We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff”
Review of Lough Erne Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lough Erne Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We had a lovely weekend at this hotel. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the beds were very comfortable and the food excellent. They contrived to serve rare roast beef to 250 guests for a dinner!
The only downside might be if you were having difficulty walking. Some of the rooms were a very long way from the main rooms.

Room Tip: It would be nice to have a room overlooking the lake. It can be a long walk to some of the rooms, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xyz081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear xyz081,
It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed a recent wedding at Lough Erne,particularly the roast beef.Unfortunatley some of our Loughside Lodges are a 5-7 min walk to the Hotel such is the lay out of the Resort.Please request a closer Lodge on your next visit and we will endeavour to
help you.Your kind comments regarding our staff are well received.
Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    953
    271
    138
    83
    30
See reviews for
314
706
16
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

6 ladies went for a spa day on the 12th april and where very disappointed, no personal or special treatment in this spa, the only good thing where the treatments, we where all meant to have lunch together but this didn't happen half the party where kept in 1 room and the same with the other half, as for the lunch it was totally below standard for a 5 star resort totally unacceptable for a voucher that cost £120 each!!!!!!!!!!! the facilities are not what you would expect in a 5 star resort. We were told we couldn't have tea or coffee which I find highly unbelievable we were left speechless to be honest. Very poor for a 5 star resort, you really need to up the ante here that's for sure, ive been to a few spas and they where more 5 star than here. Also when I complained to management I was insulted with an offer of £15 discount on another voucher, sorry but I will not be returning to this spa unless things change, also they said this was great feedback for the staff well im sorry but it should never have happened to begin with and the staff should know how to treat the paying public almost 6 years down the line.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buster69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear buster69,
I was very disappointed to read your comments relating to the Thai Spa and I understand that our Spa Manager has been in contact ,to clarify a number of issues you raised.Constuctive criticism when appropriate is a useful tool for change, in providing a better experience for the customer.Thank you for taking time to post your review.
Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Having heard about this hotel from a work colleague and having seen pictures from G8 summit. I was looking forward to my two night stay.

From the time of my arrival the friendly receptionist who explained the hotel facilities and usual hotel information and the gentleman who took my bags to my room a warm welcome was given to me.

I had requested a courtyard room which overlooked main entrance. The lakeside view rooms are extra however when booking dinner in the restaurant I did request and got a lakeview table which was fantastic having dinner as the sun set.

The food in the restaurant excellent highly recommend the goat cheese starter what a fusion of flavour ,salmon and beef for mains and dessert. Our waiter Lee very pleasant and his interpersonal skills excellent

Room very nice and roomy

Breakfast very nice and a wide selection to cater for all tastes however given that the hotel is a five star I was suprised to see it was a buffet service. I can understand buffet service at the weekend when the guest numbers are high but this was midweek.

The pool is lovely robes and slippers supplied. I did use the spa for a treatment would highly recommend it

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amag4523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear amag4523,

Delighted to hear you had a 'wonderful' two night stay and that you were impressed with the various members of staff throughout the Hotel.Lee, your waiter in the Catalina Restuarant was
pleased to get a mention.A Thai Spa treatment certainly does enhance your stay.
Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Having visited the hotel on many occasions before I thought I'd treat myself and a few friends. We headed out mid-evening, and thankfully so as there was a great buzz about the place, and not being too busy. We settled down on comfy sofas to be greeted by Kirsty (I hope this is right) who was just great. Her friendliness wasn’t overkill but not being fake friendly either, happy to see this. We had a few drinks and decided to order food. Another female member of staff, Michaela, looked after us at this point and with her advice we got a few dishes to share (the curry is amazing, well done chefs). We sat about and chatted the staff who all seemed happy in their work, you can see they have had the right training previously. A few familiar faces have gone, all of which would just have added to the visit. I can understand how the G8 was here last June and look forward to the Irish Open arriving in 2017.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Simon M,
Kirsty and Michaela were delighted to get a special mention in your review.The Blaney Bar menu is very popular with residents and locals and the curry dish with noodles is one of the favourites on the menu.Your comments are appreciated,
Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This Resort is unmatched for elegance, friendliness of the staff, dining, and grounds. Wish we could have stayed longer! Rooms were large, perfect in every way for us. This is a delight in all of our travels in Ireland. A golfer's dream destination, the grounds are spectacular and we couldn't stop taking pictures, swans and all! Fishing too as the Resort is on Lough Erne.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike2kris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Mike2Kris,
'A golfer's dream destination' is a beautiful description you gave of the Resort and we are delighted to be announced as the host venue to the Irish Open in 2017.'Best Stay in Northern Ireland' is also a great compliment to receive also.Your comments are very much appreciated.
Kind regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night break staying in the main hotel in a courtyard room. Apart from the room being very warm (which we sorted by turning off the radiator) everything else about it was terrific. We dined the first evening in the Blaney Bar which was very good. The second night we dined in the Catalina Restaurant where the food was excellent. We also had the pleasure of Chef, Noel McMeel, coming out to speak to us which was areal treat as we had met him 15/16 years ago when he had his own restaurant in Magherafelt.
All in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Jim S,
'All in all a wonderful experience' is a lovely review to receive of your recent stay with us.It was pleasing to read you that you enjoyed our dining options in the Blaney Bar and Catalina Restaurant and meeting Noel is always a nice treat.We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fermanagh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

A good customer of the lough Erne resort, I came out today with two friends we sat for 40
Minutes before being asked if we would like a drink, ordered and did not get our order for another 25 minutes later!! This is after I go to the bar myself and ask for them, I have noticed the service very poor in the past few months, may I also add the two guys who served us were extremely rude. Not the lough Erne resort it was this time last year! I have my wedding booked for later this year at the resort... This is very worrying! Here is hoping the staff Drastically improve before then

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Terrif-f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
5.6 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
4.4 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
560 reviews
21.5 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Mahon's Hotel
Mahon's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Irvinestown
320 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Valley Hotel
The Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fivemiletown
476 reviews
4.7 mi away
Belmore Court Motel
Belmore Court Motel
#1 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Erne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Erne Resort

Property: Lough Erne Resort
Address: 193 Lough Shore Road, Enniskillen BT93 7ED, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
#3 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Erne Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Erne Resort, Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh, host venue to the G 8 Summit 2013 is the first AA and NITB Five Star Hotel in Northern Ireland and was awarded 'Best Hotel' at the 2011 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards. In 2010, it was awarded ‘Golf Resort of The Year’ by the Irish Golf Tour Operators Association. The Resort is the ultimate expression in old world heritage and new world luxury, set on its very own 600 acre peninsula, between Castle Hume Lough and Lower Lough Erne, just outside Enniskillen, with stunning panoramic views from almost every vantage point. This unique luxury Fermanagh hotel’s facilities include: •120 luxury Rooms and Suites•Two Championship Golf Courses including The Faldo Course, a Golf World & Golf Monthly Top 20 Course (UK & Ireland) and the Championship Castle Hume Course•Rory McIlroy has been its Touring Professional representing The Resort around the World•The Golf Academy, a state of the art Practice and Tuition centre•Authentic Thai Spa, with Thai Therapists using Thai Products and techniques•A variety of innovative Dining Experiences with menus composed by Award winning Chef, Noel McMeel. Including: The Catalina Restaurant, The Blaney Bar with an Exclusive collection of 101 Irish Whiskies; The Loughside Bar & Grill, a variety of Afternoon Teas in The Garden Hall and The Halfway House located behind the 9th Green of The Faldo Championship Course•6 Conference & Meeting Rooms•Cygnets The 'BIG' Experience for our younger guests (0-11 years)•One of Ireland’s most romantic Wedding Venues. All this combined with warm, friendly and attentive service make Lough Erne Resort one of the world’s most magical destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lough Erne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Erne Hotel Enniskillen
Lough Erne Enniskillen
Lough Erne Resort Enniskillen, County Fermanagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing