We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Home from Home at r”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Runnymede on Thames
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Egham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

From check in to check out the staff make life so easy for you often anticipating your needs. We have stayed at the Hotel 20 times in the last 3 years and this has to be the best recommendation.. Overall we cannot fault the service and facilities. The rooms are exceptionally clean and room service is complete and prompt. Over the last 3 years it has been difficult to nominate a special member of staff as there are so many candidates for praise. The disabled rooms are facilities are excellent.

Room Tip: Try and book a room with walk in shower facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bustertracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review of the runnymede and I am so pleased that you look upon us as your home away from home. I am so pleased that you are such a regular and that you find the rooms clean. I have passed on your comments to the entire team at the hotel as it is feedback such as yours that encourages them to provide the high levels of service on which we pride ourselves on.
We very much look forward to your 21st visit.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,041 - 1,047 of 1,783 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was our second weekend break at The Runnymede.
Stayed in a deluxe double riverside on both occasions which was great size, very comfortable and lovely views over the Thames.
Although it shows two windows on the website for this room, we were advised that there are only 2 rooms classed as deluxe double riverside with a double window and the usual is just one window which is not as good, and makes the room much darker. Also the bathroom has both a bath and a shower which is much nicer. Having been put in the room with one window we asked if there was a room available with the 2 windows and we were shown it and were allowed to move, no queries and sorted out immediately. Well done staff at The Runnymede :-)
Dinner in the left bank restaurant was very nice, plenty of choice, nice atmosphere, all the food was very fresh and the staff very helpful.
Breakfast was very nice, again lots of choice, very fresh, lovely views from the tables by the window. Love the daily smoothies, tea and coffee topped up whenever required, nice place to unwind in the morning with the paper.
Cannot comment on the spa and the pool as we were too lazy to use the facilities or even go and look at them. Maybe next time :-)
Would recommend the hotel for a relaxing time away, in a lovely location, great walks along the river or a short drive to Windsor for sightseeing or shopping.
We managed to get a great deal on the weekend away including dinner on the first night so have ticked value as excellent on the rating. Selected very good for spa facilities as we know people that have used it and stated it was very nice

Room Tip: Always choose river view room if possible, why stay next to the thames but not be able to see it whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank spiralbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of the runnymede and I am so glad that you found everything relaxing and enjoyed the location with the views over the river Thames and the proximately to Windsor
We do have various room designs and some do have the two windows and I am pleased that we were able to move you to one of these on your request.
I am also glad that you found the food fresh with lots of choice and that you especially enjoyed the daily smoothies.
We look forward to your next visit when hopefully you will be able to have a soak in the indoor or outdoor pool or hire one of the boats for a lazy sail along the river.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

If you are looking for a romantic weekend, think twice: this is a real family place, and you will not find the peace and tranquillity you might be looking for.
We used to come here years ago, and we had very good memories of the place, which is indeed in a fantastic location. We had dinner in the "Leftbank" restaurant, which is really a buffet restaurant: food was average, and the place pretty noisy.
One thing is really exceptional, though: the staff, every one of them, friendly, helpful, and smiling: where did they find these rare pearls?

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LaElda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your review of the runnymede and I am pleased that you found all the team here friendly, helpful and smiling. I have passed these comments onto the team so they can see how much their efforts are appreciated.
We are a family friendly hotel but if you visit us during term time there are fewer families in the hotel and we do have child free times in the spa every day.
Leftbank is a very popular restaurant for both families and couples with its wide range of dishes available for guests to choose from but if you prefer to be waited on we do have the Lock Bar and Kitchen our a la carte restaurant available to.
We hope we see you in the future.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed just one night in the Runnymede hotel and really enjoyed our stay. We did pay extra for a riverside view. The spa was well equipped and excellent, the dinner was of the highest quality as was the snack lunch we enjoyed. Perhaps the highlight of our visit was the breakfast, I have never seen such a selection and quality of food, a great start to the day! All of the staff we met were polite, well trained and informative. The only very small negative was the fact that on ordering a bowl of soup for lunch the waiter was surprised when we asked for some bread to accompany it, however he quickly brought some. Overall a great venue for many occasions.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay with us at the runnymede. I am pleased that you found the spa well equipped and the dinner the highest quality as well as the snacks you ordered from the Lounge.
Our breakfast offering has won awards and I am pleased that you were impressed with the wide variety of food to get you day off to a good start.
I have passed on your comments about the team to everyone at the hotel as it is always nice for them to receive positive feedback.
We look forward to your next visit to us.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The staff were fantastic, super attentive, helpful and friendly.
We stayed for the buffet dinner one night and the buffet breakfast two mornings at the Leftbank restaurant.
The food had variety, but didn't knock our socks off. I was disappointed as I had expected a lot from the kitchens. There was not a huge selection of vegetarian friendly options, so I had 'Greek Pie' which was savoury mush, with a side of potatoes & roasted vegetables. The dessert bar was much more promising and we enjoyed the chocolate fountain and selection of goodies on offer. My partner enjoyed a serving of all the different carvery meats and pronounced them good, but nothing special. Wine was expensive.
Breakfast was different, beautifully laid out. The poached pears, fresh Greek yoghurt and homemade granola were delicious. The baked goods looked tempting but were dry. The hot breakfast options looked promising, but the egg bar didn't make scrambled eggs fresh and the texture of the heated eggs was akin to something created in a microwave. Orange juice and tea and coffee were served to the table.
The Leftbank dining room had lovely views over the river and the lock.
The Lounge served us superb milkshakes and French fries as an afternoon snack. Snappy service and comfy chairs made this our favourite place.
The room was small with outdated built-in furniture. There wasn't much room to put our cases, so they ended up piled on the floor by the window.
The bed was incredibly comfortable and I sleep very well and woke refreshed.
There were a lot of restaurants nearby and easily accessible by car to visit for our second night's dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EmaleeLer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your review of the runnymede hotel. I am pleased that you found the team here super attentive, helpful and friendly. I have passed on your kind comments to the team so they are aware of how much their efforts are appreciated.
I am glad that you had a great night’s sleep and enjoyed the views from the restaurant and lounge over the river.
I am pleased that in general you enjoyed breakfast, I am, however, disappointed to read your feedback on the Leftbank evening offering as we normally receive very positive feedback on this restaurant with its wide choice of salads and hot dishes but I am sorry that this was not your perception
We look forward to your next visit to us when maybe The Lock Bar and Kitchen, our informal a la carte restaurant may be more suitable for you.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Second stay in the last 12 months and this was as good as the first. Very helpful staff, excellent food and a great base for visits to London on the train or Windsor by car. The river was a little closer than at our last visit but much further away than during the floods. Although the hotel was closed during the worst of the weather, our visit was soon after reopening and it was impossible to see any evidence of the storms.
Our visit was a family celebration which I mentioned in passing when I booked and I was pleasantly surprised by the card and chocolates in the room and the best wishes from the staff. All in all a great experience which felt personal rather than corporate - a difficult balance to achieve. Well done.

Room Tip: Worth the extra to see the river out of the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank maxpaxbikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your glowing review of your recent stay at the runnymede. I am pleased that the staff were helpful and the food excellent.
I have passed on your kind comments to the team and am glad you liked the little gift and card from the team to congratulate you on your family celebration.
We look forward to your next visit to us.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

A great hotel, staff were very helpful, location by the Thames is very nice, room was clean and well furnished and food were very good
Overall a great experience to stay there and enjoy a relaxed time
I would for sure recommend it

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Semsema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your positive review of the runnymede and I am pleased that you found your room clean and well-furnished and the food a good standard.
I have passed on your kind comments to the team so they are aware of how much their efforts are appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and thank you for recommending us to others.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egham
1.5 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 3 in Egham
1,162 reviews
9.3 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
6.5 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Egham
Travelodge Egham
#3 of 3 in Egham
282 reviews
22.7 mi away
Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Runnymede on Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Runnymede on Thames

Address: Windsor Road, Egham TW20 0AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Egham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Egham
Price Range: £107 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Runnymede on Thames 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the banks of the river Thames we are the perfect location for a short break. Our family friendly hotel is near attractions, theme parks and fantastic sights. There's so much to do right here too with riverside walks, our award-winning spa, gorgeous riverside dining and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Runnymede on Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Runnymede-On-Thames Hotel Egham
Runnymede Hotel Egham
Hotel Runnymede
The Runnymede On Thames Egham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing