We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Runnymede on Thames
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Egham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely Location”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked a couple Retreat for our wedding anniversary, upgrading to a Double Deluxe River View room - an extra £85. The room wasn't that big, I expected a lot bigger for the extra money.

The room was reasonable decorated, the bed was comfy, it was all clean.

I'd been in the business centre for a number of work things, so had high expectations of the hotel side but it didn't actually match them...


The package included a hot stone massage each - which was blissful Becky & Chloe were both amazing therapists.

Dinner was included too, and this was really good, with the added nice touch of 'Happy Anniversary' chocolates at the end of the meal.

All in all it was a lovely relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaMcKrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of the runnymede and I am pleased that you chose to visit us for an anniversary stay rather than having meetings here. I am glad that your treatments from Becky and Chloe were blissful and as a result of your feedback these two therapists will be nominated for our employee of the quarter award.
I am also glad that you thought dinner was really good and you liked the anniversary plate given at the end of your meal.
I am however sorry that your room did not match your expectations but am pleased that you found the standards of cleanliness met your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    960
    533
    137
    35
    14
See reviews for
411
569
38
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

A lovely hotel, but a bit under staffed. The rooms were lovely, spacious, clean and good AC. Arrived Friday night, sat outside on my own and waited so long for a waiter to get a drink - the rest of the weekend was the same. Saturday evening sat outside again and when my drink order was finally taken, it took 15 minutes for my drink to arrive. The Lock Restaurant was a very pleasant experience and the service and food was GREAT! The swimming pool was lovely, but clearly not enough lounge chairs to accommodate a busy sunny weekend, but plenty of room for extra lounge chairs. There were towels reserving all of the lounge chairs, but no one on them - when we questioned the pool attendants, they said no reserving .... But clearly there was, and the many pool attendants were not monitoring this.

I would stay again as it is in a beautiful spot.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurphyWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the runnymede and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would visit again. I have passed on your comments to the team in the Lock Bar and Kitchen as it is always nice to receive positive feedback on the food and service.
I am sorry that there was a delay in serving you drinks in the Lounge and this feedback has been given to the Lounge Manager for him to review so we can improve the speed of drinks service as we had plenty of staff on shift over the weekend.
I am also sorry that you felt there were not enough loungers in the outdoor pool area. We do have a large number of loungers and also have picnic blankets available for when the loungers and bean bags are in use. We do not reserve loungers and your feedback on this has been passed to the Spa manager to rectify the situation as this was not your perception.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Booked into the hotel by a third party for a business "overnighter.". The check-in staff were exceptionally welcoming and very personable. This was mirrored by all the other staff throughout my stay and it is a major plus for the hotel - everyone is really pleasant. The room was slightly smaller that I had expected and the bathroom was a bit of a crush. Furthermore, there was a loose floor tile and signs of general wear - stained floor because the shower always leaks and has damaged the floor slightly. However, the weather was warm and dry and I had an excellent view of the river! Dinner was good quality food well presented and served. Breakfast too, was perfectly fine. Another plus was an excellently equipped gym with helpful staff to get you through the logging in to the machines! I didn't try the beauty spa! Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your good review of the runnymede-on-thames. I am so pleased that despite not booking the hotel yourself you were impressed with the exceptional welcome and personable greeting given at reception during check in and the service from all the other team members in the hotel.
I am pleased that you had an enjoyable dinner and thought the food was of good quality and presented well.
I am also pleased that you were able to make use of the extensive gym facilities and that the Gym team helped you with the machines.
I have passed on your feedback regarding the bathrooms to the Head Housekeeper and Maintenance Manager so they can fix the tile and stained floor.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Wonderful weekend away, from relaxing in the spa to sitting outside watching the boats go by on the river Thames. Walking alog the river. Food out of this world nothing to much trouble for the start. Room 207 a must, lovely view,quiet and peaceful. Going home relaxed and stress free thank you the runnymead .ps a special thank you to Craig Spencer who made our weekend even more special.cant wait to come back again.

Room Tip: River side rooms have the better views of the Thames and if upgrades are available allways ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you so much for glowing your review of the runnymede and I am so glad that you had a wonderful weekend with us and you have gone home relaxed after watching the boats sail by, walking along the river bank and enjoying our food offering.
I am also pleased that I was able to personally ensure that you had a special weekend away.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the runnymede soon.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

It has been more than a decade since my last visit. The hotel lobby and the rooms were updated making the hotel an even better value. Rooms are spacious and modern. The gem was the walk along the Thames. Early morning crisp air with the views of the garden and homes was refreshing and a great way to start the day. The hotel had a good hearty English breakfast buffet.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank chinaren_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your positive review of the runnymede-on-thames and I am so pleased that you like the refurbished ground floor of the hotel and the updated bedrooms finding them spacious and modern.
I am also glad that you enjoyed a good hearty English breakfast in the Leftbank and had a nice walk along the Thames.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I have stayed here about 26 times and it is one of the best hotels I have stayed at
Ideal if you are with children ,or as a couple ,the outdoor pool whether permitting is lovely ,
And sitting on the garden facing the Thames just watching the boats go by ,food is superb ,and the breakfast is one of the best I have had in all my travels ,if you are looking for a lovely hotel this is the one ,

Room Tip: Always ask for an upgrade they are always obliging
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midge123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of the runnymede. As one of our regular guests it is great to see that you still find the hotel one of the best you have stayed at.
I’m glad that you enjoy sitting watching the boats go by on the river, relaxing in the outdoor pool when the weather is nice and that our breakfast offering is one of the best you have had throughout your travels.
We very much look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel to attend a Charity function. We had booked a twin room, which was loverly, clean and comfortable.
The food was out of this world, and the staff were all friendly andnothing was too much trouble. The only negative I could find at the Charity function was the waiting staff were too quick to remove our glass of wine even though it was full, when we left the table to go for a dance or the toliets.
Breakfast was plentyful and had a vast selection which was all very enjoyable.
The hotel is situated alongside the River Thames and it is great to be able walk along the river and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally_Steve_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the runnymede and I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us and thought your room was lovely, clean and comfortable.
I have passed your kind comments about the friendliness and helpfulness of the team serving your charity function onto team members as it is always nice to receive good feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed breakfast and thought that the food throughout your stay was out of this world and you enjoyed your walk along the river.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egham
1.5 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
1,076 reviews
2.2 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
9.3 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,598 reviews
4.3 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
10.6 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Runnymede on Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Runnymede on Thames

Property: The Runnymede on Thames
Address: Windsor Road, Egham TW20 0AG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Egham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Egham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Runnymede on Thames 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the banks of the river Thames we are the perfect location for a short break. Our family friendly hotel is near attractions, theme parks and fantastic sights. There's so much to do right here too with riverside walks, our award-winning spa, gorgeous riverside dining and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Runnymede on Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Runnymede-On-Thames Hotel Egham
Runnymede Hotel Egham
Hotel Runnymede
The Runnymede On Thames Egham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing