We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Heart of Norfolk keeps growing!”

Mid-Norfolk Railway
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Dereham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Mid-Norfolk Railway runs Heritage Steam and Diesel train services from the market town of Dereham to Wymondham in Norfolk, just outside Norwich. It is run entirely by volunteers, and operates a number of Special Events throughout the year.
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Visited the MNR for the first. Was very impressed by the facilities available at the line. As the longest heritage line in East Anglia, at 10 miles long, it is a wonderfully relaxing experience to travel through the Norfolk countryside. I look forward to seeing the further developments at this site.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank samhonour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dereham station"
in 35 reviews
"wymondham abbey"
in 32 reviews
"the polar express"
in 20 reviews
"steam gala"
in 16 reviews
"rolling stock"
in 16 reviews
"cream tea"
in 11 reviews
"hot chocolate"
in 12 reviews
"north pole"
in 10 reviews
"steam engine"
in 10 reviews
"return trip"
in 10 reviews
"magical experience"
in 9 reviews
"british rail"
in 8 reviews
"level crossing"
in 5 reviews
"diesel locomotives"
in 5 reviews
"enjoyable trip"
in 5 reviews
"first class"
in 10 reviews
"next year"
in 13 reviews
Filter

78 - 82 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our time on the railway.
What an excellent team of people they have there.
They all took the time to explain everything to my 7 year old.
Well done all involved carry on the good work.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Stefpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Two adults and two boys under 10 visited. First time for us all. It was a wartime experience weekend which was pretty good, with a lot of very enthusiastic volunteers. People dressed the part of 1940s army, navy and air force, and other auxiliaries and civilians. Lots of vehicles and other stuff on display. Impressed by all of that. However, the railway itself is not so impressive, although you have to give credit where due. There are many volunteers and money must be limited, so I shouldn't be too critical of what has to be a bit of a shoestring operation. Two 0-6-0 tank locos in steam. Coaching stock all fairly modern, with a lot just sitting in ridings, rusting away. Not much freight stock around to be seen. Family ticket £34 for the day. Took ride to Wymondham. No refreshments on train and nothing at Wymondham either. Very much a makeshift station at Wymondham. Train ride about 45 minutes each way so value pretty good, but facilities away from Dereham basically non-existent. Staff exemplary! Would I visit again? I'd have to think about that. At least I've finally got there.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Having visited a few heritage railways over the years this one has a certain charm about it. It is where the Severn Valley Railway was in the 1970’s in terms of expanding its offering. It is where some of the French and Belgium heritage lines are content to stay. Dereham and the being rebuilt Thruxton give the charm of an English branch line station. It’s nice to be puff slowly through the rolling Norfolk countryside behind a steam engine.

Would recommend a visit, try one of the theme days, we visited on the 1940’s weekend.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank M7123AGdavidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2018

We made a last minute booking for a cream tea journey on this heritage railway line on the morning of the trip. I emailed at about 8:30, received a reply with 30 mins and had booked by phone within another 30 mins. It was a part of a day out in Norfolk and we arrived at the station in time to visit the small museum before boarding the train which arrived about half an hour before departure. During the 45 minute outward journey we were served a cream tea with scones, fresh strawberries, jam and cream and an abundance of tea or coffee. More tea was served on the return trip. The views from the train were pleasant and supported by a leaflet describing the journey. There are many heritage railways competing for the business. This was one of teh best.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mid-Norfolk Railway also viewed

 

Been to Mid-Norfolk Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing