We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Light the way to the Jetty!”
Review of Lough Erne Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lough Erne Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

My friends stayed in the hotel but I had hired a boat..It was a late night, moon nowhere in sight.... I was lost for over an hour...this place is huge... Signposts to the jetty perhaps Maybe a golf cart taxi service..?Of course the course helped walk off the four courses of excellent food I had and this was the best place to be while Rory was winning... Nice experience!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Richard F,
Lighting the way to the jetty back to the Resort , would be a lovely luxury to have but unfortunately
very expensive.We do however arrange pick ups at the jetty upon request . Rory winning was fantastic and there was a great atmosphere over the weekend in Lough Erne with him doing so well.Delighted to read you enjoyed your meal.
Kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

818 - 824 of 1,552 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

I recently visited here with my Mum and 2 friends for afternoon tea. We all really enjoyed it. We were seated at a window table and so had a lovely view over the water. The seats were comfortable and we could happily have settled in for the whole afternoon.

Our waitress was very friendly and helpful. She brought over 8 or 9 loose leaf teas for us to smell in order to make our choice, though naturally you could also choose from the menu if you didn't want any of those. They were happy to accomodate 2 sets of sandwiches witih no butter and one member of our party who doesn't eat chocolate.

The price (£16 per head) is very reasonable and the food was of a very high quality. I'd definitely return again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Emma W,
Traditional Afternoon Tea in the Garden Hall is one of Lough Erne's special treats and glad you enjoyed the experience.It's the ideal gift for family and friends to celebrate a special occasion.
Thank you for posting such a lovely review.
Kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have recently stayed at the Lough Erne Resort, rooms are fabulous, as is the view, staff all very friendly and efficient. We ate in the Blaney Bar and the food was lovely, we also ate at the clubhouse grill bar, food not as good as the Blaney. One gripe we had was that there's 10% service charge automatically added to your bill! whether you have a meal or just a latte!!! Surely this isn't right? Isn't it up to the customer whether they believe a tip is required?? Nowhere is it documented on menus that this is the case, is it legal??? It was the only downer on an otherwise lovely break!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amp777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear amp 777 ,

Service charge is to be paid entirely at your own discretion and is removed from the bill if the customer does not want to pay it.I am surprised to read about this matter in you review as you posted a similiar review a few months ago concerning the same issue.
kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here after new year in a lodge.
It was large and well decorated but it felt really disconnected from the main hotel.
Went for breakfast. It was only 12 but that was also the price charged for the 3 year old child. In my mind that is excessive. I guess we should have checked first.,
Would be happy to go back and this time stay in the main hotel,
The atmosphere was great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AliMac30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Alimac 30,
The Loughside Lodges are all, only five minutes walk from the main Hotel,but are as you say not connected.Breakfast normally finishes at 10.30am.We would be delighted to welcome you back to stay in the main hotel and thank you for your review.
kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Spent two nights at Lough Erne resort. Feeling skeptical due to some Trip advisor reviews however was very pleasantly surprised. Met at the car by Neil the concierge who welcomed us to the resort and took us to reception. He then escorted us to our room ,giving us some tips along the way.Very spacious room our window opened wide so no problem with heat as others have stated. Slightly disappointed in the pool area considering it's 5* hotel, Galgorm much nicer.Meal and breakfasts were excellent and staff very attentive at all times. Overall very relaxing time spent in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Eileen K,
I was pleased to read that your apprehensions because of other reviews were completely unfounded and that you were 'very pleasantly surprised' and enjoyed your time with us.There is nothing like judging a place for yourself.We also would like our pool area a bit bigger and hopefully in the future can achieve this.
Kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here in a lodge for 3 nights. Expensive but you get a lot for your money.The lodge (as opposed to a hotel bedroom) has 3 seperate en suite bedrooms and a communal lounge which can be used for self catering. Well furnished, a lake and golf course view (the 18th hole). The hotel was used for the G8 conference a couple of years ago so you can imagine the setting.All the staff were very helpful for anything you required, the golf shop staff were extra special and manged to sell us over £100 of golf clothes we thought we needed. However they were not any good for the round of golf played as it rained all day (only did 9 holes) the course is spectacular and worth playing, the Irish Open is being played there in 2016.
They serve an excellent breakfast in the Catalina restaurant it can be both service or plated up for you, some special additions include Duck Omelette and Haddock. My wife did not want to come for breakfast on our first day as she was getting ready for the wedding we were to attend in Dungannon. The staff made her up a small breakfast for me to take over to her in the lodge. I would have thought a 5 star resort would do room service at a price maybe. Food in the golf restaurant food was good but not exceptional for the price. The wedding meal was of very high standard with some beautiful beef being served. Overall it was lovely stay in a lovely resort in lovely part of the world the only criticism was that access to the lodge was difficult, you had to drive your car as near as you could to the lodge ,unload and climb up stairs to the entrance, not good in the rain. The hotel should offer a buggy service or some form of help

Room Tip: If staying in a lodge ask for easy access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandyboyTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Sandyboy Telford,
'Shame about the rain', it was disappointing that it rained during your round on the Faldo course.The weather I am afraid is out of our control ! Room service is available in the main hotel building and buggies are available upon request if you need one from your lodge.Glad you enjoyed the wedding and thank you for your compliments regarding the food and our staff.
Kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We recently spent the weekend at Lough Erne to attend our niece's wedding. The hotel is lovely, our bedroom was very spacious. The meal served during the reception was nice enough.

However, we found the food served, other than the reception, was just average all be it expensive. Breakfast, which was included in the room cost, was served buffet style. The breakfast items were barely warm, and the bacon under cooked. I personally was not impressed. If I had had a car I would have eaten else where.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LREA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear LREA,
It was disappointing to read that your didn't enjoy the breakfast buffet,please note plated service
is also available with a breakfast menu for your choice of dish.Thank you for taking time your post your review and your observations have been duly noted.
Kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
5.6 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
4.7 mi away
Belmore Court Motel
Belmore Court Motel
#1 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,906 reviews
4.7 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#2 of 7 in Enniskillen
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
584 reviews
21.5 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
5.6 mi away
Mahon's Hotel
Mahon's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Irvinestown
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Erne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Erne Resort

Address: 193 Lough Shore Road, Enniskillen BT93 7ED, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
#3 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range: £106 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Erne Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Erne Resort, Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh, host venue to the G 8 Summit 2013 is the first AA and NITB Five Star Hotel in Northern Ireland and was awarded 'Best Hotel' at the 2011 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards. In 2010, it was awarded ‘Golf Resort of The Year’ by the Irish Golf Tour Operators Association. The Resort is the ultimate expression in old world heritage and new world luxury, set on its very own 600 acre peninsula, between Castle Hume Lough and Lower Lough Erne, just outside Enniskillen, with stunning panoramic views from almost every vantage point. This unique luxury Fermanagh hotel’s facilities include: •120 luxury Rooms and Suites•Two Championship Golf Courses including The Faldo Course, a Golf World & Golf Monthly Top 20 Course (UK & Ireland) and the Championship Castle Hume Course•Rory McIlroy has been its Touring Professional representing The Resort around the World•The Golf Academy, a state of the art Practice and Tuition centre•Authentic Thai Spa, with Thai Therapists using Thai Products and techniques•A variety of innovative Dining Experiences with menus composed by Award winning Chef, Noel McMeel. Including: The Catalina Restaurant, The Blaney Bar with an Exclusive collection of 101 Irish Whiskies; The Loughside Bar & Grill, a variety of Afternoon Teas in The Garden Hall and The Halfway House located behind the 9th Green of The Faldo Championship Course•6 Conference & Meeting Rooms•Cygnets The 'BIG' Experience for our younger guests (0-11 years)•One of Ireland’s most romantic Wedding Venues. All this combined with warm, friendly and attentive service make Lough Erne Resort one of the world’s most magical destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Lough Erne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Erne Hotel Enniskillen
Lough Erne Enniskillen
Lough Erne Resort Enniskillen, County Fermanagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing