We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Place Lacking Finishing Touches” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lough Erne Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lough Erne Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place Lacking Finishing Touches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

The location of the hotel is beautiful overlooking the Lough, nearby Golf Course and surrounding grounds and walkways. It brings out Fermanagh's splendour in all its glory.

I have visited a number of times, most recently for a wedding. Staff are always very professional, well mannered the hotel has the feel of richness and class about it.

There was two noticeable downsides. One was the dirty glasses received from the bar area. Glasses had noticeable stains on them, even when returned the replacement wasn't much better. Its an issue that could probably easily be fixed hence my title about finishing touches.

Second point was the meal itself, it was small. Not the hearty meal I had hoped for. In particular the main course was lacking with a small bit of turkey and even smaller bit of ham. It was something everyone noticed and made comment on not just those at my table. Furthermore and another finishing touch is that no-one came round offering seconds, no extra mash potato, vegetables or meats. No-one is expecting a second meal and most probably wouldn't take seconds even if offered but there are others who would welcome that bit extra.

Considering the price being paid its the least that could be done.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skydivinsim0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Skydiving-Simon,

Thank you for taking time to post your review and positive comments regarding the staff and the property.Your comments regarding a dirty glass and larger portions are duly noted.
kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    261
    131
    79
    29
See reviews for
286
667
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Spent a short mid-week break here recently (2nights).A very nice setting overlooking the fabulous views of Lough Erne. Staff very friendly and helpful and breakfasts offered a good range of cooked food as you would expect in an hotel of this kind. However, the room we were allocated was a bit of a shock and certainly not 5* quality.We found a fridge in our room which was switched off and empty ! When we found the room a bit stuffy we went to adjust the Air-conditioning and to our surprise found there was no Air-Con !! The windows only opened about 2" so we could not cool the room and spent the 2 nights tossing and turning with the heat. We did find a small elec. Fan in the wardrobe but it was of little use.
I have stayed in many 5* hotels across the world and i am sorry to say this was far from 5* quality and would be surprised if it remains so after its next Rating Review.

Room Tip: Ensure your room has Air-Con
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Fran 94,
Thank you for your observations regarding you recent stay.I would point out that mini bars are only available in our suites and are therefore unstocked and switched off in our other rooms.This is current hotel policy,but may change in the future.There is no air conditioning provided in the bedrooms and hence fans are provided during warm weather.I do accept that the rooms can become hot but unfortunatley windows can be only opened slightly to comply with health and safety regulations.On a positive note,thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and food offerings.
Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed during the week to attend wedding, the hotel,staff and amenities are fantastic, my room was spotless with everything you need. The food was unbelievably great, nothing adverse to say about our stay.
The surrounding breath taking and walks around the complex excellent. ( Maybe not good if raining though )

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear David F,
Delighted to read that you enjoyed experience at the recent wedding you attended and your positive comments are appreciated by our conferencing and banqueting team.Lough Erne Resort is proving to be a very special venue to celebrate with the bride and groom on their Wedding Day.
kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

If you are a golf fan, Lough Erne is the place to stay in Ireland. The resort is excellent. Friendly and accommodating staff. Great restaurant. Spacious guest rooms. The view from every point in the hotel is amazing. Enjoy a luxury meal in the main restaurant or relax in the casual pub. The rooms in the individual villas overlook the grounds. All of them have great views no matter which one you choose. The resort itself is rather remote, but the trip here is well worth it. Very relaxing. Enniskillen is a short 15 minute drive if you want to get out and see the sights of the town.

Room Tip: Choose one of the villas along the Faldo Course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Jeff P,
'Execellent Golf Resort' is a lovely compliment to receive, as are the wonderful comments regarding the facilities on the Resort.Lough Erne Resort is less than an hour and a half from Belfast and less than two and a half hours from Dublin so is very accessible in terms of main routes both sides of the border.We look forward to hosting the Irish Open in 2017. It is certainly not in a remote location !!!!!
kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

After booking a romantic weekend at the resort, in my own error, I had made some mistakes with the booking online. once I arrived, the staff were exceptional in helping out and fixing any problems for me. They went out of their way to make our stay comfortable.

The food/drink was superb and the resort itself was so relaxing.

When we stayed, there was a wedding on at the time. This may prove a problem with some hotels due to staff/resources being stretched. NOT HERE. The wouldn't have even noticed an interruption to the exceptional service.

Thanks again for a great weekend. Ill be back!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnthepetrolhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Johnthepetrolhead,

We were delighted to be able to sort out your booking at the last minute and thank you for taking time to acknowledge the same in your review.

Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

My wife and I got married last year and we chose the Lough because we wanted something special ... we certainly found what we were looking for :)

Starting with the experience of booking our reception, it was far superior to every other venue we dealt with, the team (lead by Adrian) are practiced and professional and understood what we wanted, they were certainly very accommodating and patient.

The hotel itself, the facilities and the setting, absolutely fantastic, stylish, comfortable and luxurious throughout. From the hotel's setting on the Erne through to the internal and external communal areas and then onto the dining and bar areas - top notch all the way. Everywhere was so clean and fresh, tastefully decorated throughout. If you're into golf (I'm not) i believe the course is excellent. There is a spa for the ladies and the pool was popular with our guests.

The staff are excellent, everything was taken in their stride and everyone with a smile on their face, from the waiters to the chefs to the leaders, they set an excellent tone and everyone remarked on how good the whole team was.

The day before our wedding was my father in law's birthday and we arranged for a party up in the clubhouse. There were three lads on duty that afternoon, they setup the party with gusto (blowing up balloons, putting up streamers, hiding the cake etc) and made sure everything was ready in time. The clubhouse is spacious and welcoming and fitted out to the same standard as the main building, the food was good and so was the craic.

On our big day the team made us their focus, they were brilliant and cannot be faulted.

When it comes to drink, drink is drink and you get what comes out of the bottle. The quality of food on the other hand comes down to the people who made it and the food was superb. We had the 6 course option for our wedding dinner and everything from presentation, flavour, timing, quantity, setting, everything was perfect. The top table could choose whatever they wanted off the menu and it was no hassle for Stephen the Chef.

The function room is good, we were able to half it so it fit our numbers better. Everything was setup as we had asked for. Amazing views of the Lough out of the window and a really good sorta paved and tabled, bbq area right outside the function room. The chalets are close to the main function room also.

The suite we got was the nicest hotel room I've ever stayed in, a massive bed (so comfy), classy and tasteful furniture, amazing views, a bathroom with the Wow factor complete with the bath jacuzzi for two!

Other guest rooms in the hotel are to the same standard but are smaller than the suites, that does not mean they are small, they are big rooms fitted out in the same style and to the same level of comfort, a number of our guests stayed in the main building and loved the rooms.

Other guests (and family) stayed in the chalets, which are styled and furnished in exactly the same style as the main building, but they're come with their own living room and kitchen. If you've family or a bunch of friends staying I think the chalets might be better that hotel rooms, they're probably more social and they certainly give you more freedom if you have small kids for example.

Breakfast the next morning was as tasty as dinner and buffet the day before, beautiful setting, professional staff, food excellent.

No complaints whatsoever, everything was excellent from start to finish. Super hotel, highly recommended and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rokan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Rokan 72,
Congratulations on your recent wedding and we were delighted that you chose Lough Erne Resort to host your special occasion.Your review certainly covers all aspects of your special day and it's very encouarging to read such positive comments and compliments reagrding all the team involved in making your day memorable and unique.The hotel policy of one wedding only per day helps facilitate this experience.
A new departure for weddings going forward is for the bride and groom to have breakfast with their guests who have stayed over ,in a private setting the day after their wedding.This is proving to be extremely popular with our brides and grooms.
Thank you again for taking time to post such a detailed review of your weddind day and best wishes for the future.
Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

made a return visit to lough erne resort in July. sorry to inform you but nothing has changed, if anything the hotel is smoother running and still in my top 5 holiday retreats. from signing in to checking out, nothing but 5 star treatment.
the Catalina restaurant is in a class of its own. the food is locally sourced as our the fabulously gifted chefs.
you will not get a plate with 10 spuds. bucket load of veg and half a cow.. read the label, this is high class gourmet food by award winning chefs on your doorstep.. the food tastes linger long after the meal, of sensible portions, with delicate sauces to compliment the food. the sweets are just too good, too delicious to put into words, just try refusing them, it would be be sacrilege. . cheers to noel, Stephen, Richard, Andrew etc. etc..
not forgetting an excellent serving staff and very attentive and knowledgeable on the food they are serving. we were unsure of some of the items but our server, Kerry was a great help and took time to make sure we were happy with our choice.
Kerry also helped with our choice of wine for each course and nothing was a problem for her to insure we had a memorable night.
The Blaney bar was buzzing with a friendly atmosphere and good service, but a few more waiters wouldn't go amiss
though I cant complain as I was here to relax and enjoy my drink. by the way, try the Blaney snack menu, again a good and varied selection made by the same chefs, so all the meals are top class.
the hotel itself has that homely feel with an outstanding staff, with sincere and happy attitude. but since the arrival of the new GM, its noticeable the changes that are happening , but in a subtle way. but def., going in the right direction.
an enjoyable break was spent at this, home from home hotel, great food, great service and friendly staff, but too many to mention, in all areas.
we shall return, ASAP...... CHEERS

Room Tip: facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Materialistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Materialistic,
Glad you enjoyed your last visit with us at Lough Erne and thank you sincerely for your continued support.It's very heart warming and encouraging to welcome back regular guests on a regular basis.It's evident you continue to enjoy our food offering across the various locations throughout the resort and again your kind comments reagarding our staff are well received.We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
5.6 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
4.4 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
4.6 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#3 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
21.4 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mahon's Hotel
Mahon's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Irvinestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Erne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Erne Resort

Property: Lough Erne Resort
Address: 193 Lough Shore Road, Enniskillen BT93 7ED, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
#3 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Erne Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Erne Resort, Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh, host venue to the G 8 Summit 2013 is the first AA and NITB Five Star Hotel in Northern Ireland and was awarded 'Best Hotel' at the 2011 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards. In 2010, it was awarded ‘Golf Resort of The Year’ by the Irish Golf Tour Operators Association. The Resort is the ultimate expression in old world heritage and new world luxury, set on its very own 600 acre peninsula, between Castle Hume Lough and Lower Lough Erne, just outside Enniskillen, with stunning panoramic views from almost every vantage point. This unique luxury Fermanagh hotel’s facilities include: •120 luxury Rooms and Suites•Two Championship Golf Courses including The Faldo Course, a Golf World & Golf Monthly Top 20 Course (UK & Ireland) and the Championship Castle Hume Course•Rory McIlroy has been its Touring Professional representing The Resort around the World•The Golf Academy, a state of the art Practice and Tuition centre•Authentic Thai Spa, with Thai Therapists using Thai Products and techniques•A variety of innovative Dining Experiences with menus composed by Award winning Chef, Noel McMeel. Including: The Catalina Restaurant, The Blaney Bar with an Exclusive collection of 101 Irish Whiskies; The Loughside Bar & Grill, a variety of Afternoon Teas in The Garden Hall and The Halfway House located behind the 9th Green of The Faldo Championship Course•6 Conference & Meeting Rooms•Cygnets The 'BIG' Experience for our younger guests (0-11 years)•One of Ireland’s most romantic Wedding Venues. All this combined with warm, friendly and attentive service make Lough Erne Resort one of the world’s most magical destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lough Erne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Erne Hotel Enniskillen
Lough Erne Enniskillen
Lough Erne Resort Enniskillen, County Fermanagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing