We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It hasn't improved”
Review of Lough Erne Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lough Erne Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Returned in August 2013 hoping for a better experience than before. Following the G8 I thought this place had to be simply the best. I was wrong, made the mistake of opening the window of our (still) non air conditioned room and found the ceiling to be black with lake flies! Whilst the bed is one of the best I have ever slept in, it was spoiled this time by dead insects falling off the ceiling!! Poor design and hard to find passages between Function Room and Bedrooms. As a wheelchair user this involved using 2 lifts and no less than 7 passages, I will not call them corridors, and then manage 6 doors. To return to the Main Hotel it is better to brave the elements and 'roll' down the hill. I will not be back to stay, I don't mind paying for quality but this was too expensive to be deemed enjoyable

Room Tip: If you can, get a lake view, but don't leave your windows open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipWright777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear PhillipWright777,
I was obviously disappointed to read your review but accept the two valid points which you raised.Lack or air conditioning in the bedrooms over the warm summer we experienced ,did prove to be challenging.Secondly, although the Resort complies with all regulations in relation to disabled access,the layout of the property does not lend itself to easy navigation.
Apologies if this detracted from your stay and thank you for your comments,
Kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

933 - 939 of 1,509 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

We spent a weekend in Lough Erne Hotel Resort recently and had a very enjoyable experience. It was the end of the mid-term break and therefore was quite busy but was certainly able to cater or the numbers. We stayed in one of the two bedroom lodges strung along the Lough. It was superbly fitted out, very comfortable with all mod cons if you wanted to cater for yourselves. We had the bar food on the first night and it was very good and not over expensive. The deal included dinner in the Catalina restaurant on the Saturday night and it was outstanding. The three types of pork were delicious and the service was friendly and very efficient. Local staff mainly. The leisure facilities got the thumbs up from our friends. Because the hotel proper was full we were served breakfast in the Loughside Golf club a short distance from the hotel and close to many of the lodges. However the only quibble we had was that the breakfast was far from five star. There was not the choice you would expect from a hotel holding this rating, the scrambled eggs were dried up and there was nobody there to tell you that you could order freshly cooked boiled, fried, or poached eggs. When I raised it the staff were more than willing to get me a different choice.

Breakfast aside the Lough Erne is well worth a visit. It is extremely comfortable, hospitable and offers lots of activities for young and old-not least the Faldo Gild Course. It was a pity that Enniskillen Cathedral, Florencecourt House and Enniskillen Castle and Museum were all closed as it was Nov 2 when we called and they all seem to close down at the end of October. However that is no fault of the team at Lough Erne Resort. We would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The lodges are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaelk_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Michaelk_7,
Thank you so much for your kind recommendation after your recent stay.Delighted to read your enjoyed your meals in the Blaney Bar and the pork dish in the Catalina Restaurant.During busy periods in the resort, the Loughside Suite is used for breakfast ,for guests staying in the Loughside Lodges,apologies for the change in venue.
Kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to the lough Erne resort , service and rooms are wonderful - staff really do make an effort to make you feel welcome and assist you in any way they can. Always polite and helpful. Breakfast and dinner were great. The only negative comment I would have about the hotel is the spa area, it is very basic - swimming pool, steam and sauna - while these are very well finished and clean I feel the area could be vastly improved with the addition of some loungers for guest to relax by the pool and a thermal suite . There was a water fountain beside the pool but no cups or glasses, the changing rooms were fine but small . While the service, location and rooms are 5* the spa area needs to be improved to the standard of many other hotels of a similar price range . However overall a great stay .

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnygirl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear sunnygirl 111,
Your comments regarding the provision of loungers in the pool area are duly noted, as are your general observations of the Thai Spa.I was pleased to read that this was your second visit to Lough Erne Resort and that 'the service,locationand rooms are 5*'. Thank you for taking time
to post your review.
Kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

First Indian wedding and management and staff done an amazing job
Special thanks to Shweta,Adrain, Feargal ,noël and his team . Everything from start to finish was better than excellent. I would highly recommend this venue especially with the people who are totally dedicated to their job.
Well done and a very big thankyou for making that beautiful day very special for all of us.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghan2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Ghan 2003,
'What a wedding', yes it certainly was.It was a marvelous occasion for Lough Erne Resort to host it's first Indian Wedding.The style,colour and grandeur was truly amazing and a wonderful experience and privelege for all our team to be involved in.The traditional customs added so much to the Wedding day and we were so fortunate to have Shweta as part of our team to help deliver an event that was so unique.
Thank you for taking time to post your review of a Wedding that was truly memorable.
Kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Arrived Sat 1st Nov and on a wet and windy day to a cold bedroom although heater was turned up full. A sibling was staying in room next to us and had the same problem. This was rectified at approx. 9pm after complaining .Some siblings arrived Fri pm and had a very poor meal in the Golf Club Bistro and waited for ten minutes for floor service in hotel bar although there were four staff huddled round a table telling a story! Eventually went to bar to be served. Six of our party waited 30 mins for coffee in bar after staff forgot about them .Meal on Saturday evening was terrible! Breakfast was almost as bad but was saved due to the fact it was a buffet; Cold bacon and sausages and not being told that cooked items were available if requested In fact some of our table wanted to order items after finding a menu but decided not to as the staff were obviously too busy! Members of our party ordering a glass of wine and being served a large glass of wine costing over £7! Members of our family have been to the hotel before but will not return. This hotel is definitely not giving a five star experience and I would not recommend it to anyone! I do not consider myself to be hard to please but we were so looking forward to our stay at the hotel only to be so bitterly disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoughErneResort, General Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Mr Gormley

I was disappointed to read your comments regarding your recent family with us, in particular with respect to the family gathering on the Saturday night. Whilst our opinions regarding the dinner may differ, I fully accept the additional comments in respect of the service related issues, and can only apologies for these.

I have taken your comments as constructive and thank you for taking the time to bring these to our attention.

Yours sincerely

Ferghal Purcell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Had our wedding here last year and it couldn't have been more perfect. The venue was first class, food great and the staff were amazing. For a large hotel it felt so homely and nothing was too much trouble for the very friendly staff. We were really treated like royalty at this hotel. Couldn't speak highly enough about it! Look forward to staying here again for our anniversary. I definitely recommend this hotel, if not for a wedding for a romantic getaway!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Drew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Drew G,
Congratulations on your recent wedding and of course we were delighted that you chose Lough Erne Resort as your venue.'The venue was first class, food great and the staff were amazing' are wonderful comments to receive and thank you for your kind recommendation.
We look forward to your visit to celebrate your anniversary.
Kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

I love golf and have been lucky enough to stay in marvellous places in France and Italy for the last 8 years on little golf trips. Often golf resorts are soulless. The trick here is that I came with my daughter, without clubs, and was desperate for good food. Good food so far in NI had been huge portions of decently prepared 'fried' food. US food. This place served gourmet food in a wonderful setting and it was incredible value for money. The service was five star and in my opinion anyone who finds fault is either gauche, spoilt, or paying a different rate to us. Many many thanks. R, Cheltenham.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Robertchapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Robertchapple,
'Good food' is a lovely comment to receive, as is 'service was five star'.Delighted you enjoyed the 'gourmet food' and recent visit with your daughter.Perhaps you will get a chance to bring the clubs next time around.
Kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
5.6 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
4.7 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#2 of 7 in Enniskillen
795 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
5.6 mi away
Mahon's Hotel
Mahon's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Irvinestown
328 reviews
21.4 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Erne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Erne Resort

Address: 193 Lough Shore Road, Enniskillen BT93 7ED, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
#3 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range: £105 - £405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Erne Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Erne Resort, Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh, host venue to the G 8 Summit 2013 is the first AA and NITB Five Star Hotel in Northern Ireland and was awarded 'Best Hotel' at the 2011 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards. In 2010, it was awarded ‘Golf Resort of The Year’ by the Irish Golf Tour Operators Association. The Resort is the ultimate expression in old world heritage and new world luxury, set on its very own 600 acre peninsula, between Castle Hume Lough and Lower Lough Erne, just outside Enniskillen, with stunning panoramic views from almost every vantage point. This unique luxury Fermanagh hotel’s facilities include: •120 luxury Rooms and Suites•Two Championship Golf Courses including The Faldo Course, a Golf World & Golf Monthly Top 20 Course (UK & Ireland) and the Championship Castle Hume Course•Rory McIlroy has been its Touring Professional representing The Resort around the World•The Golf Academy, a state of the art Practice and Tuition centre•Authentic Thai Spa, with Thai Therapists using Thai Products and techniques•A variety of innovative Dining Experiences with menus composed by Award winning Chef, Noel McMeel. Including: The Catalina Restaurant, The Blaney Bar with an Exclusive collection of 101 Irish Whiskies; The Loughside Bar & Grill, a variety of Afternoon Teas in The Garden Hall and The Halfway House located behind the 9th Green of The Faldo Championship Course•6 Conference & Meeting Rooms•Cygnets The 'BIG' Experience for our younger guests (0-11 years)•One of Ireland’s most romantic Wedding Venues. All this combined with warm, friendly and attentive service make Lough Erne Resort one of the world’s most magical destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lough Erne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Erne Hotel Enniskillen
Lough Erne Enniskillen
Lough Erne Resort Enniskillen, County Fermanagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing