We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rose and Crown

Rose and Crown
Ranked #6 of 51 Restaurants in Egham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our beautiful "chocolate box" pub is set in the lush, green countryside of Thorpe and is everything a good, traditional English pub should be and we're proud of what we've achieved. We serve delicious food all day, everyday!
Bielefeld, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Spare ribbs & chicken, scampi with salad & childrens menue sausage with mashed potatoes. Everything well cooked, hot & within reasonable time , even though the pub restuarant was full.
Excellent service , friendly & nothing was too much. Extra sauce was brought on request.
Atmosphere was nice & although old everything looked clean. Grounds outside well looked after. This pub is worth another visit

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barons L, Public Relations Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Please do come and see us again soon! Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    113
    27
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Early Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had an early dinner here this evening. food was well cooked and arrived quickly. Service is friendly and polite. We used our Diners card which gives a 33% reduction when booked by 6.00pm which means that this is even better value. We will definitely visit again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barons L, Public Relations Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for posting your review and in particular for mentioning our Barons Diner's Card for early evening dining :) Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you back there soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dissapointing vegetarian selection”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Visited with family on a sunday evening. Suprisingly quiet. We were seated near the bar which was slightly disruptive as the team of staff kept congregating to talk to one another. There were only three vegetarian options on the menu and these were not marked so the whole menu had to be browsed to pick out the veggie options. I went for the veggie burger. It wasnt anything to write home about and was pretty bog standard. Desserts are tasty but i wouldnt go out of my way to visit again, ive had better meals locally.

Helpful?
1 Thank 629Hayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barons D, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Hayley
Sorry to hear that you felt the vegetarian options on our menu were disappointing. Maybe it is more a case that we should better label them as we currently have 4 vegetarian starters and 12 vegetarian main courses available as well as always having a vegetarian option on our frequently-changing specials menu. We are constantly reviewing our menu content and layout so will bear the labelling point in mind when working on our next menu review.
Thank you for your kind comments about our puddings and I am sorry if your meal was disrupted by staff members congregating at the bar - I have addressed this issue with the staff to avoid a repetition.
Nick Avenell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liskeard, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“It was OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

The pub was very busy and the service suffered, we had to prompt the waiters for our food and it came out in trickles not all together which is very poor,

Overall the food was good but the service needs to be sorted before we ever go back, the setting was nice and the beer was well looked after and its nice to see some ales available.

Sort out the rubbish service as I wont pay expensive prices for poor service sorry !

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrCV1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barons D, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
I am very sorry to hear about the disappointing service you received on your recent visit - sounds like it was certainly not up to our usual high standards.
It would be good to discuss the matter with you personally. Would you be able to email me a contact number so that I can call you to find out more details? My email address is : manager.roseandcrown@baronspubs.com
Many thanks in anticiaption, kind regards
Nick Avenell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Thank you Rose & Crown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We rang at 7.30pm on a Saturday to see if a table was available and were surprised to get one at such short notice in this popular pub. We arrived at 8pm at a very busy time, (almost a controlled frenzy!) and were shown a table within a couple of minutes and drinks brought to us. We shared a starter of crispy duck & bacon flatbread and then had Loin of Pork and Calves Liver, both of which were excellent. For dessert we had Pecan Pie and White Chocolate and Raspberry Cheesecake and again excellent. Service was friendly and attentive, the atmosphere and the whole look of the pub pleasing. Although a very busy evening the mainly young staff are obviously well trained and know what they are doing. Full marks to the Rose & Crown and we won't leave it until the next anniversary before we come again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Veggrower1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barons L, Public Relations Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you! We will definitely make sure Nick and his team hear your comments. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your anniversary, and hope to see you back at The Rose & Crown again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rose and Crown also viewed

 

Been to Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing