We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad!!”
Review of Bombay Tandoori

Bombay Tandoori
Ranked #22 of 71 Restaurants in Dereham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$41
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not bad!!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Bit over priced. Bit greasy. But generally nice and good atmosphere. Staff friendly. Clean and efficient.

Helpful?
Thank Steffy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    35
    20
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best in town, but room for improvement”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Third or forth visit in past 12 months. Service is generally good and prices are reasonable. Food can be a little hit and miss, some dishes being very good and others only average. Compared to the best in Norwich, there is room for improvement in taste for sure but the service & prices compensate to a degree.
Decor & atmosphere are ok however the carpets desperately need replacing being reminiscent of a 'greasy spoon' rather than an upmarket restaurant.
Better next time maybe? We shall see.....

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WayneChandler139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely clean restaurant, nice atmos, great food, large portions, good service and fairly priced.”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Dined here with my partner the other evening and had a very pleasant meal.

Starters, main and two alcoholic drinks with change from £40; great value.

I was drawn to this restaurant due to it's 5 star hygiene rating.

Well recommended, although if you like hot and usually have a vindaloo, I would go for the phal, as the vindaloo wasn't as hot as I would've liked! Nonetheless, a great restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardolague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cannot believe the negative reviews!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We live locally, and eat here frequently, the service is always excellent, the decor lovely, and the food is the best Indian food I've ever eaten, and as a sixty year old Yorkshireman, who's eaten Indian food all over the UK, I simply cannot understand how anyone could give this place a negative review!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Evening Meal”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Went on a Saturday evening and it was fairly busy considering that it was quite early.

Service was very good. We were offered drinks straight away and service was very attentive throughout our stay.

Food was most enjoyable although the butter chicken I had was very mild. The price of both the food and drinks was very reasonable. We were offered a free cocktail of some description when we had finished our meal.

Well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 01760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bombay Tandoori also viewed

 
Dereham, Norfolk
 

Been to Bombay Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing