We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Rose and Crown

Rose and Crown
Ranked #8 of 52 Restaurants in Egham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our beautiful "chocolate box" pub is set in the lush, green countryside of Thorpe and is everything a good, traditional English pub should be and we're proud of what we've achieved. We serve delicious food all day, everyday!
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

After a long day at Thorpe Park we were all starving so after checking trip advisor we decided on the Rose and Crown. Service was excellent, food was yummy and exactly the right amount. Enjoyed every last bit xxxxxx

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemmaw28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barons L, Public Relations Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
That's good to hear! We're only 5 minutes from Thorpe Park, so perfect for a bite to eat after a busy day! Hope you'll visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    128
    30
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bielefeld, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“surprise”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Spare ribbs & chicken, scampi with salad & childrens menue sausage with mashed potatoes. Everything well cooked, hot & within reasonable time , even though the pub restuarant was full.
Excellent service , friendly & nothing was too much. Extra sauce was brought on request.
Atmosphere was nice & although old everything looked clean. Grounds outside well looked after. This pub is worth another visit

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barons L, Public Relations Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Please do come and see us again soon! Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Early Dinner”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had an early dinner here this evening. food was well cooked and arrived quickly. Service is friendly and polite. We used our Diners card which gives a 33% reduction when booked by 6.00pm which means that this is even better value. We will definitely visit again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barons L, Public Relations Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for posting your review and in particular for mentioning our Barons Diner's Card for early evening dining :) Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you back there soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dissapointing vegetarian selection”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Visited with family on a sunday evening. Suprisingly quiet. We were seated near the bar which was slightly disruptive as the team of staff kept congregating to talk to one another. There were only three vegetarian options on the menu and these were not marked so the whole menu had to be browsed to pick out the veggie options. I went for the veggie burger. It wasnt anything to write home about and was pretty bog standard. Desserts are tasty but i wouldnt go out of my way to visit again, ive had better meals locally.

Helpful?
1 Thank 629Hayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barons D, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Hayley
Sorry to hear that you felt the vegetarian options on our menu were disappointing. Maybe it is more a case that we should better label them as we currently have 4 vegetarian starters and 12 vegetarian main courses available as well as always having a vegetarian option on our frequently-changing specials menu. We are constantly reviewing our menu content and layout so will bear the labelling point in mind when working on our next menu review.
Thank you for your kind comments about our puddings and I am sorry if your meal was disrupted by staff members congregating at the bar - I have addressed this issue with the staff to avoid a repetition.
Nick Avenell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liskeard, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“It was OK”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The pub was very busy and the service suffered, we had to prompt the waiters for our food and it came out in trickles not all together which is very poor,

Overall the food was good but the service needs to be sorted before we ever go back, the setting was nice and the beer was well looked after and its nice to see some ales available.

Sort out the rubbish service as I wont pay expensive prices for poor service sorry !

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrCV1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barons D, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
I am very sorry to hear about the disappointing service you received on your recent visit - sounds like it was certainly not up to our usual high standards.
It would be good to discuss the matter with you personally. Would you be able to email me a contact number so that I can call you to find out more details? My email address is : manager.roseandcrown@baronspubs.com
Many thanks in anticiaption, kind regards
Nick Avenell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rose and Crown also viewed

 

Been to Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing