We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sound of Silence”
Review of Old Hall Lodge

Old Hall Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dereham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Hall Lodge
Ranked #8 of 9 Dereham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed here for the weekend for a family visit. It's a very roomy and comfortable B and B.
The full breakfast is a treat, and eggs are from the owners chickens.
It is in a rural area among farm fields and so is very quiet at night time-not even a noise from the chickens. If you go walking be aware that the roads are narrow so watch out for farm trucks that fill the entire road. The B and B is one the few places where the post code isn't precise enough to find the destination with a SatNav or GPS-if you get to a farm entrance keep going. The B and B is across the street from a large house.
East Dereham is very close and has free parking in the center a rarity these days, and a good selection of restaurants. A great central location for visiting places in Norfolk, we particularly enjoyed the Sainsbury Art Gallery at the university in Norwich, and closer to home the ruined priory just outside of Dereham. Neither of these are publicised very much so these are highly recommended. We think the Sainsbury Gallery is among the best art museums in the country (it's the size of an aircraft hanger, free too).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OregonArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2011

A delightful one storey barn conversion in an idyllic rural setting. Easy access to the north Norfolk coast, Norwich and Sandringham. On arrival greeted by host , Michael, who was a font of local knowledge. He accompanied us to the suite (bedroom, bathroom and dressing room) and explained how things worked and how to contact him should we need to. The room was very comfortable and included two armchairs. We loved the dressing room, where we could hang clothes, store bags etc. as well as make coffee and keep wine chilled in the fridge. The breakfast room doubled as a guest lounge with splendid views to both the garden and courtyard. The hearty breakfast became the main meal of the day; ordered the night before it arrived hot and timely, with an unlimited supply of coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DebfromSoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We first stayed at Old Hall Lodge in January 2011 and liked it so much we returned for a two week stay in June 2011. The B and B is situated in farmland outside Dereham and it is very peaceful. Most places of interest in Norfolk are within easy travelling distance. The rooms at Old Hall Lodge are beautifully decorated and furnished and very comfortable. The food was perfectly cooked and we too were given strawberries from the garden with our cereal. Our hosts were welcoming and very friendly, they also had lots of ideas on places to visit including restaurants and pubs nearby. We can thoroughly recommend this B and B and will be returning again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DHarvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Only stayed for 1 night, but it is a very beautiful rural B&B. Beautiful gardens with plenty of seating areas to relax. The room was very spacious and the bed was MASSIVE and soo comfortable. The bed linen felt luxurious. Very helpful friendly host. breakfast was lovely and fresh with strawberries picked from the garden and eggs from the owners hens! We couldnt fault anything and would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellygirl507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

This is the fifth time we’ve stayed here (I think), increasing the length of our stay each time. This time, we were there for a week.

Old Hall Lodge is on a quiet, narrow lane close to Daffy Green, just outside of East Dereham. While Dereham itself is not the most exciting place on the planet, it’s a good base for exploring the northern part of Norfolk, and the North Norfolk Coast: pine-scented sands and cute villages of flint cottages; and free from the madding crowds that get to every other sandy beach in summer. This isn’t the flat, bleak agricultural prairie part of Norfolk – it’s more undulating here, but gently so, and the countryside is more varied. This being a sparsely populated part of the country, there’s no shortage of country walks, bird watching, nature reserves, and outdoor activities, as well as a fair clutch of museums and country houses. And if you miss the hustle and bustle, Norwich isn’t far away, which is more interesting than you might think …

The Lodge itself is a converted farm barn, with two extra ‘wings’ built on – so it forms three sides of a quadrangle, surrounding a paved courtyard with tinkling fountains, which holds its warmth for al fresco picnics on a summer evening. Beyond that, there’s a large garden with lawns, shrubs and chickens. There are only two guest rooms, but they’re big – plenty of space for large, comfy chairs, en suite bathroom and a separate ‘dressing room’, with a fridge. There are of course the usual tea and coffee making accessories, they provide fresh milk and bottled water, and there’s a LCD TV and wi-fi. But that's not all – as well as being furnished and decorated to a very high standard, luxurious even, the level of care taken in keeping the rooms clean and comfortable is astonishing. How many places do you know where they iron the sheet every day, on the bed?! Breakfasts are provided whenever you like (within reason, I assume) and cover the usual range of full English through to toast – the full English is one of the best I’ve had anywhere, and the eggs are fresh from the hen.

The hosts (both called Michael) are attentive without being intrusive, helpful without being obsequious, and entertaining without being overbearing. In all, pretty much exactly what you’d want. And they’re kept in order by a captivating West Highland Terrier called Albert, who is guaranteed to steal your heart (and I don’t usually like dogs).

For an evening meal, there is nowhere in walking distance, but Dereham has a decent Indian, and a hotel (The George) with a restaurant or a decent selection of bar food. And there are plenty of other places within a half hour drive – especially the Three Horseshoes at Warham, or fish & chips from French’s at Wells-next-the-Sea.

But good as all that sounds, none of it really does the place justice. There’s something about Old Hall Lodge, a serene calm, it’s such a peaceful, restful and happy place. A week spent here each every spring keeps me cheerful for the year – all I have to do is think back and remember it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter_Chowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We are a German couple and stayed there from 03 - 19.09.2010 and were warmly welcomed in this luxury B & B!! The room was so cozy that we were happy to go home every night. The Old Hall Lodge is a calm oasis in the meadows and fields, so you can sleep very well. The location was great for us because we could then explore from all over Norfolk. In short, a highly recommended accommodation!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonnenwende47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Although a tad remote the Old Hall Lodge is the perfect get-away-from-it-all being so quiet and comfortable. The room we had was so spacious with its own dressing room with fridge, bottle opener/cork screw plus the usual tea, coffee & bickies. The decor was pleasant without being over fussy and the bed had memory-foam mattress ( a godsend after a 370 mile car journey). Breakfast was what we wanted & when we wanted it. The huge garden was pleasant to mooch around in - another great un-winder.
The Michaels were excellent hosts and gave us information on things to see & places to eat.
Long live the independent B&B - 5 star quality but with a human face.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank collingwood1327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dereham hotels
1.9 mi away
The Romany Rye Hotel
The Romany Rye Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dereham
385 reviews
2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 4 in Dereham
278 reviews
1.9 mi away
Glendower House
Glendower House
#9 of 9 in Dereham
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Bartles Lodge
Bartles Lodge
#7 of 9 in Dereham
40 reviews
2.8 mi away
Yaxham Mill
Yaxham Mill
#4 of 9 in Dereham
163 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hunters Hall
Hunters Hall
#3 of 9 in Dereham
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Hall Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Hall Lodge

Address: Old Hall Lodge Watery Lane, Dereham NR19 2LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Dereham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Dereham
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Old Hall Lodge Dereham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing