We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1 night stay & coming back for more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Runnymede on Thames
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Egham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“1 night stay & coming back for more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Firstly i have driven past this hotel for years and always wondered what it would be like to stay & i must say the expectations were met in january of 2014. I booked a night stay over for me & my partner with breakfast included, we had a standard double room & were astonished at the quality, cleanliness & size of the room, It was fantastic the bathroom was amazing, the complimentary items were also great. We dined in the lock restaurant which was equally amazing the food & service 10/10, we found our stay here was beyond what we expected all the staff very helpful & friendly, the location is simply spot on beside the lovely river views & also 5 mins drive into old windsor, a great day out..we enjoyed our stay so much within a month of checking out we are due to check back in this summer for a weekend stay :) highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrA1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of the runnymede-on-thames and I am so pleased that having driven past us a few times you chose to stay with us earlier in the year. I am glad that you found your room comfortable, clean and spacious with an amazing bathroom with complimentary toiletries. I am also pleased that you enjoyed your meal in the Lock Bar and Kitchen rating both the food and service 10 out of 10. I have passed on your kind comments regarding the food and service to the team as it is always nice for them to receive positive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future maybe for more walks along the river and into Old Windsor.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    504
    130
    31
    11
See reviews for
381
531
35
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We attended a charity function for one night. Our standard double room was comfortable, with all we could need. We arrived late afternoon, and showered and got ready for our evening. Toiletries were sufficent for both of us, and during the evening, fresh towels replaced our used ones. All staff were polite and helpful. Would love to return for a longer stay. Oh, and lovely location.
Barbara from Gravesend

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your great review of the runnymede and I am pleased that you loved our location and were comfortable in your room and appreciated the fresh towels supplied during the turn down service.
I have passed on your kind comments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Went to the hotel for a Charity function and had a standard double room. Very well equiped, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was busy but staff supplied tea and coffee while we waited and only waited a short time. Breakfast was very good and staff in all areas pleasant and informative. Intend to revisit this hotel in order to explore the riverside walk and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Our room was suitable for one night but the A/C was a bit noisy and facing the river would have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of the runnymede and I am pleased that you enjoyed the charity event you attended and found the room comfortable, clean and well equipped.
I am also pleased that you enjoyed breakfast and thought the team here were helpful and pleasant.
We look forward to your return visit when you can explore the river walks or even take a boat out for a cruise down the river.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We were in a room in the new annex, it was comfortable, but just like any other hotel room. The breakfast was very good & plentiful. All the staff were very friendly, attentive & helpful. As the weather was very good we spent time in the outdoor pool, it was lovely.it was nice to sit out on the side of the Thames watching the boats. All in all a very pleasant stay.

Helpful?
Thank nananx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of the runnymede and I am pleased that you found your room comfortable. I have passed on your kind feedback regarding the breakfast to the Chef and breakfast team as it is always nice to receive positive feedback.
I am also pleased that you found the team here friendly, attentive and helpful and that you were able to take advantage of the weather and enjoy the outdoor pool and watch the boats sail by on the River Thames.
We very much look forward to your next visit to us.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
562 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Having dined at the hotel previously we thought it a good place to stay overnight with visitors from the USA. Could the room have been any smaller? We had booked a package on DBB but were so disappointed in the overall offerings (see other reviews) . There was a river view which was nice but there was little room to unpack or hang anything. The bathroom was tiny and the bath at was soiled....there are better places near bye. Tiny double beds.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brian_uk12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the runnymede and I am glad that you enjoyed the river location, I am however sorry that you found our standard double rooms to be too small although I can assure you that we have a rolling programme in place currently to replace the non-slip surfaces in some of the baths where it has become worn.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Excellent hotel with fantastic views and walks along the river Thames, five star food menu great staff in all aspects of the hotel was 5 star, short trip gets you into Windsor where we was lucky enough to see the changing of the guards.

Helpful?
Thank Rene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of the runnymede and I am so pleased that you found the hotel excellent, the river views and walks fantastic, the food five star and our location close to Windsor to be convenient.
We very much look forward to your next visit to us.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel with a family group to celebrate an anniversary. On the whole, the hotel is good, but a few areas let it down.

The good things - since the refurbishment all the public areas are very comfortable and inviting, plus the location of the hotel alongside the river couldn't be better. Lunch in the Lock restaurant was very good as was the breakfast. The dinner buffet was OK. The bedroom was a good size and in good condition, even with the extra bed needed for our 4 year old. He loved the 'bear' sleeping bag and duck. We used the spa and this was good too - the children's pool is a great size, and having a lifeguard is a bonus.

The downsides...
Having to walk though reception in robes to get to the spa because the back route has been blocked off.
In the Spa, fellow guests kept walking round the pool with outdoor shoes on and staff didn't mention it. Also, towels were left reserving loungers for hours on end again without staff doing anything.
The floor in the spa around the pool is a death trap (we stayed here 3 years ago and witnessed 2 adults in the space of 1 hour fall over, one needed medical attention) so I was expecting to see this having been rectified. Alas not, the floor is so dangerous. This time I witnessed an 8 year old fall over who wasn't running; the surface looks very grippy when dry, but when we, has no traction.
We had an all inclusive deal but were surprised when we checked out to be charged extra for the camp bed for our son and extra for his buffet meal the night before.
We realised that we had left a soft toy in the bed and called the hotel less than an hour after leaving. It was never found which was disappointing, especially as notified so quickly.
Struggled with our bags right outside but was only offered assistance once we had actually got into the hotel.
The cost - as a sister hotel to The Grove, the prices are approaching The Grove, but the quality of food & accommodation is not quite in the same league, so seems expensive in comparison.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your extensive review of the runnymede and I am pleased that you chose the runnymede for your family to celebrate an anniversary.
I am glad that you found the public areas of the hotel comfortable, the location on the riverside excellent and the restaurants for dinner and breakfast good. I am also glad that your son was comfortable in his extra bed with the bear sleeping bag.
I am, however, disappointed that you found the spa disappointing and the floor slippery. The lifeguards regularly squeegee the floor dry and we re –tiled the poolside last year which is regularly slip tested and does comply with the safety levels. We do have signage asking the adults to put blue shoe covers over outdoor shoes but will remind the lifeguards and Spa team to remind guests about this and clearing towels from the beds that aren’t in use.
I am sorry that you were not aware that your child’s bed and meals were not included in the package you paid but all our packages are based on two adults sharing a room.
I have asked the Housekeeper to re-check the lost property for your son’s toy and I am sorry that it has not been located.
We take all feedback seriously at the runnymede and will pass on your comments to all the teams so we can ensure that the service we provide is the standard we pride ourselves on.
We do hope that you will return in the near future.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egham
1.5 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
2.2 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
9.3 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,478 reviews
22.1 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Runnymede on Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Runnymede on Thames

Property: The Runnymede on Thames
Address: Windsor Road, Egham TW20 0AG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Egham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Egham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Runnymede on Thames 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the banks of the river Thames we are the perfect location for a short break. Our family friendly hotel is near attractions, theme parks and fantastic sights. There's so much to do right here too with riverside walks, our award-winning spa, gorgeous riverside dining and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Runnymede on Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Runnymede-On-Thames Hotel Egham
Runnymede Hotel Egham
Hotel Runnymede
The Runnymede On Thames Egham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing