We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you for making our wedding day perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lough Erne Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lough Erne Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Thank you for making our wedding day perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We held our wedding reception at the Lough Erne Resort on Friday May 17th 2013 and I wouldn't rate any aspect of the day less than a 5 out of 5. The hotel is beautiful, set in a stunning location on the banks of Lough Erne. The level of service was exceptional; from the staff who were all so polite and friendly to the food, which was absolute perfection. This was the feedback not just from us (bride & groom) but from every guest that we spoke to. The bridal suite was absolutely amazing and the view was something else; overlooking the lake and a par 3 hole on the Faldo golf course. Our breakfast the following morning was beautiful; once again exceptional service and great food.

We had been living abroad for a year and a half leading up to the wedding so the organization and planning was slightly more awkward than what might be usual but Shweta, the Conference & Events Coordinator at the Lough Erne, was such a pleasure to deal with; so friendly and helpful and we really want to thank her so much for making it all come together so seamlessly. Also Thomas, who coordinated things on the day, was an absolute gentleman and looked after us all so well.

So all I can say is thank you so much to everyone at the Lough Erne Resort on behalf of myself and my new wife, Seána, for making our wedding day so perfect.

I would highlighy recommend this as a wedding venue to any soon-to-be newlyweds out there who are looking for somewhere unique to share their special day with friends and family.

Aidan & Seána

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Aidan H,
Congratulations Aidan to you and Seana on your recent wedding and thank you for your kind remarks regarding your wedding day at Lough Erne Resort.The bridal suites are truly stunning
and certainly add to the whole occasion for our wedding couples.
I will pass on your kind comments to Shweta and Thomas in our Events and Banqueting teams and thank you for your recommendation as an unique wedding venue.

Best wishes for the future.

JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    899
    262
    132
    82
    29
See reviews for
291
672
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

My 3 sisters went to Lough Erne for the night to celebrate my sisters birthday (Sun 2 June). Checked in. Rooms were nice. Went to bar for lunch. Service was poor - long wait to order, long wait for drinks. Had dinner booked for 8pm. Went to bar for pre-dinner drinks and was told we would be called for dinner. We eventually went in for dinner at 8.30 since no one bothered calling us. Dinner was good. We went back to the bar for a night cap and sat in the bar for 45 minutes waiting to be served a drink.
Had lunch following day before leaving and once again - long wait for menus, taking food order and getting food. Really really poor on service front.
There did seem to be plenty of staff milling around .... but noone looking to do any work!! Except a waiter called Martin.
We filled in a questionnaire on leaving and am still waiting on a call!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheenagh00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Sheenagh00,
Thank you for your recent comments which you posted in regards to your recent visit to Lough Erne Resort.

I am sorry that you were not happy with the service you received particularly in respect of our food & beverage.It's something we work very hard at to get right. However, we were clearly lacking on this occasion. Please accept our apologies and extend these to your sisters, for the disappointment that they experienced during your birthday celebrations.

If the opportunity should arise for you to return, please do not hesitate to contact me personally, in order that I may afford you my personal attention.

With kind regards

JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

My finance had afternoon tea at the Lough Erne on Sunday 26th May. This had been booked for a couple of weeks for a group of 4, and she had been looking forward to it with great anticipation. The tea itself was £16, and although seeming expensive, we felt this was acceptable due to the 'experience' that she intended to have. The afternoon tea itself was enjoyable, and a service charge was added, which again she thought was acceptable. So per person the final bill was £17.45. Two of the party paid the exact amount. However my finance and the remaining customer paid £20 each to a member of staff, who said "Thanks very much, Goodbye". She did not offer, nor return with change. Feeling this was ridiculous my finance then found the staff member and kindly requested the change. The staff member then mumbled "I'll have a look", after a challenging 10 minutes of arithmetic, eventually requiring a calculator, she set the money in her hand, never spoke, nor never made eye contact, and stormed off. A rather enjoyable afternoon, ending with a bad after taste. We apologise to the Lough Erne for requesting change, but £16 plus a service charge seemed rather adequate.

Room Tip: Don't ask for your change!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JohnB1614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in lodge 12 a beautifully appointed self contained suite. The quiet the views the pleasant walks the relaxing spa the wonderful food the excellent service and friendly helpful yet unobtrusive staff made a visit that makes us want to return soon!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breeogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Breeogue,

The Lakeside Lodges certainly have that relaxing feeling, with wonderful views and a walk around the Resort, followed by some relaxation in the Thai Spa ,is a great way to spend the afternoon.
Great to hear your positive comments on our food offerings and delighted you enjoyed your time at Lough Erne Resort.
We are pleased that you plan to return and we look forward to your next visit.
Thanks for taking time to post your review.

Kind regards

JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

Just home from a truly fabulous mini-break in Lough Erne. Beautiful hotel. Gorgeous location. Amazing afternoon tea served by Anna who was confident and enthusiastic and most knowledgeable about a range of teas. Really great dinner with extensive menu and impeccable service. Wonderful prenatal massage by Alicia. Accommodation relatively expensive but worth it for high quality service, food and all round wonderful experience. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aisling23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Aisling 23,
Traditional Afternoon Tea in the Garden Hall at Lough Erne Resort is one of the most popular offerings that customers enjoy and I am glad you did too ! I have passed your kind comments
onto Anna.
The team of authentic Thai therapists certainly enhance the whole experience in the Thai Spa with a range of wonderful treatments on offer.Alicia was delighted with your review.

We look forward to your next visit and best of luck in the coming months !

regards

JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Just returned from a stay at the lodges which were excellent. When we checked we were made very welcome and escorted to our lodge, bags carried to our room and shown the facility. The rooms are very spacious, a beautiful living area with french doors out onto a terrace with superb views of the lough.

Adrian the manager personally greeted us and dropped in during our stay to see how we were getting on.

We had a beautiful lunch in the club house on arrival and an adequate breakfast the next morning.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Lodge 6 has a great view and its location to the hotel very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shintyNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear shintyNIreland,
The Lakeside Lodges have become extremely popular with our guests as they offer more space as you suggest and a living room area as well.The decor and furnishings are the same standard as the Hotel rooms and can accommodate 4- 6 people.Great packages are available over the summer !

Delighted you enjoyed your meal in the Loughside Bar & Grill which offers a casual menu alternative to the Catalina Restaurant.The short rib of beef is a favourite with our customers.

Thanks for your comments

Kind regards

JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel is situated in a superb setting and excellent for photo opportunities -
We attended a wedding last night & as soon as we arrived we had high hopes. The reception (very small and cramped) was manned by Eimear and despite our rooms not being ready she gave the option to use the members loft to freshen up and change - this was a lovely touch. Stephen our valet brought all the luggage etc up and showed us to the members loft, lovely service.
We returned back to the hotel after the wedding and reception staff were anything but pleasant - Nicola (longer dark haired - as it was manned by 2 Nicola's) told us the rooms were not ready, and couldn't even give us a smile - no "welcome to the hotel, or have a nice stay"
A few mins later our room was ready, checked in and gave our keys within mins - again no passion from the staff - in fact she appeared to be in a mood and unwilling to help.
Gerry the porter - fab...
Food at the wedding was beautiful - that's where the service comes in.. The waiting staff were sensational, topping up wine every time the glass was empty.
Rooms are very very warm - and no Air con - we called guest services and requested fans - these we're brought to our room and switched on as we ate.. Fantastic touch...
The hotel in general is very dated, especially the rooms - perhaps the decor and theme they are going for however for the price - we expected more from the rooms - our toilet seat was broken -
Breakfast was beautiful - it was self serve - which to be honest I expected more - you can get different eggs and fresh pancakes and syrup - however you must add for this..
Check out... Basically it was took our keys and that's it.. They didn't ask if we had a nice stay etc...
Service from all the staff was excellent bar the reception staff (excluding Eimear)..
We had a great stay and it's lovely hotel -
Perhaps a tad too expensive - and would have been a fantastic stay if it wasn't for the poor attitudes of some..
Place is spotless, cleaners do the place justice -
Would probably not stay here again- unless I had to.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Colin M,
The caption 'bad service' seems to be slightly at odds with the praise contained in your review for the housekeeping staff, bar staff, waiting staff and catering staff. I have also passed on your complimentary remarks to Stephen ,Eimear and Gerry from our front of house team.

There are two options for residents at breakfast time in the Catalina Restaurant , a buffet option which you alluded to and also a menu option that offers plated service to your table.

I can only apologize if you were unhappy with the service you received at the Hotel reception and hope it will not deter you from returning in the future.

Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
5.6 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
4.4 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
4.7 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#3 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
21.5 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
14.9 mi away
Knockninny Country House & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Erne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Erne Resort

Property: Lough Erne Resort
Address: 193 Lough Shore Road, Enniskillen BT93 7ED, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
#3 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Erne Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Erne Resort, Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh, host venue to the G 8 Summit 2013 is the first AA and NITB Five Star Hotel in Northern Ireland and was awarded 'Best Hotel' at the 2011 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards. In 2010, it was awarded ‘Golf Resort of The Year’ by the Irish Golf Tour Operators Association. The Resort is the ultimate expression in old world heritage and new world luxury, set on its very own 600 acre peninsula, between Castle Hume Lough and Lower Lough Erne, just outside Enniskillen, with stunning panoramic views from almost every vantage point. This unique luxury Fermanagh hotel’s facilities include: •120 luxury Rooms and Suites•Two Championship Golf Courses including The Faldo Course, a Golf World & Golf Monthly Top 20 Course (UK & Ireland) and the Championship Castle Hume Course•Rory McIlroy has been its Touring Professional representing The Resort around the World•The Golf Academy, a state of the art Practice and Tuition centre•Authentic Thai Spa, with Thai Therapists using Thai Products and techniques•A variety of innovative Dining Experiences with menus composed by Award winning Chef, Noel McMeel. Including: The Catalina Restaurant, The Blaney Bar with an Exclusive collection of 101 Irish Whiskies; The Loughside Bar & Grill, a variety of Afternoon Teas in The Garden Hall and The Halfway House located behind the 9th Green of The Faldo Championship Course•6 Conference & Meeting Rooms•Cygnets The 'BIG' Experience for our younger guests (0-11 years)•One of Ireland’s most romantic Wedding Venues. All this combined with warm, friendly and attentive service make Lough Erne Resort one of the world’s most magical destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lough Erne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Erne Hotel Enniskillen
Lough Erne Enniskillen
Lough Erne Resort Enniskillen, County Fermanagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing