We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for steam train lovers”

Mid-Norfolk Railway
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Dereham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Mid-Norfolk Railway runs Heritage Steam and Diesel train services from the market town of Dereham to Wymondham in Norfolk, just outside Norwich. It is run entirely by volunteers, and operates a number of Special Events throughout the year.
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We were very surprised by this little known railway. It's a little gem of a line. The workers, or volunteers, were all excellent; friendly and helpful. We had with us one member of the family who has some mobility issues and the staff took time to reassure her. The cafe at Dereham is very atmospheric with very prompt service. A little pricy but worth it as steam preservation enthusiasts will agree. We didn't visit the museum as we had a lovely 2 year old with us but we'll be back for that.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Chordot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dereham station"
in 35 reviews
"wymondham abbey"
in 32 reviews
"the polar express"
in 20 reviews
"steam gala"
in 16 reviews
"rolling stock"
in 16 reviews
"cream tea"
in 11 reviews
"hot chocolate"
in 12 reviews
"north pole"
in 10 reviews
"steam engine"
in 10 reviews
"return trip"
in 10 reviews
"magical experience"
in 9 reviews
"british rail"
in 8 reviews
"level crossing"
in 5 reviews
"diesel locomotives"
in 5 reviews
"enjoyable trip"
in 5 reviews
"first class"
in 10 reviews
"next year"
in 13 reviews
Filter

75 - 79 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2018

My colleague and I finally visited MNR again after our 2014 visit (Steam Gala Special..disappointed with pricing) and on arrival I showed them my email regarding their reply back then, to which they gave me a complimentary voucher to use on my train journey today Wednesday 22nd.(Thank you Derek Orr for your email).
We arrived at 9.50 (after 3 1/2 hrs drive) and had time for breakfast before the 10.30 train, the young girl could not be more helpful than walking over the road to get brown bread for our egg on toast. Excellent scrambled egg on two slices of toast plus a mug of tea £3.75.
The journey of approx 11 miles is scenic and lasts two hours for return .The volunteers were all helpful and friendly and we wish them continued success and hope all people realise that without their support we may not have our Heritage railways

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank busterSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

Generous car park, friendly staff and the track is about 15 miles long, Carriages interior could do with a deep clean/spruce up. Lots of country side vistas.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Visited the MNR for the first. Was very impressed by the facilities available at the line. As the longest heritage line in East Anglia, at 10 miles long, it is a wonderfully relaxing experience to travel through the Norfolk countryside. I look forward to seeing the further developments at this site.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank samhonour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our time on the railway.
What an excellent team of people they have there.
They all took the time to explain everything to my 7 year old.
Well done all involved carry on the good work.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Stefpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mid-Norfolk Railway also viewed

 

Been to Mid-Norfolk Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing