We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family overnight stay and birthday lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Runnymede on Thames
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Egham
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family overnight stay and birthday lunch”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We visited the Runnymede-on-Thames and 7 of us had an overnight stay on the Saturday with an evening dinner included. The venue of the hotel was lovely with river views and plenty of seating space inside and out both in the evening and in the daytime. All the food we experienced was absolutely wonderful with a huge choice - and puddings to die for! The staff were really great, very courteous both in hotel and restaurant and nothing was too much trouble. On the Sunday we had a wonderful breakfast again - with a massive choice! - followed later by a Sunday lunch for 22 of us including children and babies and as this was for a special 60th birthday we wanted everyone to enjoy themselves which they really did. We felt that we were fairly demanding guests with lots of requests and changes and again, nothing was too much trouble. Although all the food was on a buffet "help yourselves" style all the food choices for the Sunday lunch were completely different from the previous evening. The children even ate well and loved playing on the lawn outside afterwards where games and bean bags were provided. I would definitely recommend to anyone for rooms, food and a great luxurious yet relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the least noise from the M25!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your great review of the runnymede and I am pleased that your party enjoyed their stay at the hotel.
I am glad that you found plenty of seating for your group and the food that you experienced was absolutely wonderful.
I am also pleased that your family’s birthday celebrations were enjoyable and everyone had a good time including the children who were able to play on the riverside lawns with garden games.
I am pleased that you would recommend us to anyone for the rooms, food and great yet relaxed atmosphere.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    933
    526
    134
    34
    14
See reviews for
397
556
38
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit and having been impressed when we first stayed 4 years ago I was worried we might be disappointed but I need not have. Lovely hotel with great staff - so friendly and helpful. Rooms were very comfortable, amenities great, setting lovely. We would definitely go back

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of the runnymede and I am pleased that on your second visit you were not disappointed and you found the rooms comfortable, amenities great and the location lovely.
I have passed on your kind comments about the team being friendly and helpful as it is always nice for them to receive positive feedback.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed one night at the Runnymede on Thames hotel for an Anniversary treat. We made full use of its facilities and ate dinner and breakfast whilst there. The food was fantastic, the service was very professional and quick. The room was smart and very clean with a large and very comfortable bed. The spa was lovely and the outdoor pool was fantastic, the outdoor tennis courts were very well maintained. The cherry on the top of the cake was the fabulous location next to the thames and sitting out having dinner next to it. The hotel had lots of fantastically quirky features which we loved. We will definitely return and may even take our children next time as they seemed to accomadate children really well as well. The park looked good, the giant connect 4, table tennis etc. are a great touch and having a few hours in the outdoor pool allocated to floats and fun is a fab idea.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of your anniversary stay at the runnymede and I am pleased that you made full use of the hotel’s spa, outdoor pool and tennis courts and enjoyed the restaurants for dinner and breakfast where you found the food fantastic and the service professional and quick. I’m glad you also liked our fabulous river location
We look forward to your next visit perhaps with your children so they can enjoy the giant games, splash time in the outdoor pool and the children’s play area as well as the walks along the river and maybe a boat trip.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

If it was not for the stunning location on the banks of the Thames, l would have nothing good to say. 1970's style room decor, food no better than a harvester and the most arrogant, rude and obnoxious restaurant manager I have ever met. Congratulations to Conan Breslin for making poor food taste even worse with his attitude. guests be warned. Its not good.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank Louisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
therunnymede, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
It is deeply regrettable that this guest has chosen to write a review of this nature as the review is entirely unfounded and moreover overly personal towards a fantastic manager, Conan Breslin who has worked for the hotel for many years and receives many many compliments. Reviews such as these are deeply upsetting for the hard working and well meaning kitchen and service teams and entirely misguided and undeserved .The partner of this guest was entirely unreasonable towards the hotel personnel. They would not be welcome back .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My family and I had been searching for a family friendly hotel within a half hour drive from our home for a short break away. We happened upon the Runnymede Hotel and turned up unannounced and asked if we could be shown around to see what the facilities were like. We were asked to wait in the lobby and shown to some comfy chairs and offered a drink for ourselves and our children which was a really nice touch. The duty manager came and introduced himself and took time to show us around the complex and even helped us to choose a suitable room should we wish to stay. We were made to feel like important customers and the children were very much included. We were so impressed with the whole service that we decided to book 2 nights. We even took and additional child who was my son's friend and they added an extra bed to our room and gave us a lovely large room which had a bunk bed, double bed and single bed to accommodate us all - which was still spacious and comfortable. The children were given gingerbread man, kids pack and a cute sleeping bag on their beds, we were left a bottle of wine and a lovely basket of fruit such a nice touch. My teenage son and his friend enjoyed a little independence and hotel staff treated them with care and respect. There were garden games on the lawn for the children, a beautiful view of the river and a Lock nearby. The pool area was a big hit, clean, tidy and brilliant for the children to let off steam. there is a great relaxation room where you can get a hot drink and fruit snack free of charge which is a lovely touch. The food was amazing and the choice was huge. We ate in both restaurants and staff were very attentive. There was a great area for the kids to choose and make their own meal - I believe it was pizza.
Our whole stay was fabulous and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and couldn't recommend it enough. Will be going back with the Girls for a Spa weekend soon as it was so nice.

Thanks Runnymede staff for a great stay and great memories

Room Tip: you can request a disabled room if it is not already in use as it is huge, spacious and has a big ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of the runnymede and I am pleased that the team at the hotel made you feel so welcome. I am also pleased that your children loved the hotel with the outdoor pool, garden games, and ducklings dinner offering.
I am glad that the Duty Manager on Duty gave you all the options for your family and on arrival your requirements were met and that you liked the small touches such as the gingerbread men, welcome packs and snuggle sacks on the beds.
We look forward to your next visit with your friends for a spa weekend or with the family for another break close to home.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here during the first of the May bank holiday weekends. The hotel was very busy but this did not affect our stay. We booked a deluxe double room which was plush, the bed comfy and plenty of space. The weather was nice enough to sit outside and enjoy the grounds and river views as well as being able to take walks along the river.
Food was good with plenty of selection.
Service was excellent, nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
We booked a massage each. Unfortunately they did not have the facilities to do a couples massage. They were also renovating their treatment rooms so treatments were carried out in allocated rooms set up for this. This did not, however, affect our treatments in any way. The massage was excellent. My therapist was Beccy and I would highly recommend her.
The spa facilities were good. They have an adults only time each day so we were able to use the spa in peace during those hours which was relaxing.

Would highly recommend this hotel to both couples and families.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gurpreet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of the runnymede and I am pleased that you and your husband liked the hotel and I am also pleased that you were able to enjoy the outdoor space with walks along the river and throughout the grounds of the hotel.
I am glad that despite the relocation of the beauty rooms during the improvement works you and your husband enjoyed the massages; because you mentioned Beccy by name in your review she has been automatically nominated for the Employee of the Quarter award.
We look forward to your next visit to the runnymede.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Even the standard room is plush. Not often you hear that is it? Have been delighted with my stay as a part of a conference. The facility's are fantastic for both the leisure and business traveler. The outside seating area next to the Thames is amazing. Shame about the planes overhead but you soon forget. We were lucky to have private dining and the food was great! Comfortable bed, great rooms and great service. Will certainly consider a visit with the family.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the side facing the lake, but i think cost a little more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you so much for your glowing review of the runnymede as a conference venue and I am pleased that you think the hotel is ‘a fantastic hotel in a great location’.
I am glad that you found your room plush with a comfortable bed, the facilities fantastic, the outside seating overlooking the Thames amazing and the service great.
We look forward to welcoming you back with your family soon.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egham
1.5 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
1,058 reviews
2.2 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
9.3 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,568 reviews
4.3 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
22.1 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Runnymede on Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Runnymede on Thames

Property: The Runnymede on Thames
Address: Windsor Road, Egham TW20 0AG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Egham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Egham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Runnymede on Thames 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the banks of the river Thames we are the perfect location for a short break. Our family friendly hotel is near attractions, theme parks and fantastic sights. There's so much to do right here too with riverside walks, our award-winning spa, gorgeous riverside dining and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Runnymede on Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Runnymede-On-Thames Hotel Egham
Runnymede Hotel Egham
Hotel Runnymede
The Runnymede On Thames Egham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing