We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most revolting hotel ever!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hill House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dereham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hill House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dereham
England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The most revolting hotel ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel is the most horrid hotel ever! The building itself looks very historic from the outside but as soon as you get inside the feeling changes. It's old, smelly, unbearably hot (and in our room the windows were nailed shut). It may be cheap and cheerful but I would rather stay in a barn with pigs than spend another night in this hotel! There is no reception, you are expected to let yourself in with codes, overall the WORST hotel I have ever stayed in! Unless you are used to concentration camps, avoid at all costs!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    20
    18
    19
    117
See reviews for
35
79
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Never ever stay here.
Got in at 16:00
Looked at room, it smelt orrid.
Mattress heavily stained, no mattress cover, sheets didn't look clean.
No headboard,??? Pillows.
Mould in shower
Mould around cubicle
Toilet needed some strong industrial bleach.
I emailed as there rules advised,nobody is ever on site, so four young lads who lived there told me.
Another returned with around ten cans of larger.
I didn't stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank NN201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dereham hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I came to work in Norfolk and was working on a project. I needed somewhere to stay for a couple of months and my office found Hill House Hotel in Dereham. When I booked into the hotel, I found that the bathroom had a smell, that I couldn't get rid of. I am an ex military man, and accepted that this was a very low budget place and I have stayed in worse when working in the 3rd world....
I later moved to room 3, which was marginally better, but still very low budget.
The biggets issue I had was as follows:
After staying at the hotel for what was nearly 2 months, I decided to leave some belongings there when I needed to go away for 2 nights (but still stayed booked in, as it is a block booking). I also left my Bose mini soundlink blue tooth speaker in the room, mistakenly thinking, that this would be safe here......On my return, I found that the weekly clean had taken place, and that my speaker along with a few other items were missing.
I rang up the MJB number, and spoke to guy, who told me "you are speaking o the right person, because my fiancé cleans that room, and there was nothing left in that room"
I insisted, but didn't want to make any accusations. I checked that I hadn't packed the speaker, and found that I didn't.
I phoned back the following day, and was told that there was still no sign of the speaker. I informed the person I spoke to, that I will have to report the incident to the police, as I consider it to be theft.
To make a long story short, when I went to the hotel the following day, I found that the speaker and the other bits, were in a bag on my bed??
It seems, that when I threatened to get the police involved, the goods were returned? If this is not the case, MJB have not sent an email or have they attempted to ring me, to state what happened. I find this very poor, and it shows that MJB don't give a damn about customer service.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Villier1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Immingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel last week for a single night. The price made it extremely good value for a simple place to lay my head.
It is a very basic and budget 'unmanned' hotel. Codes are emailed efficiently to gain access to main and room doors. No grumble with that.
For a cheap place to have a sleep and a good spot to get round Norfolk this does what it says on the tin.
I will use it again for similar such stayovers. Clean and comfortable enough...certainly not spectacular...but doesnt claim to be!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinC2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Have stayed and reviewed it several times but now the prices are only marginally cheaper than other properties we have to look with a more critical eye.
The place has had a coat of paint which is a big improvement ( pity they didn't cover the carpets properly )
Having said that - they have increased the prices, so its more difficult to overlook the shortcomings.
We arrived to find the lock on our door was faulty - luckily there is now a manager who had left a note on the door for us to contact him to be let in. There was ment to be someone coming to fix it but they never turned up the whole time we were there.
They have moved some of the bedside tables out of the rooms, so now you have to move footstools around or do without.
The position is excellent and the rooms are large if you book a suit ( same price as a double with onsuit ) Car park is small but there is another free one over the road ( only had to use that once )
You will not be sleeping before 11.30 on a saturday as there is a band on in the pub nearby ( you may like to listen antway )
Not really a place for fussy people but adiquate if you used to budget hotels.

Room Tip: If you like to wash with a bar of soap - take your own. Book through hotels.com so you can pick you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonygreen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
197 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

My friend booked this hotel so she could come to my 40th birthday party on the 21st September. When she got there she was told her room was double booked!!! She then called a few days later for her refund and they said it had been booked in her married name and not her maiden name at time of booking! She lost all!!! Wasn't offered her refund or an explanation just told oh this has happened ten times before....disgraceful and unprofessional.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank EnglandNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

I have stayed here quite a few times and quite honestly don't understand some of the complaints. The Hotel is situated in the Market Place of Dereham town, convenient for the shops and pubs, the A47 is two minutes away.

The rooms are clean and tidy and also very comfortable with en-suite, TV and coffee making facilities. Now when people are paying a small price for this, what are they complaining about ? Do they expect waiter and maid service ? or someone to pamper them over their period of stay ? Please people, if you want all this then book into a 5 star Hotel in Norwich where i am sure you might even get someone to tuck you in at night.

Staying at a Hotel, is a bed for the night that is secure safe and comfortable and also close to all amenities and main routes, that is what you get at Hill House.

They key codes are for your security, and if there is a problem with the codes ? just ring the office and they will have the on-site Manager, YES ON-SITE MANAGER ! come out to you within 2 minutes to help you and make sure you are comfortable.

Some of the comments on here are so out of date and quite frankly Don't do the Hotel justice in anyway. I have even recommended my parents and friends to stay here. The Hotel is mostly booked up even during the week, which says it all really, and i know some businessmen who stay here on a regular basis.

So if anyone is reading the old comments on here ? may i suggest you disregard those comments because they are very much out of date.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macmccarthy2173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dereham
0.1 mi away
The Romany Rye Hotel
The Romany Rye Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dereham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 4 in Dereham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
11.6 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club
10.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
0.3 mi away
Glendower House
Glendower House
#8 of 8 in Dereham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Hotel

Property: Hill House Hotel
Address: 26 Market Place, Dereham NR19 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Dereham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dereham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very centre of Dereham town centre, this beautiful three star hotel captures the spirit of the original 17th-century building in which it is housed. The owners have been careful to retain many of the original features and have combined these with modern amenities to make 21st Century guests feel at home. The friendly staff is always happy to help you get the most from your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hill Hotel Dereham
Hill House Hotel Dereham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing