We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lotties”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dereham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

8 of us arrived at 7 pm on the 19/1/14 for a pre booked family meal, i was a little surprised that we appeared to be the only people in the bar and afterwards in the restaurant,
The staff were really pleasent and helpful, when the food arrived I realized why, really way overpriced and very poor portions with scant amount of veg.
when i pay nearly £20.00 for steak I assumed I would receive a bit more than half a tomato, a few chips and salad which arrived in what only be described as a small ashtray,
my steak which was described on the menu as 330 grammes bone in porterhouse, should have been cooked medium was well well done very small in size and had no appearance of bone whatever
the last time I was in the george which I admit was a couple of years ago (I now live in france and dont get back as often as I would like) the bars were always packed as was the restaurant,
I dont know what has gone wrong but I hope you can put it right soon

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank fred s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Went there for new years eve party. Was excellent from start to finish. Champagne reception, canapés to die for, small bowls of food from around the world, (nice touch) and a cheese board all of which was served to you. Non of the usual queuing up. Disco and a brilliant Magician at you table. Well done Tony and Jean

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevegb21w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Was in bad need of a decent room to sleep in this Norfolk town. This was a fairly decent sized room and reception staff very polite and friendly. The hotel is based at the end of the high street, and has a car park behind. From what I could see the bar and eating area is very pleasant, I didnt eat a evening meal but I must give special mention that staff on Sunday morning was kind enough to open slightly early and was given a great slap up full English Breakfast. Fresh coffee and juices to choose as well. Am sure local produce was used, and there was a nice choice of different cooked breakfasts including Kipper or Eggs benedict. Am sure in the summer months this place makes a nice stopover to the Fantastic range of beaches not too far drive away.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Another off the cuff visit to The George for Sunday lunch in the Restaurant. Very good all round, food/service/atmosphere. Our 3rd visit in the last couple of months and we will definitely be back again soon!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank karlv75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had an overnight stay as we were in dereham for a show. From the First greeting from the Receptionist when we arrived to the Final goodbye we could night fault it. The room was very clean plenty of room and storage we were shown how to put heat on if needed. The showereasy to operate and the bed very comfortable iwe satyed in room4 it was quite no problem with noise. The menu for breakfast had something for everyone and plentiful we really could not fult this place and if in the area again would most definately stay again

Room Tip: Room 4 was light airy and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theatre2northants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We re-visited the restaurant again for dinner with friends on a Thursday, as we had been before and was looking forward to a good evening, but although the food is still very good we were kept waiting a long time for our orders to be taken and for the food to arrive. Also, it took even longer to have the plates removed afterwards. There was a distinct lack of staff and this spoilt the evening and the restaurant was not very busy. More evening staff are required please.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 138jans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

There were 4 of us and we had dinner in the Restaurant on Saturday, 6th April and were very pleased with the dining room and the tables are not too close together and were nicely laid out. The food was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed the evening. We were with friends and were not too sure where to take them but I can thoroughly recommend The George as the staff are very attentive and helpful and it is very clean and comfortable. Would not hesitate to go back. They also have their own car park which is very good for those who cannot walk too far!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank 138jans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dereham
0.1 mi away
The Romany Rye Hotel
The Romany Rye Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dereham
377 reviews
4.1 mi away
Greenbanks Country Hotel & Restaurant
20.9 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
663 reviews
22.2 mi away
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
#3 of 15 in King's Lynn
945 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Swaffham Road, Dereham NR19 2AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Dereham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dereham
Price Range: £68 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Dereham
The George Hotel Dereham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing