We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal & good service”
Review of Loch Fyne - Egham

Loch Fyne - Egham
Ranked #13 of 52 Restaurants in Egham
Price range: US$38 - US$80
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great meal & good service”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We visited for the first time on a Sunday and were impressed. The food was lovely and the service was good. Staff were helpful and knew about the meals when asked some questions. I would go back and feel that the service we received was good and food was lovely.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    106
    74
    49
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing...again”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is the first time we've been back to the Egham branch of Loch Fyne in a long time, after a previously poor experience, sad to say it hasn't improved much.
The good; Most of the meals eaten by our party of 8 were nice, not amazing, but nice and the childrens food is good, however the peas had clearly either been microwaved or sat on a hotplate for a lifetime. Also our waitress was lovely and very cheerful and polite.
The Bad; Extremely slow service, even with 3 people having starters it took an hour and half for the main courses to arrive from when we sat down.
I had the Moules which I used to love as it had a creamy garlicy sauce but last night it was watery and tasteless.
Overall we have great experiences at the Loch Fynne chain but sadly not at this branch. We won't be going back to Egham but would still recommend Windsor or Henley.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MonkeysMum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Set meal is a great deal”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Eat here now and then. The set meal is great value and the good is excellent quality. Service today was brisk and the staff were friendly. Very enjoyable.

Helpful?
1 Thank Excellency F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We normally go to Loch Fyne in Cobham where we have not had a bad meal. We have also been here on a few occasions previously. Service was good but my food was not. I ordered the crab, grapefruit and chilli starter, the presentation was completely different from when I had it in Cobham and no hint of grapefruit in it. Main course was king prawn risotto, prawns were lovely but the risotto was overcooked and tasteless. Everyone else's meals looked great and we had no other issues. The waitress and the manager apologised, it wasn't till later I noticed nothing was deducted from the bill. Will be a long time before I visit this particular restaurant again, will still visit Cobham though.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We've been to this restaurant several times but not in the last two or three years so thought we'd give it another try. How we wish we hadn't!

Portions were small and service was slow but one thing stood out above all others. My wife ordered a salmon dish which, according to the menu, came with a pear, pumpkin seed and butternut squash salad. Whilst eating it she noticed that there wasn't a trace of the promised pumpkin seed or butternut squash. Unable to attract any of the inattentive serving staff she finished the meal and afterwards pointed out the omission to a waitress. Only then was she told that the restaurant's delivery hadn't arrived that day. Why hadn't they changed the menu or explained the change when taking our order?

The waitress apologized but didn't offer to reduce our bill, but did so after we asked her to.

This was a poor show from Loch Fyne, which detracted even more from an experience spoiled by slow service and poor value for money. We won't be going there again in the near future.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loch Fyne - Egham also viewed

 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Loch Fyne - Egham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing