We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel on the island of Ireland”
Review of Lough Erne Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lough Erne Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Just checked out today and we absolutely loved Lough Erne. They have got everything exactly right. We stayed in a phenomenal suite (Richard something suite? Can't quite remember, number 208/206) Everything from the decor to cleanliness and comfort are 5 star plus. The view of the lake and golf course was super and there was even a pair of binoculars in the room. Such a nice touch. The staff were superb. From the get go you just know that everyone involved in every position is at the top of their game. Gerry helped us with our bags, such a friendly and attentive man, who gave us lots of info as we made our way up to the room. We then went down to the most detailed and incredible afternoon tea we've had to date where Nuala took great care of us and gave us a load of info on Enniskillen and some literature which really helped. The Catalina restaurant was lovely, the food was delicious and the wine list extensive. Matthew and the rest of the reception staff were great too, ready to assist with directions and parking tips for Enniskillen.
We loved it so much that we bought a voucher for my parents in law to come up to see for themselves. I'm literary only back and I'm scoping out when I can get back up there myself. We were just there for one night so I didn't get a chance to check out the spa, so that's on my hit list for the next time along with getting out on that golf course. Really incredible experience, check it out you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dalaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Dalaigh,
What a wonderful review to receive,'The best hotel on the island of Ireland'.thank you so much for taking time to share your experience.Gerry (Concierge),Nuala(Afternoon Tea) and Matthew(Reception) were delighted to be singled out for special mention.There is no doubt that our staff make a great effort to enhance the guest's stay at Lough Erne.We look forward to welcoming your parents in law to the Resort and hope you can arrange your diary to return again.
Kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,486)
There are newer reviews for Lough Erne Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

858 - 864 of 1,486 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

Arrived at this hotel with my partner with very high expectations which sadly were not met. Even the entrance makes you wonder if you're in the right place for a 5 star hotel to be located, so not a great impression from the off.
Room was comfortable but nothing exceptional.
We had dinner in the restaurant and found it to be ok. The breakfast however was very nice. A good selection of food to help yourself to. However, if you order from the menu be prepared to wait as my partners dish involved a 25min wait!
I had a treatment in the spa and it was very relaxing but again nothing exceptional and relatively pricey.
The biggest fault we had with this hotel was the complete lack of any atmosphere anywhere. From the reception area, to the bar and the restaurant. Staff were friendly enough when we engaged them but not very forthcoming.
Wouldn't have any desire to return!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Helen D,
It was disappointing to read your review of your recent stay with us.The main area of complaint seemed to be a lack of atmosphere which can happen,particularly if you stayed with us on a midweek night at this time of year,that may have been quiet.The Hotel is generally busy at weekends with lack of availability in accommodation and limited reservations in the Catalina Restaurant.I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion but hope this will not deter you from returning in the future.
Kind regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We were very impressed with this Resort and their ability to handle so efficiently our family gathering (between 35 and 40 family and friends) and to make sure everyone was pleased and happily taken care of! Very friendly and helpful staff and at one point went way beyond their normal duties to help make sure our gathering was a great success! The Resort hotel is beautiful and very tastefully decorated with huge bedrooms and bathrooms. In the hotel there is a lovely big foyer with a fireplace and loads of comfortable sofas and chairs with a beautiful view of the lough. The library room is comfy and cozy! We stayed in one of the Lodges which are separate from the hotel and are like little (really not so little!!) houses most with views of the lough or the golf course. Quite a few in our party played a round of golf and some of the ladies took advantage of the Thai Spa to have a massage or a facial after which we were taken to a beautiful solarium to relax with a cup of tea and fruit. And now to the food....which for the most part was amazing! Breakfast was your typical Irish breakfast with a buffet of Irish bacon and sausage, scrambled eggs, black and white pudding, beans, tomatoes and potato bread. Fresh fruit and cereals with a number of different breads and scones. All very good. But I cannot say enough about our evening meal in the Catalina Restaurant! Friday night we had dinner in the restaurant and I will only speak about what I had but from what I heard from others in our party they were just as impressed. I ordered the pork belly with pumpkin and carrots for my starter which was very tender and beautifully presented! The Kettyle beef filet was perfectly cooked medium and was juicy and tender with an amazingly delicious celeriac puree and a shredded pickled carrot with onion seeds! I would order again tomorrow if I could!! Saturday night was a set menu in the Loughside Bar and Grill with a choice of starter then soup and either beef, chicken or fish as a main entree and a sweet or cheese tray for dessert. There were almost 40 people in our party and everyone seemed pleased and very much enjoyed their dinner. Needless to say we all had a wonderful time at the Lough Erne Resort and I for one would love to go back again! Thank you for helping make our special weekend so wonderful!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Shiela D,
Your detailed review of your recent family gathering certainly covered all areas and aspects of what Lough Erne Resort has to offer to a visiting group.The Loughside Lodges are ideal for this type weekend and the choice of dining options on the Resort that you alluded to,give great variety to guests.A round of Golf on the Faldo course and / or a treatment in the Thai Spa certainly enhanced your weekend activities.Thank you for taking time to convey such kind comments of your time spent with us at Lough Erne Resort.
Kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This was such a great place for a large family reunion. Plenty of rooms arranged in lodges near the main hotel. Perfect for family groups.The food was excellent and they could not be more helpful. Because it is so spacious you never felt restricted. A very relaxing spa is attached , a real treat.
We were there in Feb so it was cold. However golf was played and long walks and runs were taken all around this stunning landscape. Others went swimming , enjoyed a 'facial' or 'massage.' I would love to return in warmer weather and really explore the waterways.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathytraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear cathytraveller_11,
The Waterways in Fermangh would certainly warrant another visit.There is so much to do on Lough Erne with boat hire and tour cruises readily available.The views from the lakes are stunning.Marble Arch Caves,Belleek Pottery,National Trust Properties, Belle Isle and Crom Castle are all part of the great outdoors in Fermanagh. There are also a number of water based activity providers for family activities.So please come to Lough Erne again,which is a great base to experience all Fermanagh has to offer our visitors.
Kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on 23/2, with my hubby and 9yr old daughter. All I can say is it is amazing. Our room was not ready when we arrived(knew it wouldn't be as we arrived 1hr early) so my hubby & daughter went to the pool and I had afternoon tea. Anna the girl serving the tea was friendly and took the time to go through every type of tea they had. This service continued through to dinner, with Charlie as our waiter. Dinner was beautifully presented and tasted amazing. The room was very comfortable, beautifully decorated and overlooked the golf course and lough.
The only bad point I can say is... we couldn't stay another night, but booked another weekend break for April.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank ajm1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear ajm1203,
Delighted to read that you enjoyed your last stay so much,that you are visiting Lough Erne again in April.We look forward to your next visit.Charlie and Anna were pleased to receive a personal mention in your review and thank you for the kind comments regarding our accommodation.
Kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I expected this Hotel to be out of this world but was sadly disappointed. It was no different or more luxurious than any other 3 or 4* hotel. The interior was rather old fashioned although comfortable.
The room & bathroom although spacious had very poor quality furniture which was chipped in places and the bathroom had fake marble tops on the sink.
The bed was rather too firm for comfort and the pillows and duvet were very poor quality. We had to use the cushions in place of the pillows in order to get sleep. To be honest we didn't sleep well at all.
The food was warm and plenty of choice for breakfast & staff are very attentive.
The Catalina Restaurant food was very fussy but we got enough to do us. Wouldn't be in a rush back.
Also be very careful, although our meal was included in our package, when we went to check out they tried to charge us a service charge of 10 percent which should have been included in package deal! Also if you have tea after your meal they charge you £3 per person which is also not included in your package. So be warned, lots of hidden charges!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear AEB42,

The service charge applied to your bill is discretionary and was applied to your meal and is removed if the guest does not wish to pay it.Tea and coffee are not included on the menu price and so are charged as an extra.The Catalina Restaurant is a fine dining experience so apologies if you thought it was 'fussy'.Your observations have been noted and thank you for taking time to post your review,all constuctive criticism is welcome.
Kind regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend in February, 2014. (This was our Christmas present to ourselves and the kids weighed in with some vouchers for spa treatments!) From start to finish, we were treared to five star service. We had no complaints what so ever and the staff were all 'one better than the other'. The food, in the Catelina Restaurant, was to die for and the service was so friendly, it was hard to believe. We half expected some 'cut-backs' in service, as this resort is now owned and run ny NAMA and we had read some less than kind reviews before we arrived. We didn't play golf on this visit as we were really on a pampering weekend. The Thai Spa was well run and the treatments were excellent. My wife is a complementary therapist herself and she knows quality in this area. Specifically, 'Jai' whom we both had treatments from, was terrific.
Overall, the atmosphere was warm and friendly, withn large open fires, soft cusions and helpful staff. It was expensive but it was worth it for a special treat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skindiverDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear skindiverDublin,
Our Thai Therapist, Jai, was thrilled that she received a special mention from yourselves and thank you for taking time to do so.The Team in our Thai Spa do a wonderful job in pampering our guests.It appears that you were indeed taken by the efforts of all our staff and 5 * Staff and Service are rewarding comments to receive.Glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
5.6 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
4.7 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#2 of 7 in Enniskillen
784 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
5.6 mi away
Mahon's Hotel
Mahon's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Irvinestown
323 reviews
14.9 mi away
Knockninny Country House & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Erne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Erne Resort

Address: 193 Lough Shore Road, Enniskillen BT93 7ED, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
#3 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range: £102 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Erne Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Erne Resort, Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh, host venue to the G 8 Summit 2013 is the first AA and NITB Five Star Hotel in Northern Ireland and was awarded 'Best Hotel' at the 2011 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards. In 2010, it was awarded ‘Golf Resort of The Year’ by the Irish Golf Tour Operators Association. The Resort is the ultimate expression in old world heritage and new world luxury, set on its very own 600 acre peninsula, between Castle Hume Lough and Lower Lough Erne, just outside Enniskillen, with stunning panoramic views from almost every vantage point. This unique luxury Fermanagh hotel’s facilities include: •120 luxury Rooms and Suites•Two Championship Golf Courses including The Faldo Course, a Golf World & Golf Monthly Top 20 Course (UK & Ireland) and the Championship Castle Hume Course•Rory McIlroy has been its Touring Professional representing The Resort around the World•The Golf Academy, a state of the art Practice and Tuition centre•Authentic Thai Spa, with Thai Therapists using Thai Products and techniques•A variety of innovative Dining Experiences with menus composed by Award winning Chef, Noel McMeel. Including: The Catalina Restaurant, The Blaney Bar with an Exclusive collection of 101 Irish Whiskies; The Loughside Bar & Grill, a variety of Afternoon Teas in The Garden Hall and The Halfway House located behind the 9th Green of The Faldo Championship Course•6 Conference & Meeting Rooms•Cygnets The 'BIG' Experience for our younger guests (0-11 years)•One of Ireland’s most romantic Wedding Venues. All this combined with warm, friendly and attentive service make Lough Erne Resort one of the world’s most magical destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lough Erne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Erne Hotel Enniskillen
Lough Erne Enniskillen
Lough Erne Resort Enniskillen, County Fermanagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing