We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay for ascot races”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Runnymede on Thames
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Egham
Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overnight stay for ascot races”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

On reading other reviews I would have to agree this hotel is in a stunning setting on the river. The staff all were very helpful and friendly. However the one meal we had which was lunch today was disappointing. We wanted something light but tasty so the 4 of us opted for the Caesar salads. Terrible dressing, very acidic and rather strong unpleasant fishy taste with tough chicken pieces. We should have sent them back but they were very busy with an event so didn't want to wait while it was sorted. Tried to eat them but left most of it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your review of the runnymede and I am so pleased that you agree with other reviews that the hotel has a stunning location by the river Thames. I am glad that all the team that you met were helpful and friendly.
I am however, sorry that you did not enjoy your Caesar salad. We do take all feedback seriously so, since your comments we have revised our homemade dressing recipe so, hopefully, if you visit again you will not be disappointed.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    933
    526
    134
    34
    14
See reviews for
397
556
38
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Had a wonderful Easter break for 3 nights. The food, service and facilities were just fabulous.

Lovely afternoon tea as well.

Can't wait to go again.

We had a free upgrade as well and they gave us a room overlooking the River.

The weather was amazing as well so it was like being overseas.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Travel786110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of the runnymede and I am so pleased that you thought the food, service and facilities were fabulous for your three night Easter Break.
I am glad that we were able to upgrade your room and that the weather was so good for you. We look forward to your next visit when hopefully you can enjoy the outdoor pool and maybe take a boat ride down the Thames.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Very nice hotel for the wedding. Rooms were very good. Excellent breakfast included with the room. Location on the river was scenic and pleasant. We attended a wedding and the reception was very good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: King size beds were large. Very roomy rooms and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your review of the runnymede and I am pleased that you would recommend this hotel to anyone especially for a wedding. I am glad that your rooms were good and you enjoyed the extensive buffet on offer.
We look forward to your next visit when hopefully you will have some time to relax by the river and enjoy the facilities on offer in the hotel.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Runnymede. We needed a break away from normal family life after a really bad year, with illnesses and family loss. It was exactly what we needed. The spa treatments were so nice and relaxing, the room on Riverside was beautiful and the food was absolutely to die for. Also, all the staff were very pleasant and always happy to help.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RIORIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review of the runnymede hotel and I am so pleased that after a bad year you enjoyed your break and were able to relax with the treatments in the spa and that you enjoyed the views from your room and the quality of the food.
I have passed on your kind comments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

From check in to check out the staff make life so easy for you often anticipating your needs. We have stayed at the Hotel 20 times in the last 3 years and this has to be the best recommendation.. Overall we cannot fault the service and facilities. The rooms are exceptionally clean and room service is complete and prompt. Over the last 3 years it has been difficult to nominate a special member of staff as there are so many candidates for praise. The disabled rooms are facilities are excellent.

Room Tip: Try and book a room with walk in shower facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bustertracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review of the runnymede and I am so pleased that you look upon us as your home away from home. I am so pleased that you are such a regular and that you find the rooms clean. I have passed on your comments to the entire team at the hotel as it is feedback such as yours that encourages them to provide the high levels of service on which we pride ourselves on.
We very much look forward to your 21st visit.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was our second weekend break at The Runnymede.
Stayed in a deluxe double riverside on both occasions which was great size, very comfortable and lovely views over the Thames.
Although it shows two windows on the website for this room, we were advised that there are only 2 rooms classed as deluxe double riverside with a double window and the usual is just one window which is not as good, and makes the room much darker. Also the bathroom has both a bath and a shower which is much nicer. Having been put in the room with one window we asked if there was a room available with the 2 windows and we were shown it and were allowed to move, no queries and sorted out immediately. Well done staff at The Runnymede :-)
Dinner in the left bank restaurant was very nice, plenty of choice, nice atmosphere, all the food was very fresh and the staff very helpful.
Breakfast was very nice, again lots of choice, very fresh, lovely views from the tables by the window. Love the daily smoothies, tea and coffee topped up whenever required, nice place to unwind in the morning with the paper.
Cannot comment on the spa and the pool as we were too lazy to use the facilities or even go and look at them. Maybe next time :-)
Would recommend the hotel for a relaxing time away, in a lovely location, great walks along the river or a short drive to Windsor for sightseeing or shopping.
We managed to get a great deal on the weekend away including dinner on the first night so have ticked value as excellent on the rating. Selected very good for spa facilities as we know people that have used it and stated it was very nice

Room Tip: Always choose river view room if possible, why stay next to the thames but not be able to see it whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank spiralbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of the runnymede and I am so glad that you found everything relaxing and enjoyed the location with the views over the river Thames and the proximately to Windsor
We do have various room designs and some do have the two windows and I am pleased that we were able to move you to one of these on your request.
I am also glad that you found the food fresh with lots of choice and that you especially enjoyed the daily smoothies.
We look forward to your next visit when hopefully you will be able to have a soak in the indoor or outdoor pool or hire one of the boats for a lazy sail along the river.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

If you are looking for a romantic weekend, think twice: this is a real family place, and you will not find the peace and tranquillity you might be looking for.
We used to come here years ago, and we had very good memories of the place, which is indeed in a fantastic location. We had dinner in the "Leftbank" restaurant, which is really a buffet restaurant: food was average, and the place pretty noisy.
One thing is really exceptional, though: the staff, every one of them, friendly, helpful, and smiling: where did they find these rare pearls?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LaElda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your review of the runnymede and I am pleased that you found all the team here friendly, helpful and smiling. I have passed these comments onto the team so they can see how much their efforts are appreciated.
We are a family friendly hotel but if you visit us during term time there are fewer families in the hotel and we do have child free times in the spa every day.
Leftbank is a very popular restaurant for both families and couples with its wide range of dishes available for guests to choose from but if you prefer to be waited on we do have the Lock Bar and Kitchen our a la carte restaurant available to.
We hope we see you in the future.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egham
1.5 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
1,058 reviews
2.2 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
9.3 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,568 reviews
4.3 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
22.1 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Runnymede on Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Runnymede on Thames

Property: The Runnymede on Thames
Address: Windsor Road, Egham TW20 0AG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Egham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Egham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Runnymede on Thames 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the banks of the river Thames we are the perfect location for a short break. Our family friendly hotel is near attractions, theme parks and fantastic sights. There's so much to do right here too with riverside walks, our award-winning spa, gorgeous riverside dining and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Runnymede on Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Runnymede-On-Thames Hotel Egham
Runnymede Hotel Egham
Hotel Runnymede
The Runnymede On Thames Egham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing