We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel that serve great food”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dereham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel that serve great food”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed one night at the George Hotel. The food was excellent and reasonable priced. The hotel was also dog friendly.
Dereham is a small market town with plenty of shops and an interesting church.
Would recommend for a stopover.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mossgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
superchefnorwich, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.Hope you choose us again if you are in the area. Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    73
    30
    10
    9
See reviews for
63
88
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
460 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We bought groupon vouchers for afternoon tea, cakes and sandwiches and used groupons online reservation list and added on the notes that ons of the party were gluten intolerant. Upon arriving at The George Hotel staff had no idea I was gluten intolerant and therefore hadn't made provisions, I believe this was down to groupons booking errors. The manageress offered us any main meal from the menu and her husband bought me gluten free cakes from the shop and baked my partners cake and scone fresh. I was also made a gluten free batter with my fish. My partner had the crayfish. The food was lovely, the Pimms was generous and with lots of fresh fruit which I believe was all grown on site as dotted all around are various strawberry plants, cucumber plants and lots of herbs. We will definitely be going again. (I did complain to Groupon, if they are going to add a "additional information " section then they must make sure the retailer gets this.)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SmartDamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
superchefnorwich, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am sorry that we were not aware of your Gluten intolerance. I am glad that you were happy with what we did to try and rectify the situation. Its disappointing as had we known we would have prepared you a afternoon tea to meet your requirements. We hope you do come back for another meal soon . Rebecca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Food and staff excellent.
Rooms though could do with being updated and one of the beds seemed smaller than an actual double bed
Good value for money, we had a weekend break which included a fabulous breakfast, nice start to the day
The staff were all very friendly and nothing was
too much trouble . Hotel is in a nice central location we will definitely return soon

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Salc5047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
superchefnorwich, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and that the staff met your needs. We plan to update some of the rooms soon, we only took over in February. We do hope to see you again soon. Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Pre booked our table which wasn't ready when we arrived. After some rearranging of crockery and cutlery we were shown to a table. Pot of tea was brought out but no milk. After 5 mins I asked for milk and it was brought to table a minute or so later. By this time tea in pot had lost heat and was Luke warm! We had ordered the Pimms afternoon tea but had to ask where the Pimms were as we not been bought them at the beginning of the tea as we should have done. After the waitress checked our voucher, the second time they eventually came after we had drank the luke warm tea and we had started on the food! Sandwiches were all ham and relish/chutney apart from one which was some sort of cream cheese with cucumber and onions (we think). No choice of fillings just have what you're given and like it or lump it. Not nice if you don't like relish/chutney, which 2 of our party didn't! Only 3 small triangle sandwiches each which I thought rather mean! The cakes however were very nice and there were plenty to choose from. Do not use the pictures on the ad as a guide as it looked nothing like the afternoon tea that was served.
We did get an apology as we left. Saying sorry for the confusion! It was a birthday treat for our son in law and I had to appologise to him for such a bad experience. Just grateful I didn't pay full price and used the groupon voucher. Staff would benefit from some customer service training and maybe research good afternoon teas locally to see how they should be done!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Nurdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
superchefnorwich, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the afternoon tea that you had here at the George, Had you have complained at the time we would have done our best to rectify the situation. All items for the afternoon teas are baked/ prepared that morning by the chefs ready for the afternoon. We do not prepare them to order as it would not be cost effective to have a chef in the kitchen from 7.30 am until 23.00. This is why a selection on cakes and sandwiches are prepared to hopefully meet everyone's tastes. The picture was put on groupon by groupon and was not done in consultation with us. Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed here for one night as I had a meeting in Dereham the next day. The room and bathroom were both spacious and clean. Lots of parking with a security barrier. The breakfast was lovely and free wifi a real bonus.

Only very minor gripe was that the television was on the small side but this was a replacement TV as the normal one was out of action. Overall, a really good stay - would stay here again if in Dereham.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snKits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
superchefnorwich, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you come to stay with us again soon. Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I booked this hotel ages ago as it was close to wedding venue that I had to go to. 12 of my family stayed here over Friday and Saturday, including 2children. The staff were lovely, the rooms were immaculate and the food was amazing. They were very child friendly and catered for all our needs. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area. They also have a large secure car park and outside area to sit in (and smoke), which was useful to some of our party.

Room Tip: Room 3 .... It has a four poster bed and a lovely big roll top bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
superchefnorwich, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Thank you for your great comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the food. W e are more than happy to accommodate for children. We hope that you stay with us again if you are in the area. Rebecca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

8 of my family stayed on Friday night followed by another 4 on Saturday. We needed a hotel near Hunter's Hall as we were going to a wedding. On Friday most of our party arrived close to 9, however the chef and staff served up a brilliant meal despite the late hour. On Saturday we had wonderful breakfasts before heading off to the wedding. The staff booked us a taxi for our return journey after 12 (we should have had taxis there as well, as they were cheap).
Everyone was lovely and happy to accommodate our requirements, always accepting our requests with a smile.
We were asked for our views and to comment on Trip Advisor. I would definitely stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the street are noisier if you open the double glazed windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allanandsue55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
superchefnorwich, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. Its great to know that our customers appreciate what we do for them. Please come and see us again soon :) Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dereham
0.1 mi away
The Romany Rye Hotel
The Romany Rye Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dereham
351 reviews
6.9 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
888 reviews
19.4 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Broom Hall Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saham Toney
124 reviews
10.8 mi away
Strattons Hotel
Strattons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swaffham
463 reviews
4.1 mi away
Greenbanks Country Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Swaffham Road, Dereham NR19 2AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Dereham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dereham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Dereham
The George Hotel Dereham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing