We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A birthday to remember - wonderful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lough Erne Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lough Erne Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A birthday to remember - wonderful place!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Recently I was treated to afternoon tea at this resort. It was a birthday present from my daughters and granddaughters. I had never been to the resort before and had the most wonderful afternoon. The hotel is spectacular, both inside and out, and the staff are so pleasant and attentive. A special mention to Anna who served us and talked us through our traditional afternoon teas and Andrew and Kris who very kindly brought me a complimentary birthday slate and sang 'happy birthday'. The food served with the tea was beautiful. We enjoyed the experience so much that my daughters have decided that we will come back every year for my birthday.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WinceB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    898
    262
    132
    82
    29
See reviews for
291
671
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1 night for a wedding. Our room was very large and decorated to a very high standard. All the staff were very good, we had a really nice breakfast which is served to your table that looks out on the lough. The hotel setting is spectacular right on the lough with endless views.

The hotel is 5 star however we felt there were a number of things that didn't live up to 5 star expectations. The room had no AC which in the middle of July meant the rooms were uncomfortably hot, the water pressure in the basin was so poor you could barely was your hands and curtains didn't fully close, things you don't expect of a modern 5 star.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawther2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed for 1 night at this gorgeous resort and will definitely be back. We loved everything about it from the Thai Spa, the fine dining restaurant, lovely breakfast, and helpful staff. The location is beautiful with lovely lake views. Special mention to Nicola in the main restaurant who was excellent and Thomas our waiter of our 4 course beautiful meal. Service a little slow in the bar this was our only complaint, cannot wait to return here again very soon.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights for a wedding. Our room overlooked the court yard and surrounding countryside. The moment we arrived we felt like we had arrived in an old friends house. The reception staff were amazing. When we arrived at our room I was amazed at the size and how well appointed it was. The bathroom was as big as the room almost. On our first night we decided to dine in the bar. The menu was short but had everything you would need. I ordered the short ribs and was looking forward to the meal. Unfortunately I was informed shortly after that the kitchen had run out of the short rib. I was disappointed amd ordered the minute steak instead. The meal was amazing and was made better by the fact I was not charged for my meal due to be disappointed. I thought what a perfect touch. The hotel throughout is stunning the location breathtaking. And then we get onto my favourite bit the breakfast, sorry to do this but OMG to say the breakfast buffet was extensive would be understating it. This was followed up by the best cooked breakfast I have ever had in a hotel.
If you ever just want to escape and experience a lot of luxury make sure you head to the Lough Erne.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the resort. Our room overlooked the 18th green, and right down #1 fairway.
Rooms are good size and well appointed. Staff was excellent, and very friendly. Pro shop was very accommodating, Provided rental clubs, and permitted wife to ride along for the 18 holes. Fairways are reasonable, but even if your ball is only a foot off the fairway, it is virtually impossible to locate. The spa was disappointing because they permitted families to use the indoor pool, sauna, steam room, and whirlpool. Seven young children having fun is just not conducive to relaxation. Families had to leave the indoor pool at 4 pm, so massage after that was okay. Families can rent villas in the area, and can obtain privileges at the resort.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the golf course have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san antonio texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We traveled to Northern Ireland to celebrate my husband's birthday in July. From the moment we arrived we were delighted by the friendliness of all the staff. The golf course is great, but Lynn McCool went out of her way to make us feel more than welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beatrizgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast, northern ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at one of the golf village houses beside the hotel and we were able to avail of the hotel facilities. There was a group of six including and 3 and 8 year old and we felt very welcome in bringing children into the bar and grill for a couple of meals. The pool and spa are lovely and were very quiet so was perfect for young tentative swimmers.

The food was excellent and the staff very friendly. We even got given a Cygnets bag and colouring book for my youngest even though we weren't staying at the hotel.

Although none of us are golfers the walk around the course is stunning, although a couple of seats along the way would have been great for my older parents to catch their breath.

The only other thing I would say is a play area would have been great for the kids to keep them amused. Something small and in keeping the the beautiful surroundings.

On a whole the location and hotel is beautiful and if you are looking for peace, quiet and some luxury I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this wonderful place. We will be back no doubt next year....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
5.6 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
4.4 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
526 reviews
4.7 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#2 of 7 in Enniskillen
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
21.5 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
661 reviews
14.9 mi away
Knockninny Country House & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Erne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Erne Resort

Property: Lough Erne Resort
Address: 193 Lough Shore Road, Enniskillen BT93 7ED, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
#3 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Erne Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Erne Resort, Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh, host venue to the G 8 Summit 2013 is the first AA and NITB Five Star Hotel in Northern Ireland and was awarded 'Best Hotel' at the 2011 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards. In 2010, it was awarded ‘Golf Resort of The Year’ by the Irish Golf Tour Operators Association. The Resort is the ultimate expression in old world heritage and new world luxury, set on its very own 600 acre peninsula, between Castle Hume Lough and Lower Lough Erne, just outside Enniskillen, with stunning panoramic views from almost every vantage point. This unique luxury Fermanagh hotel’s facilities include: •120 luxury Rooms and Suites•Two Championship Golf Courses including The Faldo Course, a Golf World & Golf Monthly Top 20 Course (UK & Ireland) and the Championship Castle Hume Course•Rory McIlroy has been its Touring Professional representing The Resort around the World•The Golf Academy, a state of the art Practice and Tuition centre•Authentic Thai Spa, with Thai Therapists using Thai Products and techniques•A variety of innovative Dining Experiences with menus composed by Award winning Chef, Noel McMeel. Including: The Catalina Restaurant, The Blaney Bar with an Exclusive collection of 101 Irish Whiskies; The Loughside Bar & Grill, a variety of Afternoon Teas in The Garden Hall and The Halfway House located behind the 9th Green of The Faldo Championship Course•6 Conference & Meeting Rooms•Cygnets The 'BIG' Experience for our younger guests (0-11 years)•One of Ireland’s most romantic Wedding Venues. All this combined with warm, friendly and attentive service make Lough Erne Resort one of the world’s most magical destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lough Erne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Erne Hotel Enniskillen
Lough Erne Enniskillen
Lough Erne Resort Enniskillen, County Fermanagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing