We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Romany Rye Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dereham
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A bit noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Lovely hotel and restaurant, staff are all very friendly and helpful. We were lucky and parked in one of the few spaces behind the hotel but unsure where any other parking was available. Only 2 niggly problems, the room was very hot, there is no air conditioning at this hotel and as our room was at the front we couldn't keep our window open because of the traffic noise so we had very little sleep. The other problem was with the bedside lights, the lampshades are dark purple and very little light gets through so if you want to read in bed you need the main lights on.
I did point these out to the staff and they just nodded in understanding so I am not the first person to notice these faults so maybe Wetherspoons could rectify this and then the hotel would be perfect!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NannySquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    157
    43
    14
    6
See reviews for
88
140
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights 23/24/05. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Food and rinks were good and cant fault Wetherspoons for the value for money.
Our room was nice and clean and we had a very enjoyable stay. First time we have stayed in a Wetherspoons Hotel, but will do so again!

Room Tip: we had a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the street, it was quiet no problem with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOADY26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Romany Rye for 4 nights from 20/05/2014. Fiona was very helpful when I phoned her to enquire whether it was suitable for my elderly mother and she put my mind at ease. All the staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are kept very clean. I did not find parking a problem. There is a large free car park, with security cameras less than 10 minutes walk away and you are also able to park for up to an hour at the front of the hotel which was ideal for picking up and dropping off my mother. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights and couldn't fault it. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room clean and well equipped. If you were staying for longer there may be a storage problem as there were no drawers in the room just a hanging rail but this is more than adequate for a night or two. Bottled water provided each day along with fresh supplies of tea, coffee, milk and biscuits. Breakfast was very good and excellent value for money with unlimited coffee refills too. As mentioned by others shower gel, hairdryer, television and a full length mirror also in the room which was a bonus at the prices they charge. Would definitely visit another Wetherspoon hotel. Only downside is the parking but we always managed to park either in the car park or outside the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquarius1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed for one night as was attending a wedding. The food in the pub was excellent and very reasonably priced. The hotel room was perfect,very good quality. Excellent value for money, would definetely recommend this hotel/pub.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Reviewed here 3 times.
Very nice hotel with immaculately clean rooms. Part of the wetherspoons organisation, but they haven't cut costs here. Set in the heart of Norfolk not far from many attractions.
3 stories high so if you have walking difficulties, you may have a problem as there's no lift, and the steps are quite steep. All rooms are en-suite and very clean. 36" TV s in all rooms!
Room 101 can be quite noisy on a Friday/Saturday night as it's right above the pubs entrance.
Breakfast is via the pub, so cheap and cheerful.
REVIEW SCORES
ROOMS 10/10
Breakfast 7/10
Location 8/10

Room Tip: Very pleasant hotel :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vulcan-Hotel-Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed for one night whilst visiting a friend. The room was a reasonable size, with a double bed, hanging space, hair dryer, excellent lighting, a full length mirror plus a dressing table with mirror above. There is a flat screen TV, and tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom has over the bath shower, which was powerful with plentiful hot water, and there is shower gel/shampoo provided. The whole room was spotlessly clean, and we had no disturbance of noise at all. We ate downstairs the evening we arrived, the usual Wetherspoons fare, simple, easy to order and a brilliant price. Despite the restaurant being very busy we waited only about 30 minutes for our order, perfect, allowing us time for a pre meal drink. We breakfasted there the following morning, just a bacon roll and a veggie sausage roll, and filter coffee, £4.58 for both of us, ad with unlimited coffee as part of the deal you really can't go wrong. We would definitely stay here again whenever we visit Dereham.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rewsmissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dereham
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 4 in Dereham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
23.5 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
4.1 mi away
Greenbanks Country Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Wensum Lodge Hotel
Wensum Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fakenham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glendower House
Glendower House
#8 of 9 in Dereham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.4 mi away
Yaxham Mill
Yaxham Mill
#5 of 9 in Dereham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Romany Rye Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Romany Rye Hotel

Property: The Romany Rye Hotel
Address: Church Street, Dereham NR19 1DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Dereham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dereham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 22 en-suite rooms; all have tea & coffee facilities, LCD flat screen TV, hairdryer, bath and shower. All rooms have wifi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Romany Rye Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Romany Rye Hotel Dereham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing