We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky, cool, fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bar 163

Bar 163
Ranked #8 of 52 Restaurants in Egham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$26
Cuisines: Bar, British, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: It���s hard to believe that Bar 163 has been in Egham since 1984. More than twenty years on, 163 looks and feels as fresh as ever and continues to attract a varied crowd of young and not so young, professionals and students alike. Originally a bar with food the menu has become so popular over the years that we can safely call Bar 163 a restaurant ��� the Mediterranean inspired dishes have a real taste of summer, exactly what you���ll be after if you find yourself lucky enough to nab a table in the relaxing secret garden. But despite the food the relaxed, lively bar vibe remains, making this Egham���s most well loved venue.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quirky, cool, fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

I used to go to Bar 163 a lot when it first opened about 15 years ago, but having moved away, haven't been there for a long, long time. Decided to have a trip down memory lane when recently staying in Windsor. Glad to say, it's as good, if not better than I remembered. Still stylish, unique and unusually these days, has personality. Great brunch, lovely confident, competent staff and just a great place to meet friends, eat, drink and chat. Just wish they'd open one in Cardiff!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelLovingBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    99
    35
    23
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staines, United Kingdom
1 review
“Poor bacon sandwich”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

Early one morning I popped in for a bacon sandwich. The bread was not fresh, it had the spongy texture of being frozen. The bacon was a few thin rashers of streaky which were hard but cold. They obviously were not freshly cooked but possibly pre-cooked and warmed up a bit. It was smothered in butter. Any caravan in any lay-by in Britain would have done a better job and at half the price or less. How anybody can so comprehensively muck up a bacon sandwich is beyond me. The waiter seemed unconcerned.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EpicureA30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Good food but poor service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

Had a meal with work colleagues here, were a group of 8. Food was good, however the service was not! Drink order was very delayed, had to remind waitress before recieving it. Final bill was calculated completely wrong, were being overcharged by approx £100!!!! When queried waitress replyed there were two of us inputing orders. was corrected after a lengthy wait. All in all an o.k experience but will not be returning or recommending to a friend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank indi101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
“Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

We had a meal here recently in a big group and were very happy with the excellent service. All the staff were friendly and professional and we were served quickly and with a smile. There were a quite a few of us and they were very attentive to our requests particularly the waitress Claire who looked after us all evening. The food was good but a little pricey for what it was. Great atmosphere, good food. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison_Lewis65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

We had a meal at bar 163 to celebrate the retirement of a work colleague.

The restaurant itself was very pretty and unusual so I was impressed when I walked through the door, however everything else was extremely disappointing.

I chose the belly pork, a personal favourite of mine! Unfortunately, it was tough and there was not a trace of cracking in sight! Also, the potatoes tasted like they'd been heated up from the day before. The plate lacked any form if presentation.

The service was terrible, we waited a long while to be offered drinks. Our waitress was very forgetful and forgot to bring a drink on 3 seperate occasions. She also made the remark "sorry, I'm useless aren't I", which was extremely unprofessional. I sent my coke back as it was completely flat and she did not apologise. Instead she informed me that it shouldn't be as it came "straight from the tap".

All in all, an unpleasant experience and completely over-priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timetraveller82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar 163 also viewed

 

Been to Bar 163? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing