We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“star gazing dinner”
Review of Caffe Gondola

Caffe Gondola
Ranked #10 of 52 Restaurants in Egham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$27
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“star gazing dinner”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

popped in here with the kids for a quick bite.pizza was nice.child portion of spaghetti was ok...but an adult portion wasnt much bigger.shame as tasted good.wine was reasonably priced.i thought the dessert menu was a little overpriced.6.95 for a crepe that wasnt warm ! my daughter was a bit suprised and just pushed it round the plate.overall experience was ok.i would try it again if in the area.the staff were nice and friendly and the surroundings were lovely.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deborah59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    42
    6
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best food and atmosphere in Egham!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Dined at Caffe Gondola for the first time last month to celebrate our anniversary- what a pleasant surprise!
I would highly recommend this Italian restaurant having had a delicious meal at a reasonable price, service by friendly and attentive staff and a lovely atmosphere! We also had a brief chat with the owner who was really welcoming also.
Caffe Gondola is a real treat for any Italian food lover! Keep up the good work! We will be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fleanndennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Year's Eve in the best possible way”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Have been here to celebrate New Year's Eve with all the family and I couldn't ask for a better night out.

The staff and the manager are very welcoming and the chef is brilliant in what he does

Have tasted several dishes and I must say that they are definitely outstanding. This could possibly be our favourite Italian restaurant . We would definitely recommend this place. everything is perfect AND we will be back.

Thank you for PERFECTION.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Franco2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Appalling Christmas party for NHS dept.”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Booked for a party of 18 to dine on 20th December at 7.30 and paid £5 deposit per person for Christmas menu. We all arrived at 7.30 and the restaurant was really busy. After almost an hour, the waitress came to take our order but told us as we hadn't pre booked what we wanted (despite paying £5 deposit for Christmas menu)we would have to order off of the main menu. 10 minutes later the waitress returned and said we could order off the Xmas as long as their supplies lasted. We waited and waited and waited and almost 3 hours after we arrived, our starters appeared and were really rather poor. By 11pm there was no sign of our main courses, and coupled with the fact that some of us had to be at work for 7am the following morning, we informed the waitress that we were leaving. On our departure we spoke to many other disgruntled customers who had received similar service to ourselves. Really, really disappointed. An appalling Christmas party, and would never recommend this restaurant to anyone after our bad experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Hen night!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Was here in mid september for my friends hen night. Must say i wasn't expecting it to be that fantastic, from the outside it looks like a tiny little cafe as its name would suggest, was surprised that they could take a table of 40 odd or however many there were of us. The food didn't take too long and was quite yummy, though i didnt realise my meal would be so salady, thats a fault of my own though.
The only thing i would say is be careful buying drinks! I bought a cocktail that was something like £5.20 on the menu and once it got to the table i was given a bill of another 50p or something, which i thought was a bit cheeky, and refused to pay.
Also later i bought a bottle of magners, and was charged £4.50. already... ouch... but it wasnt even a big bottle, it was the size of a budweiser bottle. when i went back to buy another one, i was charged the same for a bigger bottle. Not sure the bar staff know what they were doing?

However the entertainment that night was fantastic and is very much recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe Gondola also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Gondola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing