We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lough Erne in Northern Ireland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lough Erne Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lough Erne Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lough Erne in Northern Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

This beautiful golf resort is just 2 hours from Dublin on a gorgeous lake. A car is recommended here.

Besides golf there are other activities and sights to see in the area. Horse riding, biking are just two of the many things to do available. The property is beautiful and the rooms are well appointed most with lake views. There are 3 restaurants with wonderful food and service. Don't forget the beautiful Thai spa in the Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wjcNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    890
    260
    131
    79
    29
See reviews for
285
666
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

We stayed 3 nights. Was quite expensive but if you can afford it I would certainly recommend Lough Erne. The staff were fantastic, so friendly and helpful (not a pretencious 5star whatsoever). Beautiful building, decor, views, and food. Only thing we were a little disappointed with was the Leisure facilities. We were expecting a full 'Thermal Suite' but there was a lovely pool, jacuzzi, sauna, and steam room. We would have liked something more. All in all however a lovely relaxing break.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newlywed00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

I had my wedding here in July. We booked the previous Jan and had a lot of concerns and agree with most of the negative comments on here. However, with each visit to the hotel coming up to the wedding we noticed improvements every time and the hotel and staff are still getting better and finding their feet.

Huge complaint is no AC in the rooms, this is a big design flaw. Other than that, the hotel and spa is wonderful and the golf is great. In my opinion this is a beautiful hotel and it was a luxury to get married there. If I was to go just for a weekend break, I certainly would not pay their going rates and would only return to stay on a special offer (which they don't do). I don't personally think its worth the prices they charge (when meals and incidentals are all added)

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caitni2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

Stayed here after a wedding. Lovely surroundings and rooms especially the bed which was extremely comfortable. Wheelchair accessible ensuite was one of the best I have come across anywhere, once the toilet seat was screwed on that is! However none of the good stuff will compensate for the loss of a night's sleep. NO AIRCON meant we were uncomfortable and opening the window the restricted amount just let in ....noise!
To add to a sleepless night we felt 'robbed' by a distinctly average breakfast which cost £20 each. Did not eat in Restaurant but others reported food and especially drinks to be overpriced. Overall we would go back but in winter when is cooler.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipWright777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

Had a trip to Lough Erne with the family and it was a massive place with 2 golf courses close by. The lough Erne course was very tough but gave great views of the lough Erne lakes and the complex, and if you are in to sailing this place is a must. Hotel was very enjoyable but a bit expensive. Small but nice swimming pool for the kids 7,3, & 9. Food was informal in the club house and hotel to fuss for the kids. Next time may try the apartments as I was told the had some. Lively wedding on while there so great to sit out side and people watch

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eilra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

We have stayed here on two occasions for the WRC, and the hotel is in a great spot for various stages of the rally.The first time we stayed was in the main building, and the second stay was in one of the cottages on the grounds.The quality of the rooms,the service and the food is all of a very high standard.We love it and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank degustibusirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

I have now stayed at the Lough Erne Golf resort three times and I absolutely love the place!! The setting is magical and I still get the "fairytale" feeling every time I drive up to the resort. The lough view lodge we stayed in recently was fabulous - Bathrooms are out of this world and you could very easily lose a few hours while relaxing in the roll top bath!!!

It has been lovely to see how the hotel has developed from first opening to the present day - the only down side that I have experienced is breakfast!!! The service is great but I feel that the quality lets the hotel down. I really don't think that a "buffet" style breakfast is good enough for the five star experience. The sausages were not of a very high standard and the orange juice was not freshly squeezed. there is amazing local produce right on the door step so it seems strange that the resort do not give their guests the best quality possible.

I will however, definitely be back to this amazing, unique spot and hope to get a better banger with breakfast next time.!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belfastgirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
5.6 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
4.4 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
4.6 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#2 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
21.4 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mahon's Hotel
Mahon's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Irvinestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Erne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Erne Resort

Property: Lough Erne Resort
Address: 193 Lough Shore Road, Enniskillen BT93 7ED, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
#3 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Erne Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Erne Resort, Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh, host venue to the G 8 Summit 2013 is the first AA and NITB Five Star Hotel in Northern Ireland and was awarded 'Best Hotel' at the 2011 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards. In 2010, it was awarded ‘Golf Resort of The Year’ by the Irish Golf Tour Operators Association. The Resort is the ultimate expression in old world heritage and new world luxury, set on its very own 600 acre peninsula, between Castle Hume Lough and Lower Lough Erne, just outside Enniskillen, with stunning panoramic views from almost every vantage point. This unique luxury Fermanagh hotel’s facilities include: •120 luxury Rooms and Suites•Two Championship Golf Courses including The Faldo Course, a Golf World & Golf Monthly Top 20 Course (UK & Ireland) and the Championship Castle Hume Course•Rory McIlroy has been its Touring Professional representing The Resort around the World•The Golf Academy, a state of the art Practice and Tuition centre•Authentic Thai Spa, with Thai Therapists using Thai Products and techniques•A variety of innovative Dining Experiences with menus composed by Award winning Chef, Noel McMeel. Including: The Catalina Restaurant, The Blaney Bar with an Exclusive collection of 101 Irish Whiskies; The Loughside Bar & Grill, a variety of Afternoon Teas in The Garden Hall and The Halfway House located behind the 9th Green of The Faldo Championship Course•6 Conference & Meeting Rooms•Cygnets The 'BIG' Experience for our younger guests (0-11 years)•One of Ireland’s most romantic Wedding Venues. All this combined with warm, friendly and attentive service make Lough Erne Resort one of the world’s most magical destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lough Erne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Erne Hotel Enniskillen
Lough Erne Enniskillen
Lough Erne Resort Enniskillen, County Fermanagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing