were very disappointed. We ordered Irish Spring Lamb stew from the menu and what we got was far from Irish Spring Lamb. For the most part the meat was inedible grizzle and very off putting. We complained to the waitress who said she had mentioned it to the Chef but that was the only response we received.
This hotel and resort is rated 5 star but without doubt our meal did not merit any rating. On earlier visits the food for lunch was reasonable but never 5 star quality. We keep going back because the hotel and location is otherwise very nice with friendly staff, excellent furnishings and great surroundings making it a relaxing and wonderful place to visit. Management at this hotel need to look at the quality of food being served and make improvements or else, I fear, the reputation of this otherwise excellent property will be damaged.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westwing67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Westwing 57,

I am very disappointed to learn of your recent lunch experience .The Irish Spring Lamb dish is a popular selection from our menu in the Blaney Bar which is generally well received by our customers.
Obviously it was not to your liking on this occasion and I apologize for this and have passed your comments on to Noel and his team.

You have mentioned in your review that you visit Lough Erne from time to time and maybe on your next visit ,you would ask for me or a member of the management team and we will enhance your experience for you.

Apologies once again

JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
5.6 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
4.4 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
4.7 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#3 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
21.5 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
14.9 mi away
Knockninny Country House & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Erne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Erne Resort

Property: Lough Erne Resort
Address: 193 Lough Shore Road, Enniskillen BT93 7ED, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
#3 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Erne Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Erne Resort, Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh, host venue to the G 8 Summit 2013 is the first AA and NITB Five Star Hotel in Northern Ireland and was awarded 'Best Hotel' at the 2011 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards. In 2010, it was awarded ‘Golf Resort of The Year’ by the Irish Golf Tour Operators Association. The Resort is the ultimate expression in old world heritage and new world luxury, set on its very own 600 acre peninsula, between Castle Hume Lough and Lower Lough Erne, just outside Enniskillen, with stunning panoramic views from almost every vantage point. This unique luxury Fermanagh hotel’s facilities include: •120 luxury Rooms and Suites•Two Championship Golf Courses including The Faldo Course, a Golf World & Golf Monthly Top 20 Course (UK & Ireland) and the Championship Castle Hume Course•Rory McIlroy has been its Touring Professional representing The Resort around the World•The Golf Academy, a state of the art Practice and Tuition centre•Authentic Thai Spa, with Thai Therapists using Thai Products and techniques•A variety of innovative Dining Experiences with menus composed by Award winning Chef, Noel McMeel. Including: The Catalina Restaurant, The Blaney Bar with an Exclusive collection of 101 Irish Whiskies; The Loughside Bar & Grill, a variety of Afternoon Teas in The Garden Hall and The Halfway House located behind the 9th Green of The Faldo Championship Course•6 Conference & Meeting Rooms•Cygnets The 'BIG' Experience for our younger guests (0-11 years)•One of Ireland’s most romantic Wedding Venues. All this combined with warm, friendly and attentive service make Lough Erne Resort one of the world’s most magical destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lough Erne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Erne Hotel Enniskillen
Lough Erne Enniskillen
Lough Erne Resort Enniskillen, County Fermanagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing