We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting”
Review of Lough Erne Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lough Erne Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently for a friends wedding. Make no mistake, the hotel is beautiful in a wonderful setting. Facilities are excellent and the staff are very friendly.

There is a peaceful feel to the place and will be popular for those looking for a romantic getaway.

Food was ok, portions were quite small. I felt a little disappointed by breakfast.

We stayed in the hotel itself but we also heard good reports from the lodges.

The hotel is expensive to stay in, I'd argue it's overpriced in the current climate but I would recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ImprovisedTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    265
    133
    82
    29
See reviews for
297
678
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Attended a family wedding here last weekend and we were much more impressed than we had been 2 years ago when we stayed in the lodges. This time we stayed in the hotel. We had 3 children 14,12 and 3. We had 2 rollaway beds and the 3 yr old shared the double room. The room was very spacious for 5 people and the bathroom was a good size. We had a good view over the patio area and the lough. (Room 118)

Staff were very attentive and polite. Especially the door man who went out of his way on several occasions to get my 3 yr old sweets and every time we passed him throughout the weekend he asked if he could help in any way. We had one bad experience in the bar with a lunch order but once we brought it to the attention of the manager it was quickly rectified.

The pool was lovely although there wasn't much room in the changing rooms. We also ate in the lough bar and grill which was nice. Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice. Hotel had a nice atmosphere. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minkymeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My daughter is shortly to be married and her bridesmaids chose this hotel for her hen do. From the moment you enter the resort, you do feel you are in somewhere special. We were in different lodges, but I was in lodge 20 which had a fantastic view over the lough. The lodges all have the wow factor! Immaculately clean and tastefully furnished throughout. We had a special deal which included dinner, breakfast and a spa treatment. The dinner was exceptional, perfectly cooked food presented in a 5 star way. Service throughout was top class. Re spa treatments, all raved about them. I had the Thai massage, pressure fine. Many remarked on how relaxing the facial had been.
Breakfast for lodge guests is not in the main hotel but still an excellent buffet choice.
I'm looking forward to a return visit as the resort is so peaceful and an excellent place to chill out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have been to the spa a few times now and it never disapoints me, the spa is a very relaxing area of a lovely hotel, the Treatments are very pleasent and the staff are very friendly we went for a package which was good value and included a light spa lunch. a place you could keep returning to. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flex43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Lough Erne Resort in June 2014 for a friend's wedding. The lodge I stayed in was very well appointed, clean and luxurious. The bathroom was spotless and the shower was fab.

I'd love to have the time for another visit and chance to explore the area further.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 8arry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived late on the Monday afternoon so as you would expect are first dining experience we had to try the Catalina restaurant, we were greated by a young lady who did an excellent job in showing off what the restaurant had to offer. Everything was great in the Catalina and the company was outstanding, my only disappointment was the pricing for what we got. Overall I would come back again. The next day we went for lunch in the blaney bar, this is when I realised what I personally expected from a 5 star establishment. I was greeted by a young man and my order was later taken by luke, Luke was very friendly and seemed to be taking control of the bar, he seemed to have very good knowledge of the resort and kept us very interested throughout the duration of our meal. This is what I personally expect from a 5* resort. I was very content leaving the bar after Luke settled our bill and wished us a good day. Throughout the resort I am very happy with what I received and I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jzo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is our second time at the Loungh Erne resort and each time we have stayed in one of the self catering houses along the edge of the lough. Check in isn't quite the same as other 5* hotels we have stayed at, but the door staff are very helpful and have been able to answer any questions we had for them with ease. The rooms were clean and a nice size, and this time our house was further into the estate so we didn't have the constant traffic we experienced the first time. As it was half term and busy, we all had breakfast in the room above the golf shop which has a nice view over the lough. As we had children we were up early, but those arriving later had quite a wait to get into the room to sit down as it wasn't big enough to cope. There is no in room dining option, although the kitchen is well stocked with equipment, so we tended to get take away food from one of the many local restaurants in the town.

Room Tip: Go for the loughside lodges if travelling with a family, your own private home on the lough
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
5.6 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
4.4 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
4.7 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#2 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
21.5 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
14.9 mi away
Knockninny Country House & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Erne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Erne Resort

Property: Lough Erne Resort
Address: 193 Lough Shore Road, Enniskillen BT93 7ED, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
#3 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Erne Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Erne Resort, Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh, host venue to the G 8 Summit 2013 is the first AA and NITB Five Star Hotel in Northern Ireland and was awarded 'Best Hotel' at the 2011 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards. In 2010, it was awarded ‘Golf Resort of The Year’ by the Irish Golf Tour Operators Association. The Resort is the ultimate expression in old world heritage and new world luxury, set on its very own 600 acre peninsula, between Castle Hume Lough and Lower Lough Erne, just outside Enniskillen, with stunning panoramic views from almost every vantage point. This unique luxury Fermanagh hotel’s facilities include: •120 luxury Rooms and Suites•Two Championship Golf Courses including The Faldo Course, a Golf World & Golf Monthly Top 20 Course (UK & Ireland) and the Championship Castle Hume Course•Rory McIlroy has been its Touring Professional representing The Resort around the World•The Golf Academy, a state of the art Practice and Tuition centre•Authentic Thai Spa, with Thai Therapists using Thai Products and techniques•A variety of innovative Dining Experiences with menus composed by Award winning Chef, Noel McMeel. Including: The Catalina Restaurant, The Blaney Bar with an Exclusive collection of 101 Irish Whiskies; The Loughside Bar & Grill, a variety of Afternoon Teas in The Garden Hall and The Halfway House located behind the 9th Green of The Faldo Championship Course•6 Conference & Meeting Rooms•Cygnets The 'BIG' Experience for our younger guests (0-11 years)•One of Ireland’s most romantic Wedding Venues. All this combined with warm, friendly and attentive service make Lough Erne Resort one of the world’s most magical destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, TravelUp, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lough Erne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Erne Hotel Enniskillen
Lough Erne Enniskillen
Lough Erne Resort Enniskillen, County Fermanagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing