We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel.”
Review of Lough Erne Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lough Erne Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed in one of the the loughside lodge suite for a family wedding . These have 2 very luxurious bedrooms, 2 bathrooms with roll top baths and showers and a living area with full kitchen. The furnishing were sumptuous and the whole resort was beautiful. We has a great view and from the comfort of our room we were able to watch the wedding party having their photographs taken down by the lough. Staff on reception were professional but could have been a bit more proactive as we had to ask for directions to the lodge as it's a few minutes away from the main hotel. Also they did not advise us how to access wi- fi. Minor points but not what you would expect in a five star hotel. Breakfast was served in the golf house and was plentiful and very tasty. It would have been nice to have been allowed to have breakfast in the main hotel with other family members who were staying in the hotel rooms.The wedding banquet was one of the best we have had and the dining room opened out into a lovely patio area. The lodges are expensive but nice to treat yourself for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larrytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Larrytours,
There is no doubt that the Loughside Lodges are ideal for families attending Weddings or indeed just a leisure break.Self-catering villas are now also available on site to provide another option for groups.Breakfast is offered in our Loughside Suite at weekends to ensure there are no long queues in either venue.Thank you for taking time to post your review.
Kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,486)
There are newer reviews for Lough Erne Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

848 - 854 of 1,486 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed here for a wedding otherwise would never stay somewhere as pricey but there attention to detail and service was brilliant. Guests were well looked after whilst the happy couple were whisked off for photos and the service in the reception was brilliant. Check in was easy and the rooms are huge. The roll-top bath and separate shower are to die for. Breakfast was really very good and service again efficient. Also had free use of the pool / gym, can't speak for the gym but the pool and jacuzzi are excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolly47826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear lolly 47826,
Delighted that you stayed over at a recent Wedding at Lough Erne and that we 'didn't disappoint'.Your comments regarding the excellent service received from our staff are much appreciated.
kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Really enjoyed this past weekend in Lough Erne. In terms of service it is second to none. We had requested a Lake View room as I like to watch the 18th hole of the golf however we had a room which was put in an enclave and had a very partial lake view, they were kind enough to adjust my rate to the courtyard view. This was room 116. The rooms can also be a little warm to sleep in so be aware in the summer months.

The golf at Lough Erne was super, Neil the starter and the assistants in the clubhouse are the pinnacle of the great service received everywhere at Lough Erne (including the Bell hops).

My only advice however would be we had one dinner in the Catalina restaurant with our deal and although I am sure fine food connoisseurs would love this, if you are not one I would advise asking to use the Faldo Club House instead (more relaxed) as I found the portions very small.

A great weekend, I was sad to leave, the resort itself is in great condition and the surroundings are very pleasant to walk around with views everywhere. The spa and swimming pool are also terrific, a nice way to relax after golf.

ONE TIP - go to the bar for afternoon tea, scones and shortbread. (approx £12-15)

9/10 for a relaxing weekend break.

Room Tip: Avoid 116 and ensure you have a full Lake View room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris_ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Chris_ Ham,
Our golf starter Neil is a tremendous ambassador for the championship course at Lough Erne Resort and is a calming influence before your opening drive on the first hole. Watch out for all the water on the right hand side !!! The Thai Spa, as you suggest is a great way to relax after the trials and tribulations on the course.The Loughside Bar&Grill is a more casual offering than the fine dining experience of the Catalina Restaurant.Glad you enjoyed your break.
Kind regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This way our first time in a Five Star Hotel, lovely scenery, lovely hotel but couldn't help feeling something was missing. Check in was very professional, Gary gave all the information required, the porter offered to take our overnight bags to our room but we declined as they were only small. Room was very spacious, robes, slippers, kingsize bed, comfortable duvet and pillows, large bathroom, complimentary WiFi, bottled water, fridge, everything you could need. We walked around the grounds/golf course early evening and the views were fantastic. Breakfast the following morning had everything and was served promptly and efficiently, our server Nicola engaged in conversation with ourselves and made us feel more at home and comfortable.....there is a high level of service everywhere within the hotel but it just feels a little cardboard whereas Nicola although very professional just had that little extra touch.

Swimming pool and changing rooms spotlessly clean, my partner enjoyed a relaxing massage in the Spa. Bar service good, not a huge choice on the menu and lacks a little atmosphere, maybe weekends would be different. Would we return ? Yes, maybe later in the year when the hotel is busier or perhaps a weekend.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 6Footer_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear 6 Footer_Mike,
All your observations reflect a positive overview of your recent stay at Lough Erne Resort including the facilities,service, food quality and the friendliness and professionalism of the staff.It appears that your visit was midweek and the Resort was quiet,so the atmosphere was more subdued than a weekend night which you have alluded to. Thank you for taking time to post your review and it was pleasing to read you will return to visit us again.
Kind regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Lough Erne resort is undoubtably a beautiful resort, love staying there (this was our second visit), the rooms are luxurious and very comfortable. Attention to detail noted. The food is great, we totally over indulged, it would have been rude not to! However what made our stay was the service. Every single member of staff was friendly, attentive and very helpful - best service we have had in UK or Ireland. Amazing stay didn't want to leave, already planning our next trip, wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewengl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Lewengl,
Good to read you enjoyed your second stay with us and will be booking your third shortly ! It was very pleasing to read such positive comments regarding our staff and the level of service you experienced.We look forward to welcoming you back.
kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed overnight at the resort in January 2014. First Impressions were very positive, it looked like a castle in its wide expanse of grounds and golf club., We were met at our car by the porter who insisted on taking our bags despite them being overnighters only. He took us to the reception desk and introduced the receptionist who dealt with us very professionally and in a friendly manner. Our standard room was beautiful, overlooking the lake. The restaurant (in fact the whole hotel) was very luxurious and the staff very attentive, food was excellent and local to the area.
As this was a birthday treat bought for us, we were unaware of the cost and value for money. We did not get to use the spa due to the short stay.
This was the G8 2013 location and you could walk in the footsteps of the world leaders. Well worth a visit, even a short stay.

Room Tip: Request a lake view, very pleasant. Take time to speak to the staff as they are very knowledgeble ab...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear WilliamS13,
Belated Happy Birthday wishes and delighted that you enjoyed your 'Birthday Treat 'at Lough Erne Resort.It was certainly a nice present to receive ! Your kind comments regarding the staff and our facilities are appreciated.
kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had high expectations of Lough Erne Resort & Spa. Check in was fine. Room was huge but little things let us down. Curtains were ripped, There was a stain on our bed throw, toilet seat was unsteady.

Room Tip: We booked a Lakeview suite with 4 poster bed.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Collette P,
Thank you for pointing out some small defects in your room.Your observations were appreciated as constructive criticism helps improve the quality of service and quality of product.
Thank you again.
Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
5.6 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
4.7 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#2 of 7 in Enniskillen
784 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
5.6 mi away
Mahon's Hotel
Mahon's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Irvinestown
323 reviews
14.9 mi away
Knockninny Country House & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Erne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Erne Resort

Address: 193 Lough Shore Road, Enniskillen BT93 7ED, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
#3 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range: £106 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Erne Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Erne Resort, Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh, host venue to the G 8 Summit 2013 is the first AA and NITB Five Star Hotel in Northern Ireland and was awarded 'Best Hotel' at the 2011 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards. In 2010, it was awarded ‘Golf Resort of The Year’ by the Irish Golf Tour Operators Association. The Resort is the ultimate expression in old world heritage and new world luxury, set on its very own 600 acre peninsula, between Castle Hume Lough and Lower Lough Erne, just outside Enniskillen, with stunning panoramic views from almost every vantage point. This unique luxury Fermanagh hotel’s facilities include: •120 luxury Rooms and Suites•Two Championship Golf Courses including The Faldo Course, a Golf World & Golf Monthly Top 20 Course (UK & Ireland) and the Championship Castle Hume Course•Rory McIlroy has been its Touring Professional representing The Resort around the World•The Golf Academy, a state of the art Practice and Tuition centre•Authentic Thai Spa, with Thai Therapists using Thai Products and techniques•A variety of innovative Dining Experiences with menus composed by Award winning Chef, Noel McMeel. Including: The Catalina Restaurant, The Blaney Bar with an Exclusive collection of 101 Irish Whiskies; The Loughside Bar & Grill, a variety of Afternoon Teas in The Garden Hall and The Halfway House located behind the 9th Green of The Faldo Championship Course•6 Conference & Meeting Rooms•Cygnets The 'BIG' Experience for our younger guests (0-11 years)•One of Ireland’s most romantic Wedding Venues. All this combined with warm, friendly and attentive service make Lough Erne Resort one of the world’s most magical destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lough Erne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Erne Hotel Enniskillen
Lough Erne Enniskillen
Lough Erne Resort Enniskillen, County Fermanagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing