We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place To Stay.”
Review of Lough Erne Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lough Erne Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

What can I say about The Lough Erne Resort....from start to finish, from rooms to atmosphere, from food to service everything was excellent. My family and friends have just returned from another wonderful stay at The Resort and once again where made to feel as welcome as always. We stay at The Resort quite a few times throughout the year and are never disappointed, looking forward to our next visit already!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Susan 186470,
Your kind comments are very much appreciated and we are delighted that you and your family are regular visitors to Lough Erne.We also look forward to your next visit and thank you for your continued support.
Kind regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

881 - 887 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed here for one night with my husband on one of their special offers - dinner bed and breakfast at a very reasonable rate. We were in a courtyard room (this does not in fact look over a courtyard but the car park). First impressions were quite good, the resort is set in an absolutely stunning location and the public areas were very plush. Our room was large and reasonably well appointed although I found it a little strange that it had both a double and single bed in it. I also thought that the Victorian themed bathroom did not sit easily with the style of the bedroom.

There were a number of good points about our stay but also a number of things which I would not expect from a 5 star hotel. To summarise:

The Good

Nicely decorated large room
Cosy bar
ABSOLUTELY SUPERB meal at the Catalina restaurant
Lovely service in the restaurant - our personal waiter Lee was most helpful
Wine reasonably priced
Courteous and efficient service at breakfast

The Bad

We had lunch in the Blaney Bar and whilst the food was good, the service was very slow
Although the breakfast buffet was extensive and quite tasty, in a 5 star hotel I expect to be able to
have my entire breakfast cooked from scratch
Check-in was late at 4pm
Although the bed itself was comfortable the pillows were the softest and thinnest I have ever seen
No mini-bar (in a 5* resort!!)
The pool/steam room/sauna/jacuzzi were nice BUT my visit was totally ruined by the fact that despite signs on the wall indicating that under 16s were not allowed in the steam room, sauna or jacuzzi, this was completely ignored by the other guests. I do not enjoy spending what should be a relaxing time in the jacuzzi surrounded by screaming toddlers. There was not one single member of staff present in the pool area to enforce this rule

The Ugly

Having returned to the room after a most delicious meal, I took off my make-up and went to put the used wipe into the small pedal bin in the bathroom. Ewwwwww! It was full to overflowing with used (and very personal) toiletry items from the previous guest. This SHOULD NOT HAPPEN in a top class hotel.


So as the title of this review says … a mixed bag. The highlight of our stay was our evening meal which was outstanding. Other aspects were a let down. Overall not a 5* experience. Had we paid the full room rate, we would have been very disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NornIronNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear NornironNic,
Thank you for your very frank review of your recent stay with us.It did as you say include 'the good,the bad and the ugly'.May I apologise for the bin not emptied in your room,this was an oversight by our housekeeping department.Table service is available at breakfast time in the Catalina restaurant but on weekends,a buffet is provided to facilitate a more efficient service for our guests.Check in time is 4pm as stated but if rooms are available they are released.
I would be grateful if you would contact me personally of your next visit to Lough Erne Resort and I will endeavour to enhance your experience in some way as a jesture on our behalf to make up for some issues you identified in your review.
Kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Just returned home after a most enjoyable trip to the Lough Erne Resort. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The staff were friendly and the service first class. Meals were delicious. Would certainly return again.

Room Tip: Would certainly recommend a lake view. The sight is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freep67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Freep67,

'Excellent' is a wonderful review and is very pleasing for our staff who endeavour to make our guest experience a memorable one.We look forward to your next visit and thank you for your recommendation.
Kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Beautiful setting, lovely hotel. Made to fee very welcome from the time we arrived. All Hotel staff very friendly and most helpful. Hotel is top class, we stayed in a very spacious room with a stunning view of the lake. Had evening meals in the dining room, very good menu choice, very high quality food, waiters most friendly & helpful. Large menu selection for breakfast, fruit, traditional Irish, Continental whatever one wanted. Golf course is a good test of golf with wonderful views of both the lakes & nature. Would say that the golf is expensive when compared with other similar courses in Northern Ireland & Donegal

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaneoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Shaneoh,
Your kind comments regarding our staff,accommodation,food offering and our golf course are well received.The Stay and Play package is the ideal combination for those wanting a leisure break with golf.The Stay Play or Pamper package also accommodates those who want the Spa option instead of the golf.The views are stunning from the course and fourteen holes are touched by water which makes it a great challenge.We look forward to hosting the Irish Open in 2017.
Kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Everything about the hotel is lovely, except the food in the restraunt.
To be honest it was the worst meal we ever had in a hotel.
Far to fussy rather than a nice meal. It's nice to know what you are eating. Choice was very poor too.
So much so we didn't even have a drink in the bar after as we both felt unwell.
We think the waitress realised we were not happy, however she was not very nice about it.
I would recommend the bar food if you are staying.
However thankfully breakfast was lovely.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meathtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Meathtraveler,
I was disappointed to read your review regarding the Catalina Restaurant.The Catalina is a fine dining experience and this is reflected in the type and style of food offered.Noel Mc Meel and his team have received numerous awards across the hospitality industry and it is regrettable that you didn't enjoy your experience.Your comments have been duly noted and passed on to our culinary team,Thank you for taking time to post your review.
Kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Not my usual type of venue, not very 'hipster' but very nice. We went in for a bar snack and a nosy around as I'm sure many do but loved the comfort and didn't find the endless attention off-putting. It is an expensive enough stay or to eat in the restaurant but worth it on a special occasion for that 5* treatment. Food at the bar was good and people watching was interesting. Not being into golf or pampering, it would be walking around the lake, admiring it from a lodge or the bar while eating and drinking. I certainly wouldn't swim in it. Fermanagh is all about lakes and dodging the rain. It's a very comfortable shelter though and look forward to staying when I get an offer or someone spoils me!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Richard F,
Your observation about swimming is entirely correct,although Prime Minister Cameron did have a quick dip early in the morning during the G8.We hope you have more time on your next visit to Lough Erne and are able to stay over.
Kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently for one night on a B&B basis. We arrived shortly after the scheduled check in time. We were met by one of the two porters who escorted us to reception and subsequently brought us to our room. Check was very efficient and friendly giving us all the information that we would require.

The room we were allocated, 201, was very spacious and was what I expected of a five star hotel. The ensuite comprised of a decent size shower and separate bath. Very good quality toiletries are supplied. The bed itself was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in in a hotel.

We made use of the Thermal Suite & Infinity Swimming Pool at The Thai Spa on the afternoon of arrival. The facilities were very good and I would recommend availing of them.

There are three dining options available: the hotel restaurant, bar food or the golf club restaurant. The restaurant was booked out on the night we stayed. We went for the bar food option. The choice was good and reasonably priced. We both enjoyed what we ordered though we both felt that the portion sizes were small and we ended up ordering a side.

The bar area and other open areas of the hotel are very spacious and comfortable with the added bonus of great views and walks of the Lough outside.

Breakfast is served in the restaurant and surprisingly to us for a five star was buffet for both hot and cold. The quality and choice of food was excellent and with a window view we enjoyed our breakfast which was followed by a nice walk around the resort and part of the golf course

Overall we enjoyed our stay and will go back here sometime.

Room Tip: Our room, 201, was spacious with view to the golf course though over looked the rear yard of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridgewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Bridgewell,

What a lovely review of your recent stay with us at Lough Erne.Your comments regarding our facilities,staff and food offerings are very kind.During busy periods in the Hotel,breakfast is available from our buffet areas in the Catalina restaurant,although our waiting staff are happy to accommodate any specific requests or dietary requirements you may have.Thank you for taking time to post your review.Great to read that you will be returning.
Kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
5.6 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
4.7 mi away
Belmore Court Motel
Belmore Court Motel
#1 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,904 reviews
4.7 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#2 of 7 in Enniskillen
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
584 reviews
21.5 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
5.6 mi away
Mahon's Hotel
Mahon's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Irvinestown
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Erne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Erne Resort

Address: 193 Lough Shore Road, Enniskillen BT93 7ED, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
#3 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range: £105 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Erne Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Erne Resort, Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh, host venue to the G 8 Summit 2013 is the first AA and NITB Five Star Hotel in Northern Ireland and was awarded 'Best Hotel' at the 2011 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards. In 2010, it was awarded ‘Golf Resort of The Year’ by the Irish Golf Tour Operators Association. The Resort is the ultimate expression in old world heritage and new world luxury, set on its very own 600 acre peninsula, between Castle Hume Lough and Lower Lough Erne, just outside Enniskillen, with stunning panoramic views from almost every vantage point. This unique luxury Fermanagh hotel’s facilities include: •120 luxury Rooms and Suites•Two Championship Golf Courses including The Faldo Course, a Golf World & Golf Monthly Top 20 Course (UK & Ireland) and the Championship Castle Hume Course•Rory McIlroy has been its Touring Professional representing The Resort around the World•The Golf Academy, a state of the art Practice and Tuition centre•Authentic Thai Spa, with Thai Therapists using Thai Products and techniques•A variety of innovative Dining Experiences with menus composed by Award winning Chef, Noel McMeel. Including: The Catalina Restaurant, The Blaney Bar with an Exclusive collection of 101 Irish Whiskies; The Loughside Bar & Grill, a variety of Afternoon Teas in The Garden Hall and The Halfway House located behind the 9th Green of The Faldo Championship Course•6 Conference & Meeting Rooms•Cygnets The 'BIG' Experience for our younger guests (0-11 years)•One of Ireland’s most romantic Wedding Venues. All this combined with warm, friendly and attentive service make Lough Erne Resort one of the world’s most magical destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lough Erne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Erne Hotel Enniskillen
Lough Erne Enniskillen
Lough Erne Resort Enniskillen, County Fermanagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing