We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Runnymede on Thames

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Runnymede on Thames
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Egham
Certificate of Excellence
surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

From the fantastic buffet lunch on Sunday, the beautiful room, the lovely spa, the friendly and helpful staff and the gorgeous setting by the Thames I could not fault anything about the runnymede. I felt that everyone there was committed to offering a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sarahk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of your stay at the runnymede. I have passed on your kind comments to all the team so they know how much their efforts are appreciated.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    871
    497
    131
    31
    11
See reviews for
374
523
34
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had a lovely stay in this super hotel. The staff were particularly helpful , with everything from a light bulb that needed replacing in our room (which they did within a few minutes of us reporting it) to bringing jugs of iced water to our room without us asking! The riverside garden is gorgeous and well-cared for and we spent a large part of our stay lying on the comfy oversize cushions watching boats pass by. The food was excellent .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J9MED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your ‘super’ review of the runnymede and I am pleased that you had a lovely stay with us finding the team helpful and quick to respond to your requests.
I am glad that you enjoyed lying on the bean bags on the lawns looking over the river as the boats sailed by; perhaps on your next visit you can hire one of our boats and experience the river for yourselves.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

On reading other reviews I would have to agree this hotel is in a stunning setting on the river. The staff all were very helpful and friendly. However the one meal we had which was lunch today was disappointing. We wanted something light but tasty so the 4 of us opted for the Caesar salads. Terrible dressing, very acidic and rather strong unpleasant fishy taste with tough chicken pieces. We should have sent them back but they were very busy with an event so didn't want to wait while it was sorted. Tried to eat them but left most of it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your review of the runnymede and I am so pleased that you agree with other reviews that the hotel has a stunning location by the river Thames. I am glad that all the team that you met were helpful and friendly.
I am however, sorry that you did not enjoy your Caesar salad. We do take all feedback seriously so, since your comments we have revised our homemade dressing recipe so, hopefully, if you visit again you will not be disappointed.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Had a wonderful Easter break for 3 nights. The food, service and facilities were just fabulous.

Lovely afternoon tea as well.

Can't wait to go again.

We had a free upgrade as well and they gave us a room overlooking the River.

The weather was amazing as well so it was like being overseas.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Travel786110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of the runnymede and I am so pleased that you thought the food, service and facilities were fabulous for your three night Easter Break.
I am glad that we were able to upgrade your room and that the weather was so good for you. We look forward to your next visit when hopefully you can enjoy the outdoor pool and maybe take a boat ride down the Thames.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Very nice hotel for the wedding. Rooms were very good. Excellent breakfast included with the room. Location on the river was scenic and pleasant. We attended a wedding and the reception was very good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: King size beds were large. Very roomy rooms and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your review of the runnymede and I am pleased that you would recommend this hotel to anyone especially for a wedding. I am glad that your rooms were good and you enjoyed the extensive buffet on offer.
We look forward to your next visit when hopefully you will have some time to relax by the river and enjoy the facilities on offer in the hotel.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Runnymede. We needed a break away from normal family life after a really bad year, with illnesses and family loss. It was exactly what we needed. The spa treatments were so nice and relaxing, the room on Riverside was beautiful and the food was absolutely to die for. Also, all the staff were very pleasant and always happy to help.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RIORIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review of the runnymede hotel and I am so pleased that after a bad year you enjoyed your break and were able to relax with the treatments in the spa and that you enjoyed the views from your room and the quality of the food.
I have passed on your kind comments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

From check in to check out the staff make life so easy for you often anticipating your needs. We have stayed at the Hotel 20 times in the last 3 years and this has to be the best recommendation.. Overall we cannot fault the service and facilities. The rooms are exceptionally clean and room service is complete and prompt. Over the last 3 years it has been difficult to nominate a special member of staff as there are so many candidates for praise. The disabled rooms are facilities are excellent.

Room Tip: Try and book a room with walk in shower facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bustertracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review of the runnymede and I am so pleased that you look upon us as your home away from home. I am so pleased that you are such a regular and that you find the rooms clean. I have passed on your comments to the entire team at the hotel as it is feedback such as yours that encourages them to provide the high levels of service on which we pride ourselves on.
We very much look forward to your 21st visit.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egham
1.5 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
2.0 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
9.3 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,444 reviews
21.4 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Runnymede on Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Runnymede on Thames

Property: The Runnymede on Thames
Address: Windsor Road, Egham TW20 0AG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Egham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Egham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Runnymede on Thames 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the banks of the river Thames we are the perfect location for a short break. Our family friendly hotel is near attractions, theme parks and fantastic sights. There's so much to do right here too with riverside walks, our award-winning spa, gorgeous riverside dining and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your The Runnymede on Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Runnymede-On-Thames Hotel Egham
Runnymede Hotel Egham
Hotel Runnymede
The Runnymede On Thames Egham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing