We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Runnymede on Thames
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Egham
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable break”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We used this as our base while visiting West London. The hotel lounge was busy when we arrived on Friday afternoon. However there were more than enough places to sit and relax. The staff were all very attentive and helpful. Second floor room with river view was good. Food in the evening and at breakfast was very good. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlineal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of the runnymede-on-thames. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed relaxing in our lounge and that you found our staff to be attentive and helpful. I am also delighted that you were pleased with your river view room and that you found our food offering to be very good. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    906
    510
    132
    32
    12
See reviews for
387
535
35
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Booked a weekend to watch the golf at Wentworth. Our 1st visit. What a fabulous place! Wish we had booked a bit longer as didn't have time to use the spa facilities which looked great. Would recommend anyone to stay here. Food and choice was exceptional. All staff were very friendly and attentive. Brilliant customer care. Excellent deal. View from bedroom over river fabulous and, with the generous grounds, makes you feel you are in the middle of no-where yet it was right by the M25 so extremely handy for access. Considering this and the fact that we could see plenty of planes passing nearby, it was remarkably quiet as well. We have stayed in a number of hotels of different star ratings over the years but usually much prefer to stay in self-catering apartments as never wholly comfortable in a hotel. However, this must rate the best hotel we have ever stayed in for all round experience and certainly the best food ever so we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May262014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review of the runnymede-on-thames. I am thrilled to read that you thought we offered the best all round experience as well as the best food you have enjoyed in a hotel. I am also very pleased that you were impressed by our staff, our grounds and the view from your bedroom as well as the convenience and peacefulness of our location. We hope to welcome you back very soon, and hopefully you will be able to enjoy our spa facilities during your next visit.

Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have just had one of the most relaxing weekends away, our first time at the Runnymede on Thames. The staff were very attentive, we checked in early, despite our room not being available, we had full use of the excellent Spa facilities until our room became available long before the 2pm check-in. The food was delicious, dinner in The Lock restaurant and breakfast outside by the river. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAN27_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for kind review. I am delighted that your first visit to the runnymede-on-thames proved to be a thoroughly relaxing experience, and that you found our staff to be very attentive. I am pleased that you were able to enjoy our spa facilities whilst your room was prepared and that you thought that the food in The Lock Bar and Kitchen was delicious. I have passed on your lovely comments to the rest of the team, and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Whenever I go to Runnymead Hotel and Spa it blows my mind. The service is second to none and I think a lot of other places could learn a great deal from them.
Was here on business , facilities are lovely , food is even better ..... It's not so good if you're attempting to loose weight and have no will power though ... I'd definitely recommend this place , everyone's always smiling , nothing is too difficult . You can even go for a boat ride with a picnic lunch although the food in the restaurant is much better .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kemi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your glowing review. I am delighted that the hotel ‘blows your mind’ whenever you visit and that you think that our service is second to none. I have passed on your kind comments regarding the friendliness of our staff to the team, it is great to know that their efforts are appreciated. I am thrilled that you enjoy our food offering so much and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We are a family of four adults and had a really enjoyable one night stay with dinner and breakfast as part of an anniversary occasion. This is our second visit to the hotel and we will go again as a special treat. I would recommend the Runnymede to anyone - give it a try, you will be delighted.

Room Tip: On both our visits we have been allocated a standard room - each time the room had a different aspec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for choosing the runnymede-on-thames as the venue for your anniversary celebration. It is great to read your glowing endorsement which I have shared with the team, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Good hotel; great for families, had a lovely stay overall and would definitely consider a revisit in summer to take advantage of the river/summer activities.

Disppointing email received from the hotel manager almost a month after our departure though - asking for £60+ to be settled within 7 days (bar/food bill that was omitted from our departure invoice in their error). We did settle it after review, but that email alone tainted our stay unfortunately. Would the hotel have settled an overcharge if I had contacted them so long after departure?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah383864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that you would revisit the runnymede in the summer to enjoy the activities such as the outdoor pool and the boat hire.
I am so sorry that there were some items missing off your bill of which you were notified later in the month. I agree the late notification was not ideal nor the somewhat unclear manner in which it was communicated to you by the Reception Manager.
However, despite the disappointment I am pleased that you will return and we look forward to your next visit in the summer.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We've stayed in this hotel a number of times over the past few years and are always surprised how great it is! We got married here in 2010 and return once or twice a year for a visit. Everything about the hotel is great - the relaxed informal lounge area, the two fantastic restaurants, friendly staff, amazing setting on the Thames as well as the brilliant health club. I highly recommend a visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank IrlAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your review of the runnymede and I am so pleased that you chose us to celebrate your special day in 2010 and that you return every year.
I am glad that you still think the hotel is great and that you enjoy using the health club.
I have passed on your feedback to the team so they can see how much their efforts are appreciated.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egham
1.5 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
2.2 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
9.3 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
22.1 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Runnymede on Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Runnymede on Thames

Property: The Runnymede on Thames
Address: Windsor Road, Egham TW20 0AG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Egham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Egham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Runnymede on Thames 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the banks of the river Thames we are the perfect location for a short break. Our family friendly hotel is near attractions, theme parks and fantastic sights. There's so much to do right here too with riverside walks, our award-winning spa, gorgeous riverside dining and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Runnymede on Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Runnymede-On-Thames Hotel Egham
Runnymede Hotel Egham
Hotel Runnymede
The Runnymede On Thames Egham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing