We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three cheers for Volunteers”

Mid-Norfolk Railway
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Dereham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Mid-Norfolk Railway runs Heritage Steam and Diesel train services from the market town of Dereham to Wymondham in Norfolk, just outside Norwich. It is run entirely by volunteers, and operates a number of Special Events throughout the year.
Reviewed 6 September 2018

The Mid Norfolk Raiway, is one of several railway systems operating in Norfolk, with rolling stock both steam and diesel. Although steam is the favourite of most people, we took a ride in a two carriage diesel loco, from Wymondham to East Dereham, and it was excellent.
Rolling through some wonderful countryside, and staffed by enthusiasts, volunteers all, it's just splendid.
Not in any way an amateur set up, they operate in a most professional manner and indeed are embarking on a contract with Anglia Rail to lay extra track and store for them, new engines,
A good ride, about 40 minutes duration, and stopping at stations and crossings along the route.
Excellent

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank frankart_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dereham station"
in 35 reviews
"wymondham abbey"
in 32 reviews
"the polar express"
in 20 reviews
"steam gala"
in 16 reviews
"rolling stock"
in 16 reviews
"cream tea"
in 11 reviews
"hot chocolate"
in 12 reviews
"north pole"
in 10 reviews
"steam engine"
in 10 reviews
"return trip"
in 10 reviews
"magical experience"
in 9 reviews
"british rail"
in 8 reviews
"level crossing"
in 5 reviews
"diesel locomotives"
in 5 reviews
"enjoyable trip"
in 5 reviews
"first class"
in 10 reviews
"next year"
in 13 reviews
Filter

73 - 77 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2018

Very enjoyable trip on this steam train, agree with others carriages can look a bit tacky but they where very clean, the staff where very friendly. My husband who is the steam enthusiast was a little disappointed on the small 6 wheel engine but overall would recommend.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Frankie030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We were very surprised by this little known railway. It's a little gem of a line. The workers, or volunteers, were all excellent; friendly and helpful. We had with us one member of the family who has some mobility issues and the staff took time to reassure her. The cafe at Dereham is very atmospheric with very prompt service. A little pricy but worth it as steam preservation enthusiasts will agree. We didn't visit the museum as we had a lovely 2 year old with us but we'll be back for that.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Chordot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

My colleague and I finally visited MNR again after our 2014 visit (Steam Gala Special..disappointed with pricing) and on arrival I showed them my email regarding their reply back then, to which they gave me a complimentary voucher to use on my train journey today Wednesday 22nd.(Thank you Derek Orr for your email).
We arrived at 9.50 (after 3 1/2 hrs drive) and had time for breakfast before the 10.30 train, the young girl could not be more helpful than walking over the road to get brown bread for our egg on toast. Excellent scrambled egg on two slices of toast plus a mug of tea £3.75.
The journey of approx 11 miles is scenic and lasts two hours for return .The volunteers were all helpful and friendly and we wish them continued success and hope all people realise that without their support we may not have our Heritage railways

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank busterSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2018

Generous car park, friendly staff and the track is about 15 miles long, Carriages interior could do with a deep clean/spruce up. Lots of country side vistas.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mid-Norfolk Railway also viewed

 

Been to Mid-Norfolk Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing