We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Runnymede National Trust
Book In Advance
More Info
US$13.19*
and up
Windsor Castle - Hampton Court Palace Shuttle from Windsor Castle
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Egham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The site where King John signed the Magna Carta, England's great icon of liberty and first expression of human rights, on June 15, 1215.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Food - excellent . Great choice I could stay there all day and just eat!!! Breakfast is divine , lunch , my goodness what a choice !!! Oh my , I think I put on soooo much weight . The chef is also very hot ... At least the one I saw:-)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kemi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    78
    46
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Runneymede Experiences”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Brilliant - five times visiting. Booked in for August and September
This is a fabulous top class hotel with spa facilities and the food scrummy. Rooms 5 star luxury - tastefully decorated. cannot say a wrong thing about it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 189Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Interesting bit of history”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Interesting to go and see the Runnymede memorial, although there isn't actually that much to see. Not much more to say!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“History over many centuries”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Runnymede is where Magna Carta was signed. Nearby is the JFK Memorial-on the only land in England that was given to the Americans! Above (on the hill,overlooking Runnymede) is the RAF Memorial. An awesome memorial, spend time there and reflect on their sacrifice-look for Amy Johnson's name. This is a diverse, historical and interesting piece of a beautifiul country-stop there and explore on your way to Windsor!
.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank expatmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A lot of history in a 90 minute walk, fine views too”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

The four of us spent an afternoon here on a very wet December day. We parked down by the cafe and trudged towards the JFK Memorial which is most contemplative. Would we declare today that we'd pay any price or meet any burden to advance liberty? Sounds expensive. We walked on up the slope and began to get a fine view of Heathrow - the bigger planes seemed to lumber slowly a few hundred feet above us. We were walking up to the Airforce memorial at the top of Cooper's Hill. Follow the path and keep the wood to your right and you'll soon be there. There's a peace camp in the woods. There were few inhabitants. Perhaps they have families to get back to for Christmas! Warm and dry.

The memorial is stunning - do not rush around it. Climb the stairs to the very top to take in further views, including Windsor Castle. I'd also linger over QE II's opening speech, it is very moving.

It was a fabulously wet day and the ground was saturated, with lots of still water and streams tricking back down the hill. But we all got a lot out of it regardless. Recommended.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank douglasshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Runnymede National Trust also viewed

Englefield Green, Surrey
 

Been to Runnymede National Trust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing