We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best country hotel in uk”
Review of Great Fosters

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Great Fosters
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Egham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

We got married here two years ago and came back to spend our anniversary. We have stayed in most of the different types of rooms. My preference is the historic room but this time we stayed in the coach house junior suite vis vis as we had heard that it had a steam room in it and it did and lived up to our expectations! The food was amazing as ever and the hotel and grounds were immaculate as two years ago.
Keep up the good work and we will be back next year.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatFosters1931, General Manager at Great Fosters, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us to celebrate your 2nd wedding anniversary. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your return visit and do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for your third anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,108)
There are newer reviews for Great Fosters
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

This is overall a lovely hotel. Beautiful historical building with friendly staff. Rooms are nice and spacious. The grounds are beautiful and there's a big heated pool.
The restaurant needs some work. Some of the food was overcooked, bland and not very inventive.
The service was friendly, swift but disorganized.One of the waiters had such a bad cold that the person's nose was dripping.
It was also difficult to get a table. It might be asking too much, but I believe that as a guest at self-proclaimed luxury hotel the staff should let me know if I'd need to book a table early in order to get one. I shouldn't have to worry about things like that if you ask me. I have high standards, I know.

Room Tip: Good thing to have a car as the hotel lies a bit isolated. Also visit Windsor but take the train fro...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iwantadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

It was a birthday surprise, just one night, and what an exceptionally special experience. The really wonderful part was the delightful staff, everyone was kind, charming, concerned and professional. Yes the huge and characterful 1550 building with its tiny front door within a huge door was quirky, creaky, wonky and beautifully polished. Yes, the flowers were grand, elegant but also tiny and perfect. The Estate Grill food was local, thoughtful and unbelievably tasty (I particularly enjoyed the tiny orange tomatoes in the vegetable platter- called Golden Sweet, according to the gardener who grew them). The wine and most importantly the champagne (and charmingly whiskered sommelier) completed the dining experience perfectly. The Room- Panel 1, with its panelled walls and quirky panelled bathroom and gorgeous wallpaper (with no bird spotted twice) was deeply comfortable, warm and satisfying. Yes, the grounds and garden were beautifully kept, trimmed, surprising and pleasing- next time we will stay for at least two days and swim in the out-door pool and play very competitive croquet. But it really does come down to people who do a very good job. Thank you.

Room Tip: Panel 1 has a quirky bathroom and wonderful wallpaper
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ecovisitor51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatFosters1931, General Manager at Great Fosters, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review on your stay with us last month. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your surprise so much and will certainly be sharing your feedback with the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Looking for a hotel to stay for one night before taking a flight from Heathrow, we settled on Great Fosters. A great choice. The building dates back to 1550 as a Royal Hunting Lodge. It is very luxurious from the moment one enters the reception area at the front. Our room was in the old stables across the courtyard and was very comfortable, with a huge bathroom. Our only complaint was that there was not a functioning place to store the ironing board! We also took dinner and breakfast in the hotel and both were excellent in terms of the wonderful room and the food. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross-Siobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatFosters1931, General Manager at Great Fosters, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us. I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to the UK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed one night in August. Our room in The Cloisters was pretty and spotlessly clean although quite a walk outside from the main hotel. Would not want to do it in the rain! Gorgeous Molton Brown toiletries in the bathroom and a Bluetooth radio that could play our own music. Lovely cups with the tea tray! Pimm's on the terrace overlooking the Tudor knot garden was a treat.

Delicious evening dinner in The Estate Grill - the staff were fantastic, particularly the sommelier. £160 for two people, three courses and a half bottle of wine, including service which is added on. Not cheap by any means, but then this was a special weekend away and the service, the quality of the food and the ambience were all worth it.

Unfortunately, breakfast not so good. We were not offered a menu, the plates were stone cold at the hot buffet table and the fruit platter was dry and tasteless, with the melon rock hard. Tables were pushed together so closely we were virtually dining with the next door couple. This made conversation stilted.

Another niggle - on the walk from the room, we had to cross a gravelled courtyard. This was the unloading bay for the events room, and was full of white vans which completely blocked the route to the door. Having to squeeze past delivery vans to enter your luxury hotel is not on!!

So, we would return, but next time would want to be in the main hotel itself.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank funnyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful building, rooms and setting. Welcome and service amazing. Food and ambience in The Tudor room wonderful. When they found out it was our anniversary we were presented with a slate with Happy Anniversary piped in chocolate and a beautiful box with chocolates at the end of our meal. A thoughtful touch that shows the attention to detail. Loved it and can't wait to be able to afford to go again. Stayed in new building but still luxurious. Expensive but worth every penny.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatFosters1931, General Manager at Great Fosters, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed celebrating your anniversary with us and that my team looked after you so well.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed for a weekend,it was lovely from the moment we arrived.Beautiful hotel,with such character.We walked the grounds,lovely setting,saw the pigs and bees,which the hotel cultivate.The hotel oozes history with the oak panelling and inglenook fireplaces.We stayed in a room called Corridor all oak panelled but on opening the door to the bathroom it' was real state of the art.Very luxurious and TV in the wall!
Definitely worth a visit! Good for visiting Windsor and Hampton Court too

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatFosters1931, General Manager at Great Fosters, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for writing a review on your stay with us last month. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our Corridor bedroom and that you particularly enjoyed visiting the bees and the pigs.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egham
1.5 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
8.3 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
170 reviews
5.5 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,628 reviews
3.2 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Fosters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Fosters

Address: Stroude Road, Egham TW20 9UR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Egham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Egham
Price Range: £116 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Fosters 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably built as a Royal Hunting lodge and very much a stately home since the 16th century, Great Fosters is now a prestigious hotel, awarded 4 red stars by the AA. Set amongst 50 acres of gardens and parkland, the hotel is a Grade One listed building blessed with the grandeur of 16th century England and luxurious modern facilities. Its past is evident in the mullioned windows, tall chimneys, fireplaces and brick finials, while the Saxon moat, crossed by a Japanese bridge, surrounds three sides of the formal garden. All the suites and bedrooms are individually decorated. The bedrooms in the Main House are adorned with tapestries and antiques, whilst the bedrooms in The Cloisters are more contemporary in style. The refurbished Coach House offers luxurious accommodation with the latest plasma screens, i-pod docking stations and fabulous bathrooms. The hotel has two restaurants - The Estate Grill has been awarded two rosettes by the AA and serves a simple and seasonal menu with many of the dishes using produce grown on the estate and cooked on a Josper grill. The Tudor Room was awarded a Michelin star and three rosettes by the AA in October 2016 and is an intimate sophisticated restaurant open for lunch on a Thursday & Friday and for dinner from Wednesday to Saturday inclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Fosters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Fosters Egham, Surrey
Great Fosters Hotel Egham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing