We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smart and Comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hill House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dereham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hill House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dereham
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Smart and Comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Very smart and well presented - spotless - to have en suite facilities that were also in first class condition represented outstanding value for money - liked the idea of "Code" Entry to the various doors as this negated the need to carry around a set of keys with you - great location - right in the Town without being noisy at all.
Now the niggles!! - Seemed strange not to have a member of staff on site - not experienced that before - Didn't like the idea that important information was e-mailed to me at my home as I was away on Business so I didn't get to see it - so it made the initial arrival at the Hotel a bit awkward which seemed unnecessary?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimboD407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    20
    18
    19
    117
See reviews for
35
79
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

No staff here, and the key pad codes to get in don't always work so you need to call a number to get one that does. As this hotel/lodge is similar to a travel lodge or premier, you would think the service would match them at least in some way, it does not.

The rooms are not cleaned regularly, if you run out of toilet rolls or complementary refreshments you buy your own. The thermostats in the rooms have all been removed so you cannot change the heating which is at full blast (great in a winter) but not when its 23 degrees out side. I would never recommend it to anyone unless they had a major change in the running of it as it is part of a chain run by MJB. I wish we had looked at other reviews first as it seems there are safety issues to be addressed and police have been on the scene over Easter, with regards to vandalism and theft

Room Tip: Book any where else but here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doreen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dereham hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I booked myself and friends in here for an overnight stay in way to Norwich, I then saw reviews on here and was expecting the worst.
Was pleasantly surprised on arrival, it was late and no spaces in guest car park but town car park was only 2 minute walk away. The first room was very basic but clean and comfortable, with toiletries, towels and drinks making facilities. The second room was classed as a suite and was a lovely split level room, recently refurbished and an absolute bargain. Would have no qualms in staying here again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Banksy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel is the most horrid hotel ever! The building itself looks very historic from the outside but as soon as you get inside the feeling changes. It's old, smelly, unbearably hot (and in our room the windows were nailed shut). It may be cheap and cheerful but I would rather stay in a barn with pigs than spend another night in this hotel! There is no reception, you are expected to let yourself in with codes, overall the WORST hotel I have ever stayed in! Unless you are used to concentration camps, avoid at all costs!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Never ever stay here.
Got in at 16:00
Looked at room, it smelt orrid.
Mattress heavily stained, no mattress cover, sheets didn't look clean.
No headboard,??? Pillows.
Mould in shower
Mould around cubicle
Toilet needed some strong industrial bleach.
I emailed as there rules advised,nobody is ever on site, so four young lads who lived there told me.
Another returned with around ten cans of larger.
I didn't stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank NN201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I came to work in Norfolk and was working on a project. I needed somewhere to stay for a couple of months and my office found Hill House Hotel in Dereham. When I booked into the hotel, I found that the bathroom had a smell, that I couldn't get rid of. I am an ex military man, and accepted that this was a very low budget place and I have stayed in worse when working in the 3rd world....
I later moved to room 3, which was marginally better, but still very low budget.
The biggets issue I had was as follows:
After staying at the hotel for what was nearly 2 months, I decided to leave some belongings there when I needed to go away for 2 nights (but still stayed booked in, as it is a block booking). I also left my Bose mini soundlink blue tooth speaker in the room, mistakenly thinking, that this would be safe here......On my return, I found that the weekly clean had taken place, and that my speaker along with a few other items were missing.
I rang up the MJB number, and spoke to guy, who told me "you are speaking o the right person, because my fiancé cleans that room, and there was nothing left in that room"
I insisted, but didn't want to make any accusations. I checked that I hadn't packed the speaker, and found that I didn't.
I phoned back the following day, and was told that there was still no sign of the speaker. I informed the person I spoke to, that I will have to report the incident to the police, as I consider it to be theft.
To make a long story short, when I went to the hotel the following day, I found that the speaker and the other bits, were in a bag on my bed??
It seems, that when I threatened to get the police involved, the goods were returned? If this is not the case, MJB have not sent an email or have they attempted to ring me, to state what happened. I find this very poor, and it shows that MJB don't give a damn about customer service.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Villier1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Immingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel last week for a single night. The price made it extremely good value for a simple place to lay my head.
It is a very basic and budget 'unmanned' hotel. Codes are emailed efficiently to gain access to main and room doors. No grumble with that.
For a cheap place to have a sleep and a good spot to get round Norfolk this does what it says on the tin.
I will use it again for similar such stayovers. Clean and comfortable enough...certainly not spectacular...but doesnt claim to be!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinC2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dereham
0.1 mi away
The Romany Rye Hotel
The Romany Rye Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dereham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 4 in Dereham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
11.6 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Greenbanks Country Hotel & Restaurant
10.4 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich West (Showground/A47) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Glendower House
Glendower House
#8 of 9 in Dereham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Hotel

Property: Hill House Hotel
Address: 26 Market Place, Dereham NR19 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Dereham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dereham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very centre of Dereham town centre, this beautiful three star hotel captures the spirit of the original 17th-century building in which it is housed. The owners have been careful to retain many of the original features and have combined these with modern amenities to make 21st Century guests feel at home. The friendly staff is always happy to help you get the most from your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hill Hotel Dereham
Hill House Hotel Dereham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing