We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and educational”

Gressenhall Farm and Workhouse
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Dereham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy a fascinating journey through the story of rural Norfolk with a thrilling woodland playground, historic workhouse and traditional working farm.
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We visited as a family group and had a great time learning all about workhouse life and how it changed over the years. There are plenty of games to do and the opportunity to dress up. The shops, workshops and school are interesting to look around as is the farm and taking the tractor ride tour. There is a great play area for kids and a cafe for nice cup of tea and cake. It might not be the cheapest but you can spend a good few hours here so it's a good day out.

Thank Toxtethtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gressenhall, Social Media Champion (Events) at Gressenhall Farm and Workhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thanks for the lovely review. Please let us know if you have any feedback on anything we can improve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
There are newer reviews for Gressenhall Farm and Workhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 245 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

We took my disabled father to Gressenhall after reading on their website that is was good for people with poor mobility; it was not. Long distances to walk between outside exhibits, resting places overgrown and inaccessible with uneven paths.

Thank tigger449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gressenhall, Social Media Champion (Events) at Gressenhall Farm and Workhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback - I'm very sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations when you visited us with your father.

We always aim to make our site as accessible as possible, however due to the size and terrain of the site we do recommend that visitors who find walking tiring might consider bringing a back-up chair, stick or walking frame if they have them. Of course we always try and assist where possible and have six manual wheelchairs and one all-terrain electric mobility scooter which we are more than happy to lend to our visitors (though we would always recommend booking in advance to avoid disappointment on the day - call 01362 869 269 to book).

That said I am very sorry that your experience was negatively impacted, and I hope that you will revisit us again with your father so that, with the use of the wheelchairs or scooter, we can make your return visit much more comfortable and enjoyable. Thank you again for your feedback, I will pass on your comments about the overgrown Resting Places, and we will endeavor to get this remedied as soon as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Took parents and children to the farm . Displays really good , staff very knowledgeable Only experience of a workhouse was via a Dickens novel . The truth could be very different The farm was very good had some new .piglets. Cute !! Well worth a visit .

Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gressenhall, Social Media Champion (Events) at Gressenhall Farm and Workhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we love showing our visitors what our Workhouse was really like!

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

There is something for everyone at Gressenhall - fascinating museum of C19 workhouse life, a working farm with cart-rides and shire horses, and a well-constructed adventure play area. As a bonus, they often have special activity days, eg 1940s or farm work (ploughing). We have been countless times with grandchildren, and they just love to go back, never bored!!

Thank Isabel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gressenhall, Social Media Champion (Events) at Gressenhall Farm and Workhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, I'm so pleased to hear that you and your family have had a great time with us.

We always try to make sure the site is never boring so we really do appreciate it when our visitors let us know when we're doing it right (or wrong in some cases!) so that we can give you the best visit possible.

Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have been countless times and never tire of going there. Our son when he was younger loved the farm and the animals and now has moved onto the adventure playground. But there are tractor rides and in the summer the shire horses pull the cart so you get a feeling of times gone by.

The cafe is good and well priced and the museum is well worth a look. There are events throughout the year, best to get there early as very popular

Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gressenhall, Social Media Champion (Events) at Gressenhall Farm and Workhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We really appreciate feedback and it is wonderful to hear that you and your family enjoy visiting us.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gressenhall Farm and Workhouse also viewed

 
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 

Been to Gressenhall Farm and Workhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing