We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Runnymede on Thames
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Egham
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed as a family while visiting a local attraction.

We initially chose this hotel because we could be accommodated as a family of four without the hassle of adjoining rooms or having to book the grand-high-master-of-the-universe suite (which you seem to have to do as a family in many UK hotels).

Check in was friendly and efficient. We arrived late and ordered room service which was, quite possibly, the best room service meal I have had. Even better, all four dishes arrived promptly and piping hot.

Our room, while not enormous, was spotlessly clean, well appointed and big enough for 2 adults and 2 young children to manoeuvre without falling over eachother. The children were furnished with activity packs and extra toiletries. This attention to detail was very much appreciated as younger guests can sometimes be overlooked. If I had to improve one thing about the room, and this is terribly nitpicky, I would say that a larger television screen would be nice.

In daylight we could fully appreciate the lovely setting and enjoyed a morning walk along the Thames. Boats are available for hire and I would definitely consider this on our next visit. (Buffet) breakfast was excellent; well presented and high quality.

The R on T is immaculately maintained, food is very good and staff are friendly and efficient. We will definitely return and are looking forward to sampling more of the food and, perhaps, attending the spa.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellshousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your great review of the runnymede and I am pleased that we were able to accommodate your family well. I am glad that the check in was friendly and efficient and that you had probably the best room service meal ever on your first evening with us.
I am delighted that you found the rooms clean and well-appointed although we shall review the TV screen size.
It is good to see that your enjoyment of the food offering extended to breakfast and that you enjoyed your morning walk along the river and our riverside setting.
We very much look forward to your next visit so you can hire a boat, relax in the spa or visit one of the many tourist attractions in the area.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    518
    134
    33
    12
See reviews for
392
547
37
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

If you like a travelodge room with an intimate view of planes overhead this is the place for you. Probably great for a work conference but not for an intimate getaway. Room was small with a tiny TV mini bar a rip off and the room service rubbish. Small choice and a ham sandwich costs £12 ( not a problem but you normally get some additional accompaniments). Really disappointed! Called for room service and the choice was poor at the least. Very close to the m25 which could be an advantage but not if you are going away for a relaxing weekend! Was given a letter on first night advising not to go for breakfast at certain times as it may be busy! Really .. ...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you thought we were not a hotel suitable for an intimate break and were disappointed by our room service offering.
We do advise our guests of the busy times in the restaurant but as a guideline as to when best to visit not as a deterrent.
I’m sorry that our modernity and buzzy atmosphere were not to you liking.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

An excellent choice for families with great family orientated facilities. Extremely helpful and polite staff. Food choices to suit all tastes from adult to fussy child. Would definitely recommend this hotel to any one planning on stay in this area and planning visit's to the local attractions.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Des L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review of the Runnymede and I am pleased that you found the team helpful and polite, the food choices to suit all tastes and great family orientated facilities.
Thank you for recommending us to others planning to stay in the area and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the night as a girls trip away. We booked the Hot Tug which was definately worthwhile and good fun. Unfortunatley on this occasion it couldn't leave the dock as the currents were too strong but they offered us a substantial discount and complimentary fizz. Overall, the hotel is a fabulous place to stay, very relaxed and the rooms were very well equipped and the beds very comfortable, the majority of the staff were helpful and friendly and could not have done more. We had booked the buffet dinner which was superb - the choice was vast and it was cooked beautifully as was breakfast. The only reason I did not give it the full 5 stars was because of the person who was in charge of the outdoor pool area. We took the remainder of our bottle in an ice bucket to the poolside after our Hot Tug - the staff actually opened the gate for us and let us in. Whilst we were in the pool, the supervisor/manager came and just took the ice bucket and wine away with no question as to who's it was. We swam over to the side and called him back to ask what he was doing. We were advised that glass was not allowed poolside (which we totally understood). He then declared that the bottle was empty (I'm not sure why we would have brought an empty bottle to the pool with us!) and gave us back the ice bucket minus the bottle! All in all we felt this was handled very badly and he certainly had no right to take the bottle away without emptying it into our glasses first. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fluffyvodka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your review of the runnymede and I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to experience the UK’s only HotTug. I am glad that you found a vast choice of food in Leftbank at dinner and breakfast and that you thought the bedrooms were well equipped with comfortable beds.
I am, however, sorry that you had a bad experience in the outdoor pool area and your feedback has been passed onto the Spa Manager, although we do not allow glass in the pool area we do have plastic glasses which could have been offered.
I do hope that this lapse in our usually high levels of service will not deter you from visiting again.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Visited for our anniversary, the hotel is just brilliant. Friendly staff, great spa facilities and choice of restaurants. We had a standard room which was still pretty large - facing the car park but value for money was brilliant. Worth looking for a package when staying a weekend as dinner was awesome too!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheChap69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your positive review of the runnymede and I am pleased that you found the team here friendly and the spa and restaurant facilities great.
I am also pleased that the standard room you booked was large enough for you and that overall you thought the hotel was brilliant.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed severel times in the past few years. The reception team warmly welcomed us, as if we are family. We love the refurbished bedrooms overlooking the Thames. Dispite having two wedding's and a 25th Wedding Anniversary . The standard and delivery of food & service was Fanastic. This hotel constantly delivers above my expectations. I love the spa, gym and outside pool, as the weather was good. The breakfast choice & availability was amazing, service was good , even though it was busy. Another Great stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gettin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your positive review of the runnymede and I am pleased that you liked the hotel lawns running to the river and being able to watch the boats sail by.
Unfortunately, the Thames path itself is adjacent to our grounds and not under our control so we are unable to maintain this area but have passed on your feedback to the Environment Agency to see if they are able to address the issue of the muddiness.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus
Level Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely setting with outside seating and lawns running down to Thames river. Nice to watch the many different boats an barges negotiate the lock . The hotel? Busy but reasonable service ad facilities
Only slight criticism would be state of Thames path leading from hotel ( overgrown and muddy)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank bgolfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your positive review of the runnymede and I am pleased that you liked the hotel lawns running to the river and being able to watch the boats sail by.
Unfortunately, the Thames path itself is adjacent to our grounds and not under our control so we are unable to maintain this area but have passed on your feedback to the Environment Agency to see if they are able to address the issue of the muddiness.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egham
1.5 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
1,040 reviews
2.2 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
9.3 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,545 reviews
22.1 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Runnymede on Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Runnymede on Thames

Property: The Runnymede on Thames
Address: Windsor Road, Egham TW20 0AG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Egham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Egham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Runnymede on Thames 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the banks of the river Thames we are the perfect location for a short break. Our family friendly hotel is near attractions, theme parks and fantastic sights. There's so much to do right here too with riverside walks, our award-winning spa, gorgeous riverside dining and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Runnymede on Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Runnymede-On-Thames Hotel Egham
Runnymede Hotel Egham
Hotel Runnymede
The Runnymede On Thames Egham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing